We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

    4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Garden Island Inn
    782 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Lihue
     
    Aston Islander on the Beach
    1,699 reviews
    #2 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Kauai Shores Hotel
    550 reviews
    #5 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Plantation Hale Suites
    771 reviews
    #9 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Overview
    • Excellent43%
    • Very good24%
    • Average16%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Concierge
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Garden Island Inn
    782 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Lihue
     
    Aston Islander on the Beach
    1,699 reviews
    #2 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Kauai Shores Hotel
    550 reviews
    #5 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Plantation Hale Suites
    771 reviews
    #9 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (123)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 105 reviews

    Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

    I had the time of my life staying at this hostel. This was my first big solo trip and my first time staying a hostel. I felt completely at home here and it felt like everyone was a big family by the end of my...More

    Thank Alexandria C
    Response from GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 1 week ago

    Mahalo nui for staying with us and taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. A me ke aloha

    Reviewed 5 April 2017

    I called to make a reservation 8 months in advance as I wasn't able to do this online. The simple answer was that reservations can only be made up to 6 months in advance, but the way in which this was delivered was very rude....More

    5  Thank Simon T
    Response from GM_Honuea, Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 8 April 2017

    Aloha, We remember you very clearly as you called on Tuesday 4/4 looking to book in December. I am very sorry if you thought I was rude, but I was merely trying to explain, several times, that we do not accept reservations more than six...More

    Reviewed 7 March 2017

    i saw very bad comments on the trip advisor but i thought its ok place to stay . location is good in centre of kappa . there is a organic super market near by and only few minute of walk to the beach . I...More

    3  Thank persi73
    Reviewed 8 February 2017

    Good location just off main highway which brings traffic noise but also convenience to town amenities. Good parking, nice garden in need of care and could be spectacular with input. Firstly, beyond anyone's control are the valley full of crowing roosters a supposed icon of...More

    4  Thank kimiora3
    Reviewed 25 January 2017

    Overall we had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and the owners cooked dinner for everyone on christmas day. Met some cool people at the hostel and has a nice family feel. The bathrooms were a little bit dirty but not bad for...More

    Thank miagasero
    Garden Island Inn
    782 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Lihue
     
    Aston Islander on the Beach
    1,699 reviews
    #2 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Kauai Shores Hotel
    550 reviews
    #5 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    Plantation Hale Suites
    771 reviews
    #9 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersSilver level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Concierge
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 25 - USD 70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Hawaii >
    • Kauai >
    • Kapaa
    • Also Known As
    • Kauai International Hotel Kapaa ,
    • Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (36)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Plantation Hale Suites
    771 reviews
    2.53 km away
     
    Garden Island Inn
    782 reviews
    13.75 km away
     
    Kauai Shores Hotel
    550 reviews
    3.08 km away
     
    Aston Islander on the Beach
    1,699 reviews
    3.00 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hee Fat General Store
    459 reviews
    .25 km away
    Java Kai
    600 reviews
    .14 km away
    Pono Market
    386 reviews
    .37 km away
    Kountry Kitchen
    1,222 reviews
    .21 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Glass Shack
    19 reviews
    .27 km away
    Wailua Kayak Adventures
    345 reviews
    .31 km away
    Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals
    180 reviews
    .50 km away
    Hele on Kauai Bike Rentals
    124 reviews
    .44 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    awilson021576
    22 March 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Dmitri O | Reviewed this property |
    You can get a locker(sort of) for a few bucks extra. Frankly not a particularly secure locker, but it seems like there's nothing to really worry about in that place.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "private room back of hostel not on roadside"
    Read review
    "Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time."
    Read review
    "Second floor, you hear less the roosters."
    Read review
    "Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing