We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Volcano Country Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Volcano Country Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our third visit in six years. Still the best. Ideally located in dense rain forest with hundred-year-old Japanese Tsuji (?) trees. Yet within easy walking distance to “downtown,” (5 minutes) that is half a dozen buildings, including a well-stocked country store, four restaurants from low to high-priced with an inverse food-to-value relationship, and a pleasant post office. Five minutes drive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GCHHawaii
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo nui for taking the time to write such a lovely review! As always we enjoy sharing the island and the property with our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Mahalo too for the wonderful books you left behind. We have enjoyed and will pass them along to our...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was a great place to stay. The cottages are reasonable priced, it is in a great part of town, and if you want info on the surrounding activities (or really anywhere on the Big Island) Garret is your guy. Cottages are private, comfortable, and cozy. I stayed in the Artist's Cottage which was one of the older ones, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LagunaEire
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your kind and thoughtful review. We strive to make our places clean and comfortable and welcoming. This is a big island and it can certainly wear one out so having a welcoming place to return each day is always helpful. So glad your enjoyed your stay and the amazing food at the Thai Thai. Her papaya...

Yarmouth, Canada
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed in the Artist's Cottage for 4 nights earlier this month. Garrett and Sandy were the kindest hosts. The property is beautiful and Garrett showed us the entire spot and we really enjoyed the tour of the garden. I got some great pictures there. Garrett had an abundance of great tips that helped us navigate our way around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N_M181761
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo nui for such kind words. We certainly enjoyed having you here and were more than happy to help with your son's presentation. Here's hoping he got an A! We love sharing the island especially with those so willing to engage. Your pictures are beautiful! We certainly look forward to having you back again, hoping it's not too...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in the Lehua Blossom Cottage for the 2nd time in 4 years. It was great the first time we've been there - and we were curious how things have changed over the years. Nothing has changed! The same hospitality, the same exceptional beautiful setting. Sandy and Garrets maintain and conserve a piece of tropical rain forest in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralf K
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Ralf, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad your second stay was equal to your first! We're always excited to have guests return and visit. We enjoy catching up with what has been up. As you know, we enjoy sharing the island as well. . . Thanks again for your kind words, and hopefully your next trip...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had a wonderful few nights here. This was my 'introduction' to Hawaii. Sandy and Garrett were great hosts - full of helpful information on the local area and beyond. I just wish the weather hadn't been atypical for summer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst_Cat_Oz
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Amethyst_Cat_Oz, Thanks for your review. We are glad we got to help acclimate you to Hawaii - hopefully it's the first of many trips to the islands! Unfortunately there isn't much we can do about abnormal weather, but we hope you still were able to see the sights you wanted. Thanks again, and we'd love to have you and your...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our four day stay at this cottage was amazing. We felt well cared for. Not only is the cottage fully equipped with a kitchen -- but our food was replenished each day with eggs, coffee, fruit and bread. We were greeted by Sandy and Garrett with great warmth and given a tour of the many flowers and plants that they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom B
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Tom, Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us - it was our pleasure to be your hosts. We really love sharing the island with our guests, and we are sure you got to explore a lot during your visit. Thanks again for your kind words, and for your recommendation! We...

Cumberland
Reviewed 19 May 2012

the cleanest place i have ever stayed. loved the idea that we were right by the volcano park. the host and hostess went out of their way to advise places to see, show us around and provide provisions for a great breakfast. my husband and i have traveled quite a bit and have never seen such a well taken care...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beejuju
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Beejuju, Thank you so much for your lovely review! Garret and I just want to make sure you have a good stay. Garret loves to show you around his gardens and point out some good photo ops. I'm happy to enjoy it with you too ;0) Glad you enjoyed and made good use of the kitchen, even with the good...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Mahalo Sandy and Garrett! What a fantastic place to have stayed. My partner and i were more than pleasantly suprised when we arrived at the Volcano Country Cottages. We stayed two nights in late April in the Camellia Suite which is a three room suite at the side of their home. On arrival Sandy warmly welcomed us and gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatashaandShannon
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

NatashaandShannon, Thank you for your review back in May. Nothing makes us smile more than seeing our guests making the most of their time on the island. We're always willing to provide activities and sights to see, but of course, if someone wants to go off and explore on their own, we aren't offended. We've been on this island for...

VA
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed four nights at VCC in the Lehua Blossom Cottage and found it to be very quiet and relaxing after a week on Maui. We were welcomed by Sandy, who gave us a brief tour of the grounds and the cottage. The grounds are very lush - almost like staying in your own, private botanical garden. The cottage was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catem
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Catem, It's been a few months, but we wanted to thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is something we're proud of - there's so much to do to keep you busy. We just want to share it with you. A lot of folks like having their own kitchen, too. We bet...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Everything nice said about this property is pretty accurate. Lovely grounds; decent lodging (nothing fancy) and really a very good value. If you opt for the value, you need to be aware of some factors that I found detracted from my enjoyment of my stay at Volcano Cottages: 1. Inconvenient to be obligated to arrive no later than 6:00 PM....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Regina C
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review

Aloha! We are sorry this guest did not enjoy her stay. 1. It is correctly noted that we ask our guests to arrive by 6:00 PM. We state this when the guest calls to make the reservation and it is in the confirmation letter we e-mail to each guest. If that is not acceptable, they are not obligated to book...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.4 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
382 reviews
0.1 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.4 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
291 reviews
0.3 km away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
1.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Volcano Country Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Volcano Country Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottages at the back offer seclusion, but do not have wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles Richy_m_99, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Volcano keeps busy. Book early and look for the cottage that has the features you need.”
 of 5 bubbles WVcyclist, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in the smallest cottage. It was great!”
 of 5 bubbles 804sergheid, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean and comfortable no matter which cottage you were to choose. Can't say enough good things about this place for the price.”
  • View going into your little oasis in the rain forest.
 of 5 bubbles C5513SSgaryp, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Their website gives a comprehensive description of each of the four cottages to help you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles seecrane, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5