We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel

Save
Share
310 E Chicago St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5810
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
Kimpton
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (42)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 63 hotels in Milwaukee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Milwaukee? Then look no further than The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, a romantic hotel that brings the best of Milwaukee to your doorstep.

Rooms at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel provide a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a rooftop terrace, and an outdoor fireplace. You can also enjoy a fitness center and an on-site restaurant. Need a place to park? There is paid private parking available on-site.

Nearby landmarks such as Bronze Fonz (0.6 mi) and Old World 3rd St. (0.8 mi) make The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Milwaukee.

Travellers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to Sobelman's Pub & Grill, SafeHouse, or Ward's House of Prime. Otherwise, you may want to check out a diner such as Comet Cafe, Michael's Family Restaurant, or Ma Fischer’s Restaurant.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Milwaukee RiverWalk (0.5 mi), Milwaukee Art Museum (0.6 mi), and Historic Third Ward (0.1 mi), which are some popular Milwaukee attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel as you experience everything Milwaukee has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Billiards
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
445Reviews9Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 328
  • 72
  • 22
  • 15
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Emily W wrote a review Mar 2021
Madison, Wisconsin6 contributions1 helpful vote
I'm currently writing this in the middle of our stay and am highly considering leaving early during my reservation as I'm not sure I can do another night here. We actually stayed here two years ago and had the best time and were excited to try it again. Upon arrival to our room yesterday, the sheets on the bed had holes in them and dirt; makes you really wonder how clean this place is. The red velvet chair in the corner has white drops of who knows what all over it and smells. All of the furniture is so dinged up that it looks like a Super 8. The bed itself however was pretty comfortable and the bathroom is nice. The noise at the hotel is unbearable, at least on our floor. We get that there's a rooftop bar and it was a Friday night but the halls were filled with drunk people literally falling over in the elevators and halls. There were girls running through the halls drunkenly screaming until FOUR AM. We can hear ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING in the room next door; the neighbor was scream crying until THREE AM. We could hear absolutely every "R-rated" activity going on at all hours as well. You can hear every single door close in the place. I've never stayed in a louder place. Maybe it's the fact that I just finished three 14 hour night shifts in a hospital and had been up for 24 hours already that caused the hotel to be so difficult to sleep in. Youd think it would be the opposite and shows how bad it is. The rooftop bar had great drinks but it took us, paying customers of the hotel, over an hour for a table and then we were seated directly next to and facing the bathroom. So we spent our night as the only table watching people come in and out of the bathroom. A drunk older man fell on me at one point which was spectacular. The one positive is that staff were excellent, polite, nice, and helpful. The hotel has turned very Covid friendly and it's nice to see everyone taking it seriously. I am upset I spent $900 for TWO nights at this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefan Galovic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us!! I am truly sorry for your experience at the Journeyman and will be following up with multiple departments regarding the cleanliness and room quality issues you expressed. We do have a quiet hours policy currently in place and enforced by our overnight security team. I apologize if any of this was not communicated effectively at the time of your inquiry. I have reached out separately as-well to go into a little further detail on how this will be addressed. Your care and comfort is our top priority and we will continue do anything possible to provide you with a wonderful stay. Thank you so much again for staying with us!
Read more
Scott H wrote a review Dec 2020
Diablo, California3 contributions
This hotel is fine. Nothing special. We booked a "spa" room so I could take a bath and relax. The bath is a huge failure. There are no salts, scrubs, special oils, bathrobes, slippers, or anywhere to put your items (I understand covid-18). My wine sat on the floor, I had to stand to get it, the items provided by the hotel you had to stand to reach. The tub doesn't drain properly. I stood half of my bath. The entire experience was an annoyance. We only get a day away from our kids to relax and this hotel only stressed me out. If you want a relaxing experience I recommend somewhere else or at least a different room. don't waste your money on the fake "spa experience"
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefan Galovic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to provide valuable feedback!! I am sincerely sorry for the lack of a great experience you had regarding the Spa room. Indeed our property does carry complimentary bath bombs, bath salts, bathrobes, slippers, and would be able to have a stand placed inside of the shower and tub space. We have all of these items besides a stand listed in our welcome letter given upon arrival. I apologize if for some reason this was not given out or any of these items declined to you as it is our standard to make them available. Please don't hesitate in reaching out to me personally regarding this stay as I would love to hear more regarding it and correct any issues so future stays are unaffected. My email address is Stefan.galovic@journeymanhotel.com or you may reach me by phone at 414-291-3970. I hope we can touch base soon! Thank you so much again for staying with us!! All the best!!
Read more
LGC & JCFC wrote a review Nov 2020
Columbus, Ohio129 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
Hotel- Kimpton Journeyman (Milwaukee, WI) Date- November 2020 (2 nights) Overall: 5/5. Excellent. This is a fantastic hotel, a tribute to the brand. I left the property wanting to stay longer, a clear sign of what a gem this hotel is. I will definitely be back. Rewards Club Recognition- 5/5. Excellent. Upon check-in, we were verbally thanked for our loyalty, and our room was upgraded. We were offered either welcome amenity points or a $10 Raid-the-Bar credit. A card welcoming us to the property was present in our room when we arrived, as were two small bottles of wine, some pecans, and some M&Ms. Staff- 5/5. Excellent. What a staff! Luis at the reception was kind and accommodating. He explained the services offered by the hotel and how the pandemic affected some of the usual offerings, such as the social hour and coffee service. Matthew, the bellman, was stellar. Conversational and eager to help, he and Luis provided a wonderful introduction to the property. Bernard proved quite helpful when it came to finding things to do and places to dine during our short stay. Marco, in Tre Rivali, the restaurant, was a very attentive server. Tyler at the Outsider rooftop bar was equally impressive. Kate and Marcel did a wonderful job making us feel like truly valued guests. Kudos to the hotel and restaurant team! Property Appearance & Maintenance- 5/5. Excellent. Exterior- 5/5. The entrance is clean, and the hotel is well branded. The hotel was built only a few years ago, and it is clearly well maintained. Interior-5/5. The lobby was clean and stylish, and the hallway carpet, walls, & baseboards were all in great shape. I couldn’t help but notice the greeting with our pet’s name on the dog shaped chalkboard in the lobby. I also found myself intrigued by the chandelier in the lobby, which I later learned had one light per room in the hotel: there’s nothing like a fixture with a story behind it. Accommodations- 5/5. Excellent. We were assigned a “King Spa” room, and we were very pleased. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice soaking tub in addition to the shower. There was adequate bathroom counter space. The dog statue was a nice touch. The coffee maker we requested was in the room when we arrived. Housekeeping- 5/5. Excellent. Our room was super clean. The carpets were vacuumed, and towels and toiletries, such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, toilet paper, facial tissues, etc., were provided in a supply adequate for the length of our stay. Pool/Gym- The fitness center is open on a first come, first serve basis (social distancing required). Breakfast/Meal Options- 5/5. The restaurant, Tre Rivali, was open for dine in and carry out, and we had a wonderful experience. My shrimp dish was tasty, and my spouse devoured his carbonara dish. While the minibars are emptied during the pandemic, a popup bodega is available at the front desk. Laundry- not evaluated. Computer/Printer/WiFi- 5/5. WiFi was strong throughout the hotel and streaming was smooth. Other- This hotel does a fantastic job keeping the brand promise while still complying with COVID-19 requirements. The employees always wore masks, and sanitizing stations were present throughout the hotel. Staff members maintained appropriate physical distancing from guests and one another.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefan Galovic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded 2 Dec 2020
Thank you so much for staying with us and this wonderfully detailed review!! We are honored by your kind words and will always strive to excel to make experiences like your own possible! I hope we can see you again whenever travel plans take to you Milwaukee but in the meantime please take care. All the best!! Stefan Galovic - AGM
Read more
P F wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom50 contributions18 helpful votes
Love the hotel. Great location and great rooms - very clean and tidy. Our room had amazing views of Milwaukee as well, which was a plus. There is also a nice restaurant on the ground floor with some tables outside. Amazing hip vibe in the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Gaskin, Owner at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Good Day pedrof539, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you loved everything about the property including the amazing location in the Third Ward, our street level restaurant Tre Rivali, led by Chef Heather Terhune and our incredible culinary team, the hip vibe of the hotel, as well as the overall cleanliness throughout. Our extremely prideful team is ecstatic that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. All the best, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Read more
millie2745 wrote a review Aug 2020
Monroe, Wisconsin15 contributions10 helpful votes
before you book with this hotel, please be aware that they are giving no forgiveness for their reservations due to covid-19. I called to cancel a reservation 2 weeks before our stay and they would not give a refund or even as much as a voucher :( I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. There are several other better hotels in Milwaukee with outstanding customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Gaskin, Owner at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Greetings Millie2745, I am absolutely shocked by your statement that the Kimpton Journeyman is not allowing for guests to cancel reservations due to Covid 19 especially two weeks in advance as that is not certainly not accurate. My apologies that was communicated to you. I am not certain if you made your reservation through a third party but I happy to help you with getting this resolved. Please reach out to me directly so I can better assist @ patrick.gaskin@kimptonhotels.com. Sincerely, Patrick General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 247 - USD 497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMilwaukeeHistoric Third Ward
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape the Room (0.3 km), Historic Third Ward (0.2 km), and Milwaukee Public Market (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include St. Paul Fish Company, Onesto, and Wicked Hop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Milwaukee.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.