We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Spotless! This place is a great place! Friendly and helpful staff! Super fast check in! The water park area is well maintained and clean! Decor throughout the hotel is very lumberjack and awesome! I just love it! Clean clean clean! Beds are so cozy and warm! Room decor is also very nice. I would recommend this hotel for any type...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti F
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

Patti, We appreciate you noticing the cleanliness of our hotel! Having clean rooms and public areas is very important to us! We are glad you liked all the decor and the accommodations at Grand Lodge. There are many different room types to choose from with different amenities and layouts! We hope you had a restful sleep during your stay and...

Nekoosa, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The manager Melissa had given us a certificate for a free night, as last year when we brought our grandsons, half the park wasn't operational. We really appreciated the fact that she gave us the free night, my grandsons were very happy to use it. The room was spotless, very clean, (I used to be a maid at a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pocketmama56
Plover, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Traveled a short 30 mins on a rainy summer day. $73.85 for a 4 yr old, 9 yr and my wife and I. What you get for that amount is very minimal. Towels are thin and worn, as if from the 90's, water park (from Midwest standards) quite small, no wave pool, lazy river quite short, no swim up bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andyhoff54467
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

Andyhoff554467, We are sorry you felt this way about our waterpark. We strive to meet the expectations of all of our guests and we apologize that we fell short of that for you. The comments you have left, will be looked into further as we always are looking for ways to make the guest experience top-notch. We hope you still...

Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel that is well kept and clean. Beds were comfy with lots of pillows : ) Fridge is bigger than most in hotels. Microwave is a must with my family. Staff is friendly. We had a nice stay and will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoelKB
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

NoelKB, Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear you had a great time at our hotel. We recognize that many families who are traveling need to have access to a microwave and a refrigerator so we are glad this amenity was appealing to you and the family! We hope you were able to enjoy the waterpark as...

St. Louis
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We've stayed at other properties owned by Stoney Creek and had favorable stays, so we decided to try a night here on our road trip through the area. We arrived midafternoon and were able to get into our road early. The room was extremely impressive with plenty of space and soaring high ceilings. The room with the shower and toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StLouisMom3
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

StLouisMom3, Thank you for being a loyal guest to our brand of hospitality! We are happy to hear the waterpark was fun for the kids and you enjoyed the space of your room. We will definitely be taking into consideration your comments about the guest laundry. I apologize this wasn't very convenient for you during your stay. Thank you for...

South Elgin, Illinois
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were looking for a pet friendly alternative to the Wisconsin Dells area. We happened upon the Grand Lodge in our research. We could not have been more pleased!! The hotel was VERY clean, and well kept up. We had an expanded queen/sofa-bed room that was ample space for our family of four (including two teenagers). The water park wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RunnerMom71
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Front desk was friendly, checking me in a timely manner. Once I got to my room my key did not work, I called the front desk (my room was far from the front desk) he came to where I was to inform me he wrote down the wrong room number on my keys?! So I literally was trying to open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaPeoplesBarber_com
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

DaPeoplesBarber_com, We are terribly sorry for the experience you had at our hotel recently. Writing down the wrong hotel number was an honest mistake on our end, but we do realize that doesn't fix the problem. We are glad you liked the room space and hope you were able to have a restful two nights with us! We apologize that...

Sterling, Illinois
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We booked a last-minute family getaway to the Grand Lodge. We had a blast! We have a four year-old and a five month-old. We found the hotel and waterpark to be very clean and we have high standards in this department. We booked a King executive suite and had more than enough room for the four of us. We are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shopgirl1981
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

shopgirl1981, We are very thrilled to hear you had a great family getaway with us! Our cleaning procedures are very important to us and everyone should have high expectations for this; we are glad you recognized our efforts! We look forward to your future family getaways to the Grand Lodge!

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The kids and I had a great time from the breakfast buffet to the movie they play for the kids at night after story time is great. The Waterpark was very clean and worth every penny. Beautiful rooms and very friendly staff. Do they forget to snap a pic in front of elevator doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
Hartford, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I should have written a review sooner but have recently visited several other hotels with waterparks and I need to give the Grand Lodge the recognition they deserve. We won a nights stay at the Grand Lodge through an auction and for anyone looking for a get away that won't break the bank, this is a great choice! Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chasewillie
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review

chasewillie, Thank you for writing a review! We are humbled by your kind words. Congratulations on winning a nights stay at an auction, what a great room to win a night in! Even though it may be a bit of a drive, we hope you come back and see us soon!

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.6 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
10.7 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
10.7 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
403 reviews
7.8 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#7 of 10 in Wausau
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort is a hotel located just outside of downtown Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau's best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms,food service, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. The Grand Lodge is home to one of Wisconsin's most exciting waterparks - Logger's Landing. This 50,000 square foot fun zone is full of excitement and adventure for the entire family. The Grand Lodge is one of the area's premier hotels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort

Address: 805 Creske Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7991
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Price Range: $148 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge By Stoney Creek Hotel Rothschild
Hotel At Cedar Creek
Lodge At Cedar Creek
At Cedar Creek Rothschild
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
9 months ago
Chilton, Wisconsin
Slinger, Wisconsin

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Expanded King with Bunk Beds was a great choice for our family.”
 of 5 bubbles KHel35, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 58, very nice room.”
 of 5 bubbles pocketmama56, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The King Executive rooms have a lofted area, which is nice for a pack-n-play or for evening movies.”
 of 5 bubbles shopgirl1981, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I've been here during the week and on a weekend. Weekdays are best. Not as crowded in the waterpark and a better value.”
 of 5 bubbles hskulan, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They have a stuffed animal sitting on bed enticing young child to want to purchase, hide before you end up buying ANOTHER stuffed toy!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Go_GreenBay, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay