We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,545: English reviews
southwest ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I are NOT hard to please. We spend very little time in our room except to sleep. The condo room was 433 managed by Castle. We arrived to find a spacious condo with all the things we needed. The condo is in rough shape to say the least. The carpet was very dirty and smelled like stinky...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank medikk
North Dakota
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean and peaceful, however our place required about 4 fans to be brought in to keep it at tolerable warm/humid level instead of damp humid as it was when we walked into the place. It's definitely a necessity to utilize windows and doors however you are supposed to shut them when not in the room. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B0607
Castlegar, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we stayed in was infested with bedbugs and I suffered serious bites that destroyed my vacation. We brought it to management's attention who was willing to do NOTHING about it. Have notified Hawaii Department of Health who will be inspecting property and may order it to be shut down. Avoid this place at all costs.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank piccolopearl
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

We have had NO reports / complaints about bedbugs for a long time. I can only conclude that you were not staying in a unit rented by my company, Castle Resorts. Any time we receive a report of bedbugs we immediately call our expert pest control company who does a complete same-day inspection of the unit. We have not had...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So the week has been a bit challenging with rain and high winds. Not the best Thanksgiving for sure. That said, the thing that has saved us is the place we are staying in. The Kiahuna Plantation is an older, well maintained, condo rental place located in the most beautiful part of Poipu. While not near as fancy at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rich S
Victoria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never had a worse hotel stay in my life. From the moment we landed at the hotel we were told the adjoining ground floor units we had requested and been assured of two weeks previous to our arrival were not what we were to have. Our children and grand children we share meals with were not adjoining, they...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Yago1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience at Kiahuna. I will be asking TripAdvisor to properly assign this negative review to Outrigger, as you were clearly not in units managed by Castle. We feature daily housekeeping services (towels, trash removal, and making beds) and also the front desk employee you mention works for Outrigger. Castle has had...

Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The unit we stayed in (building 7, unit 30) was very spacious with a foyer, master bedroom, sink and lots of drawer space between the foyer and room with tub/shower and toilet (which has a window with shutters for ventilation that in our unit, you might want to close when in there as it has direct visibility to a stairway...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AthenaMD
Everett, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We would definitely come back to stay here on our next visit to Kauai. Our garden condo was on the second floor and was clean and quiet. Since swimming pool location wasn't important to us (the pool was across the street and closes at 7 pm), we visited the beach on the property. The price was reasonable, the grounds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this resort previously, and really enjoy it. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, with direct beach access. The condos are small, but quite nice. No a/c, so it can be hot on trade wind-less days. If the room you get is near Poipu Road, it can be noisy at night. We were in 438, building 42...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muadib84
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

This review should have been for Outrigger, not Castle. Anyone reading this should know that with Castle, you have the ability to select and be guaranteed your specific unit when booking from our website. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Kiahuna Plantation Resort during early September. Our unit was not extravagant, but very clean and quite nice. The grounds are beautiful and it was a short walk to the beach. Our bed was very comfortable, but the sofa sleeper wasn't the greatest (sorry, kids!). We did hear karaoke one night, but it wasn't too terribly loud....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinkeresa
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

We hope to see you again soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an awesome place, staff was very friendly and professional. They had a lot of advice of places to visit. My condo was supposed to be a garden view, but when i got there i actually had a awesome ocean vies, room was very clean, comfortable and updated appliances. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind review! We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself, and hope that you come back soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

1,388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (920)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (178)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (278)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (448)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View (67)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range: $207 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Base location: ground floor, Vacationing: upper level”
 of 5 bubbles B0607, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Yago1, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from busy road”
 of 5 bubbles Muadib84, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not get a room on the road. Upgrade to Garden Paradise Category if you value your quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles susieQbee, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Depends on individual unit - would look at map and pictures to decide.”
 of 5 bubbles Skimiks, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay