We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Painted Buffalo Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Painted Buffalo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Painted Buffalo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 543: English reviews
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good location , right across dollar car rental . This is only place I have stayed in Jackson . So nothing to compare . Plenty of room. Not very fancy. But good place for sleep and good shower. Breakfast was included and was good enough . For three people, decent place at decent price. It was one night stay before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jashoka
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candor. We are glad that the location was a bright spot. We hope you had a wonderful visit with our beautiful neighbor, Yellowstone National Park. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Hamilton, Ohio
Reviewed 3 August 2014

From check-in to check-out, the staff was bending over backwards. But after having to call for someone to fix the AC, the running toilet, and being given the incorrect room - well 3 strikes and you're out! Still, problems were fixed immediately and I believe apologies were most sincere. If there was an "A" for effort, I'd give it to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sleepy2l
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It looks like you had an enjoyable stay overall. However, we do see there were a few missteps along with the way. While we are glad they didn't ruin your stay, we do regret that they happened. We will make sure that housekeeping and maintenance have double checked the toilet and the A/C unit in...

Ontario, California
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Two thumbs up. Clean and Friendly people who make you feel like you are home. Rooms are very clean and cute. Love the stuff animals they display. I would highly recommend this Inn. Great for the family. The Rolfe

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mayti65
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your great experience! We appreciate the feedback and the kind words. We are happy we could provide a great stay for you and will do our best to do it again next time you are with us!

Livermore, CA
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers a clean, family friendly stay. We enjoyed an easy walk downtown and to the delicious Snake River Brewery. Breakfast is free and with variety at the adjoining diner. Kids loved the indoor pool. The in room amenities are perfect for eating in if families need a break from going out. We would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittleLily29
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We are so pleased you were able to enjoy our newly redecorated pool. While we are aiming for five stars, we are happy that you could give us four. We will continually use customer feedback to improve and go for five!

Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I don't feel we got off to the best start, with my small son being reprimanded for jumping up at the counter and lectured on stuffed animals not going missing from the room (why put them in the line of temptation for kids? As a parent I find that really annoying). However, the room was ok, plenty of hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It looks like you had an enjoyable stay overall. However, we do see there were a few missteps along with the way. While we are glad they didn't ruin your stay, we do regret that they happened. We will share your feedback with the staff and we want to thank you again for helping us...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There were four adults traveling through Yellowstone and Grand Tetons. It was getting late and called one hotel which was booked and recommended Painted Buffalo. We booked a suite because 2 separate rooms was way too expensive to sleep and leave. Upon arrival we were lectured about the fact that the stuffed animals were for sale and not to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank camuto5
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry you had such an unpleasant stay. We do care, and we regret that it happened. While it is true that we had issues with water heaters malfunctioning it was not our intention to pull one over on you. We were simply optimistic we would be able to solve the problems. Since the issue was not able...

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It's a great location and our room was clean however it had a horrible chemical smell inside the room and the air conditioner didn't work properly nor did the blinds close completely. It's very very run down. We were on the second floor and the hallway felt as if it were about to sink and collapse in certain places. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy G
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so sorry that your room was not up to our standards upon arrival. We hope you were able to make our 24 hour staff aware of the issue with your air conditioner and the smell in your room during your stay. It is always our goal to give you a fantastic experience the...

Fairmount, Indiana
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice clean big rooms with mini-fridge and micro-wave. Just blocks away from downtown - so great location. My boys enjoyed the indoor pool. I would have rated this hotel higher but the furniture and shower was a bit dated.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ksneed2
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candor! We are glad that the location and pool were bright spots. Thank you for helping us improve with your room upgrade suggestions. We hope to have you back soon to provide you with another fun experience and a sparkling room!

Jackson
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Filthy, over-prized, sheets aren't clean, smelly, to bad in this beautiful area. The room is old, the sheets and towels aren't clean, let's find out what the facilities will bring. I would advice you to stay somewhere else and enjoy grand teton and Yellowstone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Puk88
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. While it's not fun to hear that we didn't live up to your (or our) expectations, it will make us better to know it. We will share this with our housekeeping staff. As you can see by most of our reviews, your experience was not typical. However, we need to be mindful that even if...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was a bit run down and staff seemed to be overwhelmed with the amount of business in the hotel. We had booked and paid in advance for two days at this hotel. It was close to the city center and we could walked to downtown. Unfortunately, after enjoying the town the first day we came back to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DebN151
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are a very popular destination, and it can be quite busy in the summer months and sometimes everything seems to happen at once. We apologize if the staff gave you the impression that they were overwhelmed but we appreciate the feedback so...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.5 km away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#17 of 41 in Jackson
510 reviews
0.0 km away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 41 in Jackson
320 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 41 in Jackson
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
0.2 km away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
690 reviews
0.6 km away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
135 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, Jackson, WY 83001
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Price Range: $123 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Painted Buffalo Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles kdeogburn, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Luckily we had a ground floor room so no shifting cases up the stairway- but it's all good”
 of 5 bubbles Ren264, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room, away from the stairway and housekeeping office. The stairs are not that steep, and there are not that many”
 of 5 bubbles Leighf2525, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request upper floor, ground floor duffers from heavy footsteps above.”
 of 5 bubbles SallyJMGray, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor room if you can't manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles elyc835, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5