We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knickerbocker on the Lake

Save
Share
1028 E Juneau Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2933
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
USD 165
View deal
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
Lol.travel
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#42 of 63 hotels in Milwaukee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Knickerbocker on the Lake their hotel of choice when visiting Milwaukee. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a historic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Milwaukee, Knickerbocker on the Lake is located a short distance from Brady Street (0.5 mi) and City Hall (0.6 mi).

Knickerbocker on the Lake offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers a concierge, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a fitness center and a lounge. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the diners, including Comet Cafe, Ma Fischer’s Restaurant, and Michael's Family Restaurant, all of which are a short distance from Knickerbocker on the Lake.

Milwaukee is also known for some great architectural buildings, including Basilica of St. Josaphat, St. Joan of Arc Chapel, and Villa Terrace Decorative Arts Museum, which are not too far from Knickerbocker on the Lake.

At Knickerbocker on the Lake, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Milwaukee.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Residential Neighbourhood
255Reviews2Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 75
  • 36
  • 30
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
monique b wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
I will never book at the knickerbocker on the lake especially during COVID. This hotel accused me of having a party so they kicked me,my boyfriend and his mom out and took $200.00 from me that was supposed to be towards incidentals. I decorated the suite and people came to DROP off gifts and leave and they did exactly that. Upon check in their was a disclosure that if the hotel SUSPECTED a party then you would be fined $100, I signed it. AGAIN their was no party BUT friends dropped off gifts, got a plate and left. The disclosure never mentioned being kicked out and taking money from my account. Their was NO DAMAGE OR MESS TO CLEAN UP. I called Larry the manager and he has not sent my contract over, he replied to my review stating that he emailed me but he NEVER DID because he knows he is going wrong!!! I will continue to write my reviews until justice is served, I have left voicemails and now filed a dispute with BBB because I don’t want this to happen to anyone else. When booking these hotels I warn you that due to COVID you need to be careful so you don’t end up like me...paying for something that I shouldn’t . Also to add if this were a party why would they take $200 and not the $100 out....BEWARE
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lawrence Robe, General Manager at Knickerbocker on the Lake
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Monique, I am saddened to see this review. The documents you requested were forwarded twice to the e-mail address you provided and confirmed. These documents include your registration card noting our COVID policies and procedures, as well as our "No Party" policy. We currently have a six-person maximum in effect for each unit, which you confirmed you were aware of during our phone call and signed upon arrival in addition to the "No Party" policy. You further admitted on your review above that you had a party i.e. "friends and family" - and lastly - admitted on our phone call that there were far more people in the unit than the six-person maximum. This was verified by our security cameras. You were asked to leave at 9:47PM after several noise complaints, courtesy warnings, and requests to adhere to the maximum six-person-per-unit requirement. Between 9:47PM and 10:10PM, when you returned your room keys, at least twenty-four people left your unit. Three had face covers. We love our guests and strive to continue to serve them in this challenging time. With that, though, comes an understanding. To receive our service, guests must abide by the rules we are willing and obligated to enforce as recommended or required by the CDC, Wisconsin Division of Public Health, and Milwaukee Health Department. We disclosed our terms and conditions upon reservation of the unit, in the reservation confirmation, at registration, and during each courtesy notice. Your group chose to ignore them all. We, respectfully, had to ask you to leave. When we all make it through the COVID-19 pandemic and the restrictions are lifted, feel free to return. We have an excellent room for events and parties on the first floor - far away from our guest rooms - ready to serve groups of up to forty-five.
Read more
John from California wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Having spent 2 months plus at this hotel during Covid-19, I can emphatically state that I was very satisfied with the room accommodations and size. The entire hotel is cleaned multiple times a day for the Covid virus. All hotel staff are masked. This hotel has a great location that is walking distance to the Lake, parks and downtown. If you need a little transportation assistance, the free light rail "The Hoop" is 2 blocks away. The staff of Jackie, Karina and AJ are friendly and knowledgeable. The entire team is led by a great general Manager Larry Robe. I am not sure why others have rated them poorly but I only can imagine it is the rater's issue not staff. I will return to the Knickerbocker on The Lake. John from California
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: In any hoytel, anywhere in the world, I look at your room with a staff member before I rent it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sabes wrote a review Dec 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
The room we booked was not the room we saw online. The description was not accurate and on top of it it was dirty. The staff was not helpful and very rude. I canceled the reservation and they still charged me. The women at the desk charged my credit card extra charges on top of the actual reservation of the room. I’ll be calling the Better Business Bereau. Terrible!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
dtrevi wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions
+1
We requested a 2 bedroom queen size room and the place was bigger than an apartment, very comfortable, neat and clean. That suite has 2 separate bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, full equiped kitchen, big living room with fireplace, dining room and even an extra office room with desk and chair,washer & dryer, plenty of lighting from Windows facing the Lake. What a nice relaxing place to stay, even in Pandemia we got daily cleaning service and front desk was very pleasant. Their Restaurant is also amazing. We can't wait to comeback again. We are also deeply grateful for the first responders special discount rate. Definitely beyond our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
hynds1797 wrote a review Jul 2020
Chicago37 contributions40 helpful votes
After reading some of the negative reviews we almost took a pass. So glad we didn’t! Nice location, walk to the lake and public beaches or walk to downtown. The “room” was an apartment with full kitchen and dinning area and large living room. Great little restaurant attached with outdoor dining and the kitchen stays open till 11:30. Will definitely be back. It is dated but that’s the charm. Parking was not a problem. Parked easily on the street for free. Paid parking was available but we took the cheep route.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Knickerbocker on the Lake
Responded 6 Jul 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are so glad to have had the time to provide you with comfortable and convenient accommodations. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the beaches and the downtown area. We wish you well, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 63 - USD 179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
knickerbocker on the lake hotel milwaukee, knickerbocker on the lake milwaukee
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMilwaukeeDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Knickerbocker on the Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Nearby attractions include Milwaukee Art Museum (0.8 km), Grohmann Museum (0.8 km), and Pabst Theater (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stella Van Buren - Bar, Glorioso's Italian Market, and Sanford Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Knickerbocker on the Lake located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Milwaukee.
Does Knickerbocker on the Lake offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Knickerbocker on the Lake?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pabst Mansion (3.3 km), Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery (2.0 km), and Tripoli Shrine (4.3 km).
Is Knickerbocker on the Lake accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.