We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Myersville, Maryland
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My husband and I are looking into moving to Wyoming in the near future. We chose Elk Mountain for its beautiful scenery. When we got there the weather was not so great and construction was going on around the Hotel. In spite of that, the couple who own the property, Susan and Arthur were fabulous!! The hotel is very historic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy-Donnie H
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, glad we were able to make your stay comfortable, despite weather and construction. Hopefully we will be in full summer in a couple of weeks.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 20 April 2016

At the Elk Mountain Hotel you are actually treated like a guest, not merely referred to as one. Arthur and Susan are concerned and thoughtful, two words you wouldn’t usually choose for a hotel staff. They looked up road conditions for us (we were snowed in during part of our stay and had restricted travel.) They provided several other things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter E
HistoricHotel, General Manager at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Glad we were able to supply the Wow factor, we certainly got a Wow review. It was a pleasure to have you at our little hotel. You are the kind of guests that make this job worthwhile and give me and my staff a sense of satisfaction that we are doing the best possible...

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 3 January 2016

What an amazing find. We were driving from UT to CO. It was the dead of Winter and we were tired. I had booked the hotel in advance. What a wonderful surprise. The Inn is first rate. All the appointments and the inn itself has been renovated to premiere status. The biggest surprise though was that the owner is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suburbanbound
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks, it was a pleasure to meet you both and hope it will not be too long before we see you again. Maybe for a Valentine Getaway. Susan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel after being let down by an Airbnb host in Saratoga - so glad we did! This is such a unique and memorable place, packed full of history and character. Our room was incredible, from the ambient birdsong to the fireplace, jacuzzi bath and naughty pics on the walls! The food was fantastic - just wish we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, glad we were able to make your stay in Wyoming pleasurable and memorable.

UK
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Historic Elk Mountain Hotel sits in a tiny community, away from the hustle and bustle of town life. It's a lovely looking building inside and out, with a real country lodge feel - helped by the enormous bison head mounted on the wall of the entrance hall! We were greeted by Susan, the owner/chef, who is British. She showed us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boglin_sue
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks and glad we were able to make your stay in Wyoming pleasant and memorable.

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The room was wonderful and had a historic flair. The service was great and the hosts came out and spoke with the guests during dinner. They also gave great recommendations for exploring around the area. Excellent food. The best part was the relaxed atmosphere. You could feel the stress roll away!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionel K
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks. We like to make everyone relxed and comfortable and are always delighted to help guests explore our area, it has alot to offer, but like most of Wyoming, the best parts are hidden away. Come back and see us again sometime.

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Pleasant surprise in this very small town. Accomodations very comfortable. We had the downstairs room with the private patio, and wish we had more time to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. Did take a leisurely, late-afternoon walk around town -- very quiet. Even saw deer playing in the small park. I recommend their dining room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReadyToWander
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you liked our little place, we try to do our best with what we have here. Beautiful scenery, wildlife, clean air, and quite a bit of history of the old wild west still accessible.

Casper, Wyoming
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We had heard nothing but good things from friends that have stayed there. They were spot on.. The historic Hotel met all our expectations, but the dining was beyond belief. World class chef and a back bar featuring single malt scotch. Cant wait to go back,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
Berthoud, Colorado
Reviewed 19 August 2015

My wife and I spent two nights at this lovely historic hotel. It is undoubtedly the cleanest hotel that we have ever stayed in. We stayed in the Nellie Ross room with everything just perfect. The decor of the hotel is marvelous with the largest mounted buffalo head that I have ever seen located in the reading room. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kentuckyham
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your generous remarks. We will share with the staff. Cheers!

Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Their website made the hotel sound wonderful, but our impression upon arrival fell so far short of expectations that we elected not to stay. We offered to pay for one night, but they stood firm on their 48-hour cancellation rule and charged us for two nights. We would simply caution others to see the hotel in person before making a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank aztraveler515
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

This reviewer was never a guest at the hotel or the restaurant. He reserved a room for two nights and the confirmation he received stated the cancellation policy of 48 hours quite clearly. We make exceptions for emergencies, closure of the interstate and if we can rent cancelled rooms (a rarity since we are a destination rather than a transient...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is a small Victorian country inn (est 1905) in its own grounds next to the Medicine Bow River. Located midway between Laramie and Rawlins and just 3 miles south of the I-80. We are an adult facility with no accommodation for children or pets. The hotel has a dining room offering full service breakfasts and gourmet style dinners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY 82324
Region: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Price Range: $210 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Birmingham, Alabama
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Nellie Tayloe Ross Room which was very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles karenhG2959WH, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room is lovely. The owners might suggest one that will suit your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles jwickam, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well-appointed and decorated as expected. Beautiful,,”
 of 5 bubbles dianasL8691HG, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw were nice”
 of 5 bubbles JoelK268, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1, has big jetted tub. Really liked it.”
 of 5 bubbles WYOTommy, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5