We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 364: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The first time we stayed here, there was an issue with a barking dog. Alicia was very apologetic and gave us a night free. The second time we used this hotel the room wasn't up to our standards. We went to the front desk, they apologized and moved us to another room that was up to our standards. Alicia and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelia P
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry to hear you experienced problems while staying with us, but I'm glad we were able to take care of the issues quickly and to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got a good rate here through priceline. The room was on the slightly smaller side, but was clean, and comfortable. Newer appliances and fixtures as well. I never felt unsafe here. The staff was pleasant and overall a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tennboy1981
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you found you room to be clean and comfortable. It sounds like you booked our standard king room. For a little more space including a microwave, refrigerator and desk you may try our superior king. We look forward to your next visit with us. Dale Samples General Manager

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean rooms-good location for selection of restaurants & amenities in the area! Friendly staff & quick check-in -but Kelly @ the front desk is exceptional! I hope her mgmt team appreciates her attention to detail with every customer! We stay in many hotels across the country! The hotel personal can make a difference in your hotel stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bethanylehmannc
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and was greeted by a friendly smile! I will certainly let Kelly know of your kind words. We do appreciate your guest-centric attitude. We look forward to your next stay with us. Dale Samples General Manager

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had trepidations based on the other reviews. We were pleasantly surprised by a nice clean room on the first floor. It's a little awkward to get to the hotel, it's behind a strip shopping center through a rough driveway. There are few hotels which accept pets so it's nice to find a welcoming one. Minor issue is ice machine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ERKA2
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room was clean, comfortable and our staff friendly. At Red Roof, we love pets and accept them without fee at every one of our over 400 locations. We have had some staff turnover during the previous 12 months so it has taken some time...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2016

First off, this is a not a safe area for single travelers. The room was filthy when checked in- half drunk coffee in a cup, bed not made, sheets definitely not cleaned and covered in hair and other debris. The manager was kind enough to refund my stay immediately, which is the only positive thing I can say. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle D
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your recent stay. You are welcome to contact me and I am more than happy to make it right. Dale Samples General Manager

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn over the years because of the location and pet policy. Each time I stay there it has gone a little bit more downhill and needs to be complete remodeled. They do have a few of the "deluxe" rooms at extra cost and they are nicer. The hotel is close to the interstate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hipechic
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over the years. I'm sorry that things have gone downhill. During my first year here, I have been working to reverse that trend. I hope you will see positive things on your next visit. Dale Samples General Manager

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Clean but small room. No smell. Appears recently upgraded or at least painted. Bed is fine! Very friendly front staff. Older part of town- safe. No pet fee. Some highway noise. A good value. Stayed with family while driving through. Good for a stopover. No frills . Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EandK1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have upgraded our rooms a few years ago and have been repainting our rooms over the previous 12 months. We look forward to your next visit! Dale Samples General Manager

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Called to make a reservation....man who answered phone did not like me asking if the bed was a pillowtop. He paused, then said....I don't have that information, but call me back after you check with other hotels about that. We decided to skip Red Roof Inn and we stayed in Beckley, WV at another budget chain that had a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm very sorry about the response you received from our clerk. I will speak to him about that. He is new and may have been overwhelmed at the desk. Dale Samples General Manager

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff was great. The room was fine, but even though I knew the sheets and towels were clean...they were so stained that it kind of grossed me out. No coffee in room, but there is a pot by the check in desk. The TV worked great and the in-room desk was nice and large. The wifi was fast and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DianeRyd
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that the sheets were stained. We have coffee makers in our superior king and premium double/king rooms. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area! Dale Samples General Manager

Bardstown, Kentucky
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed here on business and the room was just what I needed. The room had a large desk so that I could work and watch TV. I was not crazy about the vessel sink. It was too high and took up a lot of room. Just not my preference. Lisa the lady at night was nice and let me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadwarrior214
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff friendly. I let Lisa know about your kind comments. We look forward to your next stay with us. Dale Samples General Manager

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
9.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
319 reviews
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
205 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
8.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles W1906PNmichelled, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Guests in the back of hotel, drinking and smoking. Choose a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeRyd, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay