We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Poipu Plantation Resort

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Poipu Plantation Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Poipu Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2016

My first negative response ever, we just felt we had to warn people considering this place for a vacation. To summarize it all: there as not only an internal thief on the property but also the owner, Chris, demonstrates inadequate behaviour. To make a long story short, we vacationed in Poipu Plantation in January 2016 and wrote a great review...

4Thank Elena K
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

The guest little girl lost her mini ipad and blame by the family was immediately placed on our staff. It was found 6 months later. Who has misplaced something and were absolutely sure where it was left? All of us. It was heart wrenching that a guest would think this of our staff and myself. We did a full "investigation"....

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We were back to Poipu Plantation after many years from our previous trip. We had excellent memories of our previous stay and we were not disappointed by our present vacation: Poipu Plantation is still as it used to be, which is very good news. It is located in the Poipu area, which to us is the best region in the...

1Thank Giorgio M
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Giorgio M and thank you very much for your review of our property and for returning as you do. It is so helpful that you share information about our property, staff and location to the beach. As much as we provide photos and descriptions, there is nothing more valuable than hearing it from someone that visits here with fresh...

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Spent a really enjoyable five nights here in a ground floor apartment without b&b. Condo was clean, spacious with a well equipped kitchen, lounge and comfy bed. Cool breeze without the air con but there if you need it. Communal laundry and free beach gear available even cool boxes. Javed (sorry if spelling is wrong) was super friendly and helpful...

1Thank jan497
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha jan947 and thank you, mahalo nui for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed our place and made use of what we have to offer. Javed (you are right) is yes, Mr. Hospitality. We all love our island and want to be sure our guests get the full enjoyment of such a...

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This report offers quite a good value in Poipu. This review does not apply to the B&B portion of the development as we stayed in one of the large rental apartments. The unit was large and very clean - just as the pictures in their marketing materials indicate. The location is excellent and in walking distance to the beach but...

Thank 758Paul423
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha 758Paul423 and thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing what we might do to improve our services. General cleaning products for guests are in the laundry hut, but we too have been considering these for each suite. We will look into options for keeping the afternoon sun more muted at the west facing upper suites. Thank you for...

Reviewed 22 July 2016

We had the loveliest honeymoon/anniversary here. We waited a year to take our trip, but it was worth it! This property is small, and we stayed in the condos, so there were no hotel amenities. However, it was peaceful, beautiful, and affordable. When we arrived, the staff had put plumeria flowers everywhere, along with a box of chocolate covered macademia...

1Thank wazula
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha wazula and thank you for being our guests and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so happy you enjoyed our place and your wonderful Honeymoon and Anniversary. We try to provide the best beds for all, but with the newest cushy ones, it really depends on what someone is accustomed to. We are using a Hilton...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The apartment had plenty of space and a full kitchen. It was a short drive to Poipu sites and restaurants. The office staff was wonderful. They helped us plan our days and gave advice on local farmers markets, scenic drives, uncrowded beaches, and helped us buy a boat tour at a discounted price. My only complaint was the old, flat...

Thank Beth B
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Beth B and thank you for your nice review of our place here in Poipu Beach. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are so happy you had a great trip. I would like to say though that we don't have "old pillows"; flat, perhaps. I admit our green pillow could be considered "flat"...

Dunnellon, Florida
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed 14 nights at Poipu Plantation Resort. It is a block from the Ocean and a short walk to 2 beaches, one with green sea turtles and big waves for belly boarding and one with different areas for swimming, snorkeling, picnicking or wading. Poipu is a great central location to stay for visiting most parts of Kauai within driving...

Thank Constance H
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Connie H, thank you for taking the time to review your experience staying with us here in Poipu Beach. We feel very fortunate to have so many guests that enjoy our area and the magic island of Kauai. We hope to see you here again, A hui hou! Chris

Reviewed 25 May 2016

This was probably the best place we stayed during our trip in Hawaii. The apartment style unit got everything one needs, especially full kitchen was very handy. Located in a quiet area which guaranteed a good night rest and sleep. The place is of vintage style, but taken care greatly. Steps away from the beach, 5 min drive to supermarket....

1Thank winylake
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Winylake, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so great when someone like yourself enjoys themselves so completely. We know how big a trip to Kauai is and are fulfilled with a reaction such as yours. A hui hou! Chris

Creswell, Oregon
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed 10 days in the Condo at Sunset Kahili #204 and loved every minute. When we checked in at the main office at Poipu Plantation, we were greeted warmly, and given access to books, maps and good local knowledge. The condo is quite large and beautifully furnished and we had everything we needed to prepare meals (well, the knives...

Thank Opera_lover054
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Opera_lover054 and thank you for enjoying our Sunset Kahili condo 204. We like this small condo property very much and in our same location. The views are wonderful and proximity to the beach just like our own property around the corner. We gave advanced discounted rate and notice of our neighbor's roofing project and hope it wasn't too bad....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

What a great introduction to the hospitality and beach lifestyle of Kauai. We took the b&b option while we stayed here for 3 nights, we would have loved to have stayed longer if we had had more time. The breakfasts, served with recordings of Hawaiian music in the background, were delicious and varied our favourite being banana pancakes. The resort...

Thank Chris H
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Chris H and thank you for your nice review and enjoying our classic Inn. We are very fortunate to be in the location we are with so many wonderful guests like yourself. Hopefully you may come back to Kauai and spend those extra days! Mahalo nui! Chris

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (143)
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Dining (23)
View from Room (10)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (43)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (18)
Room/Suite (7)
View from Room (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (1)
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
746 reviews
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: $171 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poipu Plantation Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Poipu Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are simple, clean and lovely. Only saw our room but lovely sitting area in the front of the house.”
kathymfannarbor, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice, but read the descriptions and note that some rooms are larger than others.”
jbschutz1943, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only condo available by the resort in this building.”
MnDaisy, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd Floor for best views”
jods1000, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Condo is fabulous - B&B rooms looked very nice as well, but no views.”
Opera_lover054, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Official Site
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates