We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 923: English reviews
Start your review of Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
 Click to rate
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lisa at the front desk was wonderful! She bent over backwards to provide the best service I have experienced in a long time. Everything about my stay was great but especially the high quality king suite and amazingly comfortable beds!

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherilyn D
Owensboro, Kentucky
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Will get my only complaint out of the way first... got in late and the designated parking lot was full. People were parked along all curbs and basically anywhere not under the entrance canopy. Parking was available on the street since it was the weekend. Everything else was very good. Beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. Thermostat was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRroadrunner
About Hotel's Favourite Review
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Droadrunner, Well parking is seldom an issue since we also share a parking lot with another hotel but I am sure when both hotels are busy parking could be a problem. So glad all other aspects of your stay were great. We hope you will come back soon. S Arnold, GM

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

When my daughter and I arrived Alton and Tonica were on the desk, we were coming to say our goodbyes to my nephew. My brother had been staying there for a week. We were greeted with such sweetness and care. We were told that anything we needed just ask. They truly made our stay bearable. The facilities were beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 903jenniei
Auburn, Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynk302
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very helpful and courteous front desk. Amber and Tonica are very nice and courteous to the hotel guests. First hotel I've stayed at that has a free soda machine in the breakfast room. Beds are extremely comfortable and rooms are very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry B
South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 759lawrencec
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Fairmont, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrya547
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Creedmoor, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good experience overall. Very short walk into town to explore the shops and a few restaurants (we liked the 2 Chinese and the Mexican restaurants nearby).. Enjoyed the 1000 B.C. history monument in town as well. Beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was well above average and get this, free 24hr soda fountain was available which was a first. After visiting...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8597KCtodds
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear G8597kcTODDS, Thank you for sharing your comments about your West Virginia getaway. We appreciate your time and the kind words. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area. S Arnold, GM

Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S884XYstephaniew
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
6.0 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Avenue, SW, South Charleston, WV 25303
Region: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Price Range: $136 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms seem clean and well maintained.”
, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 201 is right on top of fountain drink... take 30 seconds for refill, and has a hot tub.”
lionheartyz, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on second floor, near the front, but with a loud fan in the room, we didn't hear a thing”
Jrsnader, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Housekeeping and front desk very helpful”
sherd966, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were just off the elevator, but had no problem sleeping or with noise.”
michellel586, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5