We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

PricelineUSD 57*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 57*
Great Deal
USD 58*
USD 58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn over the years because of the location and pet policy. Each time I stay there it has gone a little bit more downhill and needs to be complete remodeled. They do have a few of the "deluxe" rooms at extra cost and they are nicer. The hotel is close to the interstate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hipechic
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over the years. I'm sorry that things have gone downhill. During my first year here, I have been working to reverse that trend. I hope you will see positive things on your next visit. Dale Samples General Manager

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Clean but small room. No smell. Appears recently upgraded or at least painted. Bed is fine! Very friendly front staff. Older part of town- safe. No pet fee. Some highway noise. A good value. Stayed with family while driving through. Good for a stopover. No frills . Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EandK1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have upgraded our rooms a few years ago and have been repainting our rooms over the previous 12 months. We look forward to your next visit! Dale Samples General Manager

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Called to make a reservation....man who answered phone did not like me asking if the bed was a pillowtop. He paused, then said....I don't have that information, but call me back after you check with other hotels about that. We decided to skip Red Roof Inn and we stayed in Beckley, WV at another budget chain that had a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm very sorry about the response you received from our clerk. I will speak to him about that. He is new and may have been overwhelmed at the desk. Dale Samples General Manager

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff was great. The room was fine, but even though I knew the sheets and towels were clean...they were so stained that it kind of grossed me out. No coffee in room, but there is a pot by the check in desk. The TV worked great and the in-room desk was nice and large. The wifi was fast and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DianeRyd
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that the sheets were stained. We have coffee makers in our superior king and premium double/king rooms. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area! Dale Samples General Manager

Bardstown, Kentucky
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed here on business and the room was just what I needed. The room had a large desk so that I could work and watch TV. I was not crazy about the vessel sink. It was too high and took up a lot of room. Just not my preference. Lisa the lady at night was nice and let me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadwarrior214
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff friendly. I let Lisa know about your kind comments. We look forward to your next stay with us. Dale Samples General Manager

Banner Elk NC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed here for a quick getaway to Ohio. Lets just say that a lot of construction workers use this hotel, which is fine, nothing against construction workers, my son is one so I am aware that this is their home away from home. There were overflowing trash cans, cigarette butts on the grounds and the room smelled of cigarette smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank admepa
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry we dropped the ball and our grounds were not as clean as they should be. I hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression on your next stop in our area. Dale Samples General Manager

21767
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Spent Friday night there and the room was ok but some guests party'd all night. Someone must not have liked what they served because they left it on the entrance steps, if you know what I mean. We did complain to the front desk when we checed out and they said it was some locals & they would look into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kummzz
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I apologize that other guests disturbed you. Please feel free to dial the front desk at anytime during your stay and we could have resolved the issue so you would have been able to get some rest. We respect guest privacy so we are unable to determine what type of party was going on but we have zero tolerance for...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on 9/21 - 9/22. The worst place ever. The night clerk said the room was clean. There was a smell of fog, torn carpet, flys and bugs and spiders, sticky floors, stains and holes on comforter. I have pics of it all. The next morning the maintenance worker said she should not have given us that room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ori B
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I apologize for the clerical oversight. The out of order hold expired and was inadvertently rented. We did refund the full cost of your room and issue a certificate for a free night stay at any Red Roof nationwide. Dale Samples General Manager

Michigan
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Our room was small but clean and functional. It appeared to be newly remodeled with hardwood floors, a fresh coat of paint and spotless bathroom fixtures. We asked for a room on the side not facing the West Virginia Turnpike. It was quiet, but it also was a Sunday night. There are numerous restaurants within a half mile including Cracker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 43rdParallel
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is every guest find a clean, comfortable room and greeted by a friendly smile. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Berryville, Virginia
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

This is the Kanawha City/ Charleston West Virginia location. The price was reasonable, the mattresses were good and the air conditioning worked well. The room was clean. It was very convenient for stopovers on the way to Virginia or Kentucky.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
9.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 23 in Charleston
326 reviews
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't let the surrounding area fool you. This is a quality hotel.”
N6251GUjoeyb, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the premium rooms. A few more dollars is worth the comfort!”
kristenw173, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 57* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 58
Expedia.comUSD 58
TravelocityUSD 58
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates