We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

804 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 791: English reviews
�����
Reviewed 22 May 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn downtown Milwaukee during a recent business trip and found the place to be very clean. The breakfast was good and you are within walking distance to everything.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in Milwaukee. We take great pride in our hotel, staff and city. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Milwaukee and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The hotel staff here are really great. The front desk folks are really nice and helpful. The rooms have new mattress which are great. The morning breakfast at the hotel is pretty good. I also liked the size of my room was pretty good.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G9572SAmichaeln
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites. Not only are the mattresses new in all rooms, but hope you enjoyed the new television, too. Please visit in the near future.

Easton, United States
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The internet and Cell service at this Hotel is extremely extremely poor. The Hotel has no desire to correct a correctable issue. Bad location to stay for business. In addition there was an issue with the H VAC system which was not addressed until the last night of my stay after I made an additional request to repair the issue.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. The new ownership group is investing in upgrading the cell service and HVAC system. Service and comfort is of the utmost importance to us. This is why we stand behind our 100% guarantee - to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of each guest.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 19 May 2016

this hotel is a standard nice Hampton, the location is great, however at 300 USD per night it was definitely too expensive and I wasn't 100% satisfied from a service aspect, (not picking up the phone at front desk, waiting to be let in from the parking garage)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeanTravelz
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for recently choosing to stay at our hotel in the heart of Milwaukee. We do utilize all feedback as a training tool to improve our service. The 100% Hampton Guarantee marks the gold standard of "Hamptonality" - friendly service, clean rooms, comfortable surroundings is our guarantee to you.

Reviewed 18 May 2016

I get it - it's mid-May and the downtown Milwaukee Hampton Inn is an old building heated by radiators and the boilers were shut down during last week's 70 degree heat wave. Unfortunately, Mother Nature missed the memo and this week was cold as ice, and the rooms no longer had heat! Every morning we woke up to a 66...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to offer feedback on your recent stay. The new ownership group is investigating the heat issue that we had last week, and is rectifying it. We take our "Hamptonality" seriously, and are thrilled that Mariah is part of our hospitable team. Please do visit us, again, soon!

Auburn Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Bugs were crawling and the cleaning staff dos not seem to care. Did not feel like the bed sheets were cleaned. Do not expect much from this place it is a disgrace to the Hilton chain. I could not trust the breakfast quality either so I did not dare to eat there. Terrible for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phanendra D
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We review all feedback with our staff, and take our cleanliness very seriously, we certainly will utilize your comments as a training tool.

bedford, Canada
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We chose this hotel as we were arriving by Amtrak and attending a Brewers game. The location was terrific. We took a bus from Mo's bar to the game , great pub and value. We took a walk along the Riverwalk, it was really lovely. The staff were great and the breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown Milwaukee when you attended the Brewers game. The shuttle from Mo's, just next door, is such a convenient way to get to and from Miller Park. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope you come back in the near future!

St Paul, MN, United States
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Staff is very friendly. Complimentary breakfast is very good and varies a bit each day. Love the free coffee available at all times. Close to many good restaurants and bars as well the lake where jogging paths are. Also enjoy the access to the Golds Gym nearby in the evenings.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Milwaukee on your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our close proximity to many great dining establishments, and the perk of complimentary access to Gold's Gym. Please visit again soon!

Reviewed 3 May 2016

My husband and I stayed at many of the Hampton's hotels chains. Always had a clean room and a great stay. You can't beat the free breakfast in the morning. The Milwaukee Hampton is in a excellent location close to all the attractions. We will be back again for another wonderful stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laylabean
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Milwaukee. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, the full hot breakfast and our prime location in the heart of Downtown Milwaukee. Please visit again soon!

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Hampton Inn and Suite had great reviews. And it was close to the venue my daughter was playing at... So I was disappointed to say the least. First the heat vent KNOCKS very loudly. I have a video which you can here it knock. It called the front desk to ask them to please fix it for the next night...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LezaMueller
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. Normally our engineers are in and out of a guest room quite quickly to focus on correcting the issue and ensuring the guest's comfort, we are sorry to hear that the heating unit was unable to be repaired so you could have a restful nights sleep. Our associates, in similar circumstances,...

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Double Suite (32)
Viewed
King Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard Double (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#35 of 55 in Milwaukee
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#39 of 55 in Milwaukee
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Price Range: $164 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take advantage of AAA or other plans you belong to”
 of 5 bubbles wilady2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor has best view, otherwise you are surrounded by building. If you are looking for a view try the Hilton.”
 of 5 bubbles nathand700, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't take a room overlooking the service area - due to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles richardcC4596HG, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room looked over an enclosed escape staircase. Stay away from rooms close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Poissonoeuf, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You'll have to ask for view room - not sure of sound. Sorry”
 of 5 bubbles paulwP2118SD, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5