We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 18 November 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights during the week in late October. It definitely was the off season, as the place was fairly deserted. (The silence was awesome, but it also got a bit creepy at times.) The room was nice, if a bit small, and the service at the hotel and restaurant was very good. The spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kafka187
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

kafka187 Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we could welcome you for a relaxing weekend. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, food and spa. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome back again in the future. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz

Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewed 18 November 2014

The service overall at The Abbey was quite terrible. I arranged ahead of time to have a down-free room due to my asthma. However, that was not accommodated, so it had to be done upon arrival. The walls were so thin that you could hear ALL that went on next door. Not exactly relaxing at 11:30 to awoken to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy S
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Cindy S Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was not as you had hoped. We work very hard to ensure we meet our guests pre-arrival requests, and I am sorry that your requests were not met. Please know that our management team has discussed your comments with their respective teams to ensure this does not happen...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We stayed at the Abbey for a quick get-away for 2 nights. The rooms have lake decor and quite charming. We stayed on the second level overlooking the harbor/Lake Geneva. The bed in the king suite was very comfortable and the rooms were clean. Fan/light in the bath was loud but not a huge deal once you got used to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Lisa H, Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a complete review, and you stay with us sounds like the perfect getaway. The salmon in 240 West is one of my favorites as well! We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome back again! Kind...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 November 2014

This place is 10 minutes away from Lake Geneva Wisconsin is right on the lake awesome view, stayed in a double queen bed, so comfy, just like my own. The spa is fantastic, how relaxing and enjoyable. I've had their regular massages and their herbal wraps in the past, you feel energized after having one. The indoor pool is nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieMendez
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

RosieMendez, Thank you for your five-star review. We value our repeat guests and I delighted to read that we once again exceeded your expectations. As you like to come to The Abbey often, might I suggest you sign up for our email offers? Our emails contain our current promotions (many are often better deals than what you might be getting...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Every couple of years we find ourselves at the Lake out of season. We always stay at the Abbey and each time, on the way home, we ask ourselves why? The rooms are indifferent, the service spotty, the food OK, it really has no scenery. Nothing to me screams low end like bathrooms where there is not a separate switch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heartlander_11
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Heartlander_11 Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that your stay was not all that you had hoped. Please know that we value our repeat guests, and your review has been reviewed by our management team so that we exceed your expectations in the future. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you...

Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The first room we were assigned to was on the first floor of building two. It had a low, beemed ceiling with a musty smell that made me feel like I was in a basement. I called and guest services did a good job of handling our move to the second floor of building four. There was no smell and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NoLimitsLifeCoaching
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

NoLimitsLifeCoaching, Thank you for your review. While we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I am disappointed to read that you needed to move from your first room. Upon your notification to the front desk, we immediately performed heating and air unit cleaning and inspection. We apologize for this inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back again in...

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We stay at the Abbey several times each year. It's less than an hour from our house and we enjoy a quick getaway. The staff is excellent. The rooms are cute and well appointed. The pool areas are great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniferKevin
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

JenniferKevin, Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, The Abbey is perfect for a quick getaway! We are delighted to read you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz

Chicago
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We were here for an organized one day retreat and extended our stay for another night. There were a couple of large groups here on a Friday night to Saturday afternoon and Saturday/Sunday had some families. It is a large facility, with plenty to do inside on a November weekend. We even enjoyed a Ping pong and air hockey game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackiegh
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Jackiegh, Thank you for your review. You are correct in that there plenty to do in the "off-season!" We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome back in the spring or summer so that you may take in the beautiful harbor views or enjoy our outdoor lawn games or perhaps relaxing by one of our two outdoor...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 November 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Abbey a few weekends ago and we wanted to stay somewhere different outside of Lake Geneva but close enough to town. The Abbey we have heard of by a few friends and they always said how nice it was. The hotel and grounds are very beautiful and impressive! We didn't get to explore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HawFlower12
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Leilani T Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you selected The Abbey for your Lake Geneva getaway and appreciate your positive comments about our staff, rooms and grounds. Enjoying our evening bonfire with s'mores and cider sounds like the perfect fall evening! I apologize that you were inconvenienced by our maintenance workers. Whenever possible we schedule them...

Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I was at the Abbey on business. The resort was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and on a personal trip as well. Although I didn't dine in any of the restaurants, the food for our event was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebbH2013
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

DebbH2013, Thank you for your five-star review. We love hearing from business travelers and are delighted to read that you had a great business stay and that you would return on personal stay. Please consider following us on Facebook for our current promotions. Kind regards, Sara Schmtiz

672 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (353)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Harbour View King (37)
Viewed
Harbour View Queen (26)
Viewed
Harbour View Suite (38)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Spa Pool (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
6.8 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
157 reviews
11.4 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
470 reviews
8.7 km away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
167 reviews
7.7 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
76 reviews
12.6 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Price Range: $157 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to sleep in late on a sunny day, probably won't happen, the rooms are very pleasantly bright, even with the blinds drawn!”
 of 5 bubbles zeusy33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use groupon for a good deal.”
 of 5 bubbles bailyw2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite was nice for 5 people”
 of 5 bubbles brendasE3906AZ, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be on the first floor you get a patio off your room then.”
 of 5 bubbles Zena347, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No tip necessary. All rooms are a delight.”
 of 5 bubbles margeo2013, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5