We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort

PricelineUSD 380*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 480*
USD 380*
Great Deal
USD 442*
USD 480*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,595: English reviews
Beverly Hills CA
Reviewed 7 July 2014

WE had unit 94 in building 16 managed by Castle. Equipment was excellent. Kitchen was fully equipped and we had no problems with any of the appliances. There were only two of us, and for that the unit was spacious. Negatives: mosquitoes or no-see-yums. We recommend you go heavy on the Deet. And the unit is close to the road...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrequentTraveler005
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This review comes a little late as we stayed here in October last year. The accommodation was great, simple and clean, which suited our needs. The decor was a little dated, but this didn't bother us. The grounds of the property are beautiful and well maintained, with lovely gardens and large lawned areas. The beach was stunning, I was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilmesch86
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I must say overall this place is nice, you just have to know what you're getting into, so on that note: Pros: This place would be perfect for a family with children. Each space is sectioned off as an apartment would be, equipped with full kitchens. Great place if you don't want to go to to eat your whole visit....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank piecesofadream
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a two story unit that was just beautiful. The windows were open the entire time with a warm breeze morning and night. I'm not one to stay in a very modern place when going to an island - they just don't go together. This place was very comfortable for our family of 4, we had plenty of room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent two full weeks at this resort; it was our second visit this year. Both visits we had an ocean view condo and both times, it was great! We stayed in an upper unit the first time; the second time was ground level. We enjoyed having the lanai just a short walk to the beach and used it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Srbellee
spokane, wa
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our condo was a Garden View on the ground level. Unit was a bit dated but nice and clean. It smelled a bit musty for the first day or so but got better. My biggest complaint is the lack of a pool on the grounds, yes, they have a pool across the street up a hill. The pool is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mg5904
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We are here at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation and arrived to find out we are not allowed into the pool. Who comes to Hawaii and doesn't get access to a pool?! My kids are furious and the beach is nice but the water is rough and not always swimmable for young kids. This place is a bait and switch -...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank 308Family4
Glendale
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When we arrived, the girls working the front desk seemed rather bored and unfriendly. Our room was all the way to the back of the complex; none of it looking like the photos online. . The room was very, very worn down. Yes, it had everything it was supposed to have, but it was all old and outdated. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lucky_Mom2008
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Kiahuna. If your room was located at the back of the property, you must have booked a Garden View Category. For others reading this post, I suggest that you consider our Garden Paradise category. These units are located in the center of the property, much closer to...

Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wonderful location and grounds. Staff friendly and attentive and the grounds/location were wonderful. Be sure to walk along the beach to the sink hole just past the golf course. Not marked on tourist maps and very interesting cave and garden.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeff C
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Castle Resort portion of KPBB in Building 26 at the end of May. KPBB has beautiful grounds, and the 1 bdrm condos are great for 2 people. We moved after the first day because we were put on the very back top side in 39, which was hot (no air conditioning or floor fans) and noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit, and your nice comments about our property. We appreciate it very much! Call me if I can ever be of assistance when you return. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager

1,403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (935)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (180)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (143)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (448)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View (67)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range: $241 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and other travellers.
42 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (42)

Questions? Get answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the ocean view!”
Greerman, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“choose a top floor room to avoid noise from the units above”
DanaEvaschuk, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground flr. room - no elevators that I saw.”
MsBunny2011, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Costs more to stay closer to beach but can be worth it”
adrock3000, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure you know exactly what you're getting when you book- many of the units are on the top level- 3 flights of stairs - no elevators.”
shmatter1, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 380* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 442
Hotels.comUSD 480
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates