We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
26/11/2017 27/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

    4532 Lehua St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    26/11/2017 27/11/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in KapaaSee available hotels in Kapaa
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Garden Island Inn Hotel
    819 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Lihue
    13.7 km
     
    Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
    2,179 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.8 km
     
    Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
    6,565 reviews
    #2 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    25.7 km
     
    Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
    1,065 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.8 km
     
    Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
    1,914 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.7 km
     
    Hanalei Bay Resort
    1,825 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Princeville
    24.1 km
     
    Waipouli Beach Resort
    1,429 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
    1.9 km
     
    St. Regis Princeville Resort
    2,840 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Princeville
    24.4 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent43%
    • Very good25%
    • Average16%
    • Poor8%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    “common area” (6 reviews)
    “night's sleep” (3 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (123)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 106 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Do not book this hostel unless you like cockroaches and dirty rooms! Pros: Good location, ok friendly staff, nice atmosphere among travellers We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and it was definitely not a great experience or worth the money! We had planned...More

    2  Thank fknielsen
    Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

    Really enjoyed my week on Kauai was very sad to leave. Partly down to this hostel which is a lovely chilled place to stay whilst on the island. Kapaa is a very central location and easy to get everywhere from the hostels location in Kapaa...More

    Thank 08Kates
    Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

    I had the time of my life staying at this hostel. This was my first big solo trip and my first time staying a hostel. I felt completely at home here and it felt like everyone was a big family by the end of my...More

    Thank Alexandria C
    Response from GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 20 July 2017

    Mahalo nui for staying with us and taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. A me ke aloha

    Reviewed 5 April 2017

    I called to make a reservation 8 months in advance as I wasn't able to do this online. The simple answer was that reservations can only be made up to 6 months in advance, but the way in which this was delivered was very rude....More

    7  Thank Simon T
    Response from GM_Honuea, Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 8 April 2017

    Aloha, We remember you very clearly as you called on Tuesday 4/4 looking to book in December. I am very sorry if you thought I was rude, but I was merely trying to explain, several times, that we do not accept reservations more than six...More

    Reviewed 7 March 2017

    i saw very bad comments on the trip advisor but i thought its ok place to stay . location is good in centre of kappa . there is a organic super market near by and only few minute of walk to the beach . I...More

    3  Thank persi73
    Garden Island Inn Hotel
    819 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Lihue
    13.7 km
     
    Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
    2,179 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.8 km
     
    Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
    6,565 reviews
    #2 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    25.7 km
     
    Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
    1,065 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.8 km
     
    Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
    1,914 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.7 km
     
    Hanalei Bay Resort
    1,825 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Princeville
    24.1 km
     
    Waipouli Beach Resort
    1,429 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
    1.9 km
     
    St. Regis Princeville Resort
    2,840 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Princeville
    24.4 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersSilver level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Multilingual Staff
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 25 - USD 70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Hawaii >
    • Kauai >
    • Kapaa
    • Also Known As
    • Kauai International Hotel Kapaa ,
    • Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (36)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hee Fat General Store
    478 reviews
    .25 km away
    Java Kai
    651 reviews
    .14 km away
    Pono Market
    409 reviews
    .37 km away
    Wailua Shave Ice - Kauai
    129 reviews
    .37 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Glass Shack
    20 reviews
    .27 km away
    Elevate Wellness
    145 reviews
    .31 km away
    Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals
    184 reviews
    .50 km away
    Hele on Kauai Bike Rentals
    135 reviews
    .44 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    awilson021576
    22 March 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Dmitri O | Reviewed this property |
    You can get a locker(sort of) for a few bucks extra. Frankly not a particularly secure locker, but it seems like there's nothing to really worry about in that place.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "private room back of hostel not on roadside"
    Read review
    "Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time."
    Read review
    "Second floor, you hear less the roosters."
    Read review
    "Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing