We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • West Virginia State Museum
    5.4 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Kayla Anderson
Alicia always has a smile on her face an is very helpful. Coffee... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 367: English reviews
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Alicia always has a smile on her face an is very helpful. Coffee is always fresh and you're always gonna have a few laughs with her. Best customer service I've received in a long time. Very clean rooms and reasonable rates

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drema15
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Alicia is a valuable part of our organization. All of our guests love her! We look forward to your next visit with us. Dale Samples General Manager

washington wv
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

The rooms were fairly nice but EXTREMELY small. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in. The outside entrances mean you can hear everyrhing outside you're door which is annoying to say the least This hotel is in a very bad part of town. Just a very seedy area. The outside is not well lit and a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jay s
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm pleased to hear you found your room clean. I apologize that you felt uncomfortable while staying with us. It sounds like you may have booked a standard king size room. I might suggest for a little more leg room, you try the Superior King room with desk, microwave and refrigerator. By the end of the winter, we will have...

Bedford, Indiana
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I stayed here for one night. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities we needed. When we wen to check out the next morning the electronic system on our door lock went out leaving us locked outside in the cold. THANKFULLY Alicia at the front desk and Steve the maintenance man were there to help. Steve had our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amcastellanos18
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that the lock malfunctioned, especially on such a cold day, but I'm glad we were able to take care of you quickly. I will let Steve and Alicia know of your appreciative words. We look forward to your next, less eventful, stay with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Reviewed 5 December 2016

The first time we stayed here, there was an issue with a barking dog. Alicia was very apologetic and gave us a night free. The second time we used this hotel the room wasn't up to our standards. We went to the front desk, they apologized and moved us to another room that was up to our standards. Alicia and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelia P
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry to hear you experienced problems while staying with us, but I'm glad we were able to take care of the issues quickly and to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Got a good rate here through priceline. The room was on the slightly smaller side, but was clean, and comfortable. Newer appliances and fixtures as well. I never felt unsafe here. The staff was pleasant and overall a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tennboy1981
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you found you room to be clean and comfortable. It sounds like you booked our standard king room. For a little more space including a microwave, refrigerator and desk you may try our superior king. We look forward to your next visit with us. Dale Samples General Manager

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Nice clean rooms-good location for selection of restaurants & amenities in the area! Friendly staff & quick check-in -but Kelly @ the front desk is exceptional! I hope her mgmt team appreciates her attention to detail with every customer! We stay in many hotels across the country! The hotel personal can make a difference in your hotel stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bethanylehmannc
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and was greeted by a friendly smile! I will certainly let Kelly know of your kind words. We do appreciate your guest-centric attitude. We look forward to your next stay with us. Dale Samples General Manager

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We had trepidations based on the other reviews. We were pleasantly surprised by a nice clean room on the first floor. It's a little awkward to get to the hotel, it's behind a strip shopping center through a rough driveway. There are few hotels which accept pets so it's nice to find a welcoming one. Minor issue is ice machine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ERKA2
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room was clean, comfortable and our staff friendly. At Red Roof, we love pets and accept them without fee at every one of our over 400 locations. We have had some staff turnover during the previous 12 months so it has taken some time...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2016

First off, this is a not a safe area for single travelers. The room was filthy when checked in- half drunk coffee in a cup, bed not made, sheets definitely not cleaned and covered in hair and other debris. The manager was kind enough to refund my stay immediately, which is the only positive thing I can say. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle D
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your recent stay. You are welcome to contact me and I am more than happy to make it right. Dale Samples General Manager

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn over the years because of the location and pet policy. Each time I stay there it has gone a little bit more downhill and needs to be complete remodeled. They do have a few of the "deluxe" rooms at extra cost and they are nicer. The hotel is close to the interstate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hipechic
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over the years. I'm sorry that things have gone downhill. During my first year here, I have been working to reverse that trend. I hope you will see positive things on your next visit. Dale Samples General Manager

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Clean but small room. No smell. Appears recently upgraded or at least painted. Bed is fine! Very friendly front staff. Older part of town- safe. No pet fee. Some highway noise. A good value. Stayed with family while driving through. Good for a stopover. No frills . Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EandK1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have upgraded our rooms a few years ago and have been repainting our rooms over the previous 12 months. We look forward to your next visit! Dale Samples General Manager

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
7.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
7.4 km away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $66 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles W1906PNmichelled, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Guests in the back of hotel, drinking and smoking. Choose a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeRyd, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5