We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charleston Capitol Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 90*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 93*
USD 90*
USD 93*
USD 90*
USD 93*
USD 90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Charleston Capitol Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Start your review of Charleston Capitol Hotel
 Click to rate
Anderson
Reviewed 1 week ago

We know they are renovating so we understand but sure appreciated the convenience of their location. Clean, quiet, kind and helpful staff. Charleston has a lot to offer in the way of history, entertainment, nature in the area, fishing, great restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perri Z
GSManagement, General Manager at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Perri - thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your visit stay. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One night stop saw still renovating since last July. My room was better than the one in July and it looked nicer in the lobby. However,the elevators are still WAY too small and no breakfast offerings. Wi-Fi was decent and it was pretty quiet. OK,but not great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThoughtsofRS
GSManagement, General Manager at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the newly renovated sleeping room. We are working to finish our breakfast/kitchen area and will soon be starting on the elevators. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable and conveniently located. We only stayed one night while traveling but would stay there again. Price was right. The staff was friendly and helpful. They do not offer breakfast but there are many restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
GSManagement, General Manager at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Janice - thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We reserved six motels through TripAdvisor and its subsidiaries for a NOV through DEC vacation to North Carolina. On the second evening of our vacation, we arrived at Charleston Capitol Hotel after midnight due to a routing mishap. The desk clerk gave me a skeptic's appraisal as I approached the desk and said I was checking in. Eyeing me up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
Management response:

Dennis - thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to hear the desk clerk was able to fix the situation with your reservation and that you enjoyed your stay. We hop you will stay with us during your next vacation trip.

Reviewed 2 December 2016

Wifi as slow as dial up. MOLD. MOLD. MOLD. mattress cover does not cover bed. Floor dirty. Heater blows dust. MOLD. MOLD MOLD. Bathroom TERRIBLE. NASTY. COULD NOT EVEN SHOWER. CURTAINS in room DO NOT ShUT. Decorative only. Lights in your room all night . This is not only my thoughts but meet many people here who felt the same....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunter W
Management response:

Hunter - thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I do apologize that you encountered a problem during your visit. However, I can ensure you that our ongoing renovation will remedy several of the problems you encountered. I hope you will give us another opportunity once our renovation is complete.

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Overall, the hotel was fine. At the time the reservation was made, the hotel said breakfast was included. We were told there is no breakfast due to renovations. The hotel also did not offer a discount for this. So that was disappointing. The location was great for the Clay Center and right off the Interstate. Downtown was right there and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dylan3961
Management response:

Dylan - thank you for providing us with feedback during your visit. I am very sorry that you encountered a situation with the breakfast availability during your renovation. We hope that you will give us another opportunity once our renovation is complete.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This isn't the Taj Mahal, but its quite a decent hotel for the money. We stayed for four nights at the end of October and were pleasantly surprised by its convenience and accessibility. All the best restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance, and its only a short drive across the bridge into the beautiful West Virginia wilderness. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cbarbuck
Management response:

Thanks for the feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that Sam was professional and courteous. Our staff values our guests and we always enjoy hearing what they have to say about their stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 September 2016

My assistant and I traveled to Charleston, WV to photograph a wedding and booked in advance based on the images online. We got there very late at night and most of the hotels in the immediate vicinity had no vacancies. As we went through the lobby, we were informed that they were renovating which was fairly obvious, and the clerk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chastidyi
Management response:

Chastidyi - thanks for providing us with feedback regarding your visit. I apologize that you encountered the problems you did. We hope that you will give us another opportunity once our renovation is complete.

Gaithersburg
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The location is great and easy to get to. Parking was sufficient and well lit. The second floor rooms were clean and comfortable. Jim and Dorinda, front desk staff and housekeeping were very accommodating and easy to work with and exceptionally pleasant. The renovations made it difficult to enjoy our stay. Though they tried to keep down the dust, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
Management response:

Jackie - Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the dust from the renovation. We are looking forward to the completion of the renovation and hope that you and your family will visit us again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

It took all of 90 seconds in the room for me to turn around, go back downstairs and demand a refund. And this was around 9:30-10pm after my husband and I, and our two very young children had spent the entire day in the car driving, if that tells you anything -- it was truly that bad and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shmago84

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
1.3 km away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
117 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $115 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston Capitol Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston Capitol Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might like view of the river side.”
perriz2014, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“.Do not book. not ready to rent. Coming from a property manager of 70 + vacation homes. I would be embarrassed to rent a pace Ike this.”
263hunterw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a view of the river”
Dylan3961, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No room is a good room at this hotel. Avoid it at all costs.”
Chastidyi, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“To choose a good room, go somewhere else.”
586candys, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 90* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 90
Hotels.comUSD 90
getaroom.comUSD 93
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates