We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rifugio Fanes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Vigilio
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rifugio Fanes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of Rifugio Fanes
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The location is amazing, and very beautiful. But the hotel is a money-making machine for the owners: they don't care about the guests at all. This is quite different to other refugio, which are much nicer & friendlier. For instance, if you have the set menu at dinner, you cannot have tap water: they make you buy bottled water, whereas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HikerPair
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile ospite, spiacente del suo disappunto per l’accoglienza ricevuta nella nostra struttura, normalmente cerchiamo sempre di essere gentili e professionali...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This was the second rifugio we’d spend overnight along our Alta Via 1 trek in mid-July. We had just finished lunch at Lavarella nearby, but we were ready to take off our hiking boots since we had hiked from Rifugio Sennes that morning. At Fanes, an automatic glass door slid aside to welcome us into the dark lobby. Immediately I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile ospite Grazie per la sua visita e recensione. Ci fa tanto piacere che si sia trovato bene. I cimeli...

Canmore, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

As the location is wonderful I would have liked to title the review differently but alas the great location did not make up for the lack of customer service. After hiking for the day was looking forward to a cool drink on the deck but after waiting for a server and placing the order it never came. Alas staff seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Barb
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile cliente Spiacenti per la rumorosità accusata al secondo piano a causa del WiFi, in compenso non ci sono continui...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, after walked hard from Rif Lagazuoi (due to wrong routing) to Rif Fanes (pronounced as Fan nai s). Our room (Rm 25) is super comfortable. En suite and with a balcony. There is a TV in the room in this remote area! The room is warm during the night. 3 courses provided for dinner. 1st course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NamSheeTsim
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, contenti della sua positiva esperienza nella nostra struttura ci auguriamo di rivederla ancora. Fam. Mutschlechner

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The folks who run this hotel have no concept of hospitality. There was one lovely (brunette, middle-aged) woman, but she was the exception. Most staff I encountered were just uninterested in serving you. They rushed around serving the day visitors who drove up to eat and drink and rebuffed (quite rudely) all requests by registered guests. I was told this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Signora Susan, ci dispiace della sua esperienza non positiva nella nostra struttura, siamo comunque increduli di quello da lei...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We were told the food in Alta Via 1 refugios in Italy was great. But not so at Fanes. We were there one night with large groups of loud hikers. They served some kind of breaded fried cheese, slimey red peppers, & overcooked potatoes. The first course, risotto, was the only thing that insured I wasn't going to bed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ely33
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Ely, Peccato per il suo disappunto riguardo al mangiare. I menu si fanno settimana per settimana alternando pesce, carne,...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

This hut's interior is very well designed, personalized with collectables from oversea travels. On the outset, it really feels as if the hut was a 5* hotel. There are lots of amenities in this hut - including a quiet common room to play instruments, read, or to sit by the fireplace. The patio of the hut had a cover, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Falcone T
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Grazie dell’ottima valutazione, peccato per il disagio del latte. A richiesta forniamo anche alimenti x le varie problematiche alimentari. Distinti...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Rooms with private bathroom available, but also dormitories, very qualitative conditions. Food typical of Tyrol area, very good for my taste. Rooms very clean. For us it was the second stop on alta via 1. Internet is with pay, rather expensive and for us it didn't work. No GSM signal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristian V
Fanes3, Proprietario at Rifugio Fanes, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your nice words and we are happy, that you enjoyed your stay here in our hut. Kind regards Fam. Mutschlechner

Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our hut to hut hike during our honeymoon in the Dolomites! The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious! We were able to get a private room which was nice! There is wifi but you have to pay for it...2 euros for 30 minutes!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 130yogamc
Reviewed 16 February 2016

This was out first rifugio on AV1 and is a great option for walkers. The food was typical Tyrolean and quite good - meat and vegetables essentially, the beer is cold and good as you would expect in this part of the world. Private room is a great way to relax after a reasonably tough walk from Lago de Braies....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George S

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Vigilio hotels
11.7 km away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#1 of 24 in San Vigilio
722 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Chalet Corso
Hotel Chalet Corso
#21 of 24 in San Vigilio
59 reviews
10.9 km away
Albergo e Rifugio Pederu
Albergo e Rifugio Pederu
#22 of 24 in San Vigilio
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Hotel Monte Sella
Hotel Monte Sella
#7 of 24 in San Vigilio
210 reviews
11.2 km away
Garni Residence Diamant
Garni Residence Diamant
#2 of 28 in San Vigilio
147 reviews
11.5 km away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#1 of 28 in San Vigilio
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Rifugio Fanes

Address: 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Number of rooms: 17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rifugio Fanes staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rifugio Fanes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good luck! There is little choice here.”
 of 5 bubbles Z6458TNsusanm, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
1 of 1