We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 225: English reviews
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten Brunch at the Hotel for many years. We always enjoyed going there for Brunch. However, over the years, we have noticed a decline in quality of food and service. Our latest experience was a extremely disappointing. We were seated at a table and invited to help ourselves to the Brunch. We started out with roasted vegetables, crab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012DCB
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire Clarion Hotel staff, I sincerely apologize for your recent experiences with our Sunday Brunch. I will pass this along to the Food & Director as well as the General Manager of the Clarion. We hope you give us another chance to impress you!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Shepherdstown unplanned so no rooms in the historic town were available. We got the last two suite at the Clarion. The hotel is located a little out of town in the new housing development near the high school and with about 15-20 minutes walk to the historic center. It is a great place if you need to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prawet J
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you ever stop in Shepherdstown area, we hope you choose us again! :)

Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Clarion-not my first visit. Room was comfortable and appeared clean. Food and service at hotel restaurant in the past was awful so I didn't try to eat there. The only coffee in the morning was from a machine...who does that anymore. Overall experience average-the amenities are not what you would hope for.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jenniferplymale
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your recent trip was not up to par. I hope you give our restaurant another chance. The complimentary coffee that we keep in our hotel lobby is freshly brewed in our kitchen and available to all hotel guests in urns. The coffee in the restaurant is also freshly brewed. Perhaps the coffee machine that you...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, very good service and standard clean rooms. Pleasant stay on budget. There is gym and sauna but there are also running trails in vicinity. It is situated 15 minutes walking distance from the Main Street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vladan R
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to see you on your next trip to Shepherdstown!

Columbia, MD
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My wife and I were in Shepherdstown a few weeks back and knew we were going to need accommodations for an upcoming event so we stopped in to the check in desk and made reservations for a room with a king bed in a quiet section of the hotel. The clerk at the desk made the reservations and faxed me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LordThomMohr
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that...

Front Royal, VA
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I'm giving higher than a one rating since the staff were friendly and we were able to check in early. The rooms need a more thorough cleaning and need updated. For the price, I was expecting nicer quality. The drapes were torn, stains on chairs, stains on carpet, mold on air conditioner and ripped carpet by door were a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marleanm
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed two nights, good group rate we paid. Rooms are large, the restaurant on site is very decent and inexpensive. Bathroom could stand a freshening up where grout/caulk is concerned. Room had extra sink, coffee maker, microwave, small fridge, comfy bed. There is a gym and also an indoor basketball court, which I've never seen at a hotel before....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy S
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clarion and hope you had a great time during Freedoms Run! During your stay there should have been a USA Today Weekender in the lobby - perhaps they were all gone by the time you had gotten there? Nonetheless I wish we had one for you....

WDC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I wouldn’t exactly call the Clarion a dump but agree with other reviewer who commented that the place needs some serous housekeeping and updates. Like other reviewers, I’m not a snob about hotel rooms – mostly just want a hot shower and clean bed. But I do also expect some degree of cleanliness and housekeeping above what one would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GD77
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Clarion. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to take advantage of our breakfast. We offer free coffee in the mornings starting at 7AM when breakfast starts. I will get with our Food & Beverage department to see what we can do to...

Southeast
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I was not quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. The check-in and check out were very efficient and the staff were very nice. The room was large and great space for sharing. I would definitely recommend to my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LovesComfyBeds
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The staff here is pretty nice. I would not choose to stay here. The rooms are dated and need to be thoroughly cleaned/painted. Bed spreads are old and heavy. The Internet is abysmal. I travel throughout Africa and consistently have better internet than the have here. Reading other reviews it does seem they are slowly trying to upgrade. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin S
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We have updated our internet service and have installed a device that helps disperse speed evenly to be fair to all of our guests. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
122 reviews
1.4 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
747 reviews
13.1 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
91 reviews
13.3 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Rumsey Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Price Range: $156 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the front of the hotel and away from the elevators because of the noise.”
  • Nice big living room
  • Big bed in the suite
  • Front of the hotel and parking lot
  • Bathroom is small but in good condition
  • Nice desk and strong WIFI
  • Sunrise from the room
 of 5 bubbles PrawetJ, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 404.”
 of 5 bubbles LordThomMohr, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even the room near the elevator was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles T4199SYpauld, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the far side of the hotel are quieter -- they are looking out at the grounds and fitness center -- NOT the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles barbara12november194, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We love a King size bed. We always get a room fit for the king.”
 of 5 bubbles T8654QOcarolh, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay