We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cowlitz River Lodge

Expedia.comUSD 143*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 154*
USD 143*
Great Deal
USD 154*
USD 154*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cowlitz River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of Cowlitz River Lodge
 Click to rate
Longview, Washington
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Very lodgy with clean rooms. Better than the village inn. The rooms are new with tv's and it is a short drive from the ski slopes. Offer a waffle breakfast for free along with eggs and yogurt. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boginballs
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Spent the night with the family in the Cowlitz lodge. The room was great, clean and updated nicely. Great water pressure in shower as well. The breakfast was much better than the usual continental breakfast and even had biscuits and gravy. Met the owners and they were more than accomdating to a everything we asked for. We would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianDavenport
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are so glad that enjoyed your stay. Being the Resident Manager's (we are not the owners) this is our home and it is very important to us to make each and every customer feel at home while staying with us. We strive to give the very best in customer service and hope that you will...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Our room was quite noisy due to the water running. The toilet was constantly running, despite being fixed once while we were there. Whenever our neighbor ran the shower or flushed it sounded like a waterfall! The breakfast was convenient but not very tasty. It wouldn't take much to make the breakfast just a little more appetizing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roberta T
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that your experience here was just OK...your toilet was fixed immediately (the chain was caught under the stopper) as soon as you notified us of the problem. I am also sorry that the guests next to you were a bother when they showered or used the restroom, of course being that our facility was constructed several decades...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We chose Packwood because it was the closest town to Crystal Mountain, where we wanted to ski. Our first clue of trouble to come should've been when our GPS told us we were 17 minutes from the Cowlitz River Lodge, but then the snowy road we were on just ended! Turned around, & went back down, only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KsOnlineReview
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Both of you were a joy to have here at the Cowlitz River Lodge. I am certainly glad you enjoyed White Pass Skiing and all that our little town has to offer! We strive to make sure that all of our Guests are comfortable and "At Home" while staying with us and we hope to...

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Very clean, comfortable rooms. Nice bed and awesome shower. Very loud in the room once our neighbors were up and about. Friendly staff. Usual breakfast bar with good coffee. Very fair price. Easy in and out from car to room and back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you! We really appreciate your feedback. We strive to make our guests completely satisfied and at home here with us. We certainly hope to have you visit us again in the future! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - managers

Reviewed 6 January 2017

Super friendly staff, very clean rooms with white linens (this is magnificent given the pet friendliness, where you usually find grimy looking bedding and gross carpet), decent hot breakfast (and free!), great location if you're headed to White Pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexishankster
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make our guests & their families (including the furry ones!) feel like they are at home here. We certainly hope that you stay with us again in the future! Thank you, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Mentor, Ohio
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I made a reservation for 3 days, then a couple weeks later I called to add 3 more days. The female reservationist told me my room was available and I wouldn't have to move. I spent the First 3 days and then while I was skiing they locked myself and my two grandchildren out. They kept saying I only paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancybsearles
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

You had your reservation for 3 nights (Sunday, Monday, & Tuesday) (no where did you book for an additional 3 days) on Wednesday you did not leave your room which forced us to relocate one of our reservations to different rooms.. With our key system, your room keys automatically close out at Noon on the checkout date. (we did not...

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick ski trip and weren't disappointed. Nicely remodeled, room for 5 w cot and enough space for ski gear (but snug). Close to town, decent breakfast and friendly staff. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg N
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very we now have our Family Suite that would give you plenty more space for your stay! Sincerely, Larry &...

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Welcoming and cozy lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice room. Bed very comfortable. Walls were a tad thin and we could hear our neighbor and smell his ramen noodles. Didn't bother us but we felt bad that we might have talked too loud! Highly recommend. Has station very close as well as a couple of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Sincerely,...

Coupeville, Washington
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I loved the Cowlitz River Lodge when we explored Mr. Rainier in September! Close to Mt. Rainier National Park; large, clean rooms; helpful info; a varied, filling breakfast; and those wonderful elk! Would stay again in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Sincerely,...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
5.8 km away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
159 reviews
0.7 km away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
194 reviews
25.8 km away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
2.8 km away
Crest Trail Lodge
Crest Trail Lodge
#3 of 5 in Packwood
240 reviews
31.1 km away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
31 unit Lodge located at the base of Whitepass in the heart of Packwood, Wa. Beautifully updated and renovated rooms, with refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron in each! Included in your stay is a full Hot Breakfast every morning (Belgian Waffles, Sausage, Scrambled Eggs, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurts, Muffins, Bagels, fruit, juices, etc.) Wi-fi in the rooms and Dirrect TV! The elk hang out in our front lawn almost daily. Enjoy the scenery! Short drive to Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. Visit us while you hiking, fishing, hunting, skiing, visiting the mountains, and for the local Huge flea market held on Memorial Day and Labor day weekends! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cowlitz River Lodge

Address: 13069 US Highway 12, P.O. Box 488, Packwood, WA 98361-9720
Region: United States > Washington > Packwood
Price Range: $189 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cowlitz River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cowlitz River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowlitz River Hotel Packwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cowlitz River Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Tacoma, Washington
2 months ago
Tacoma, Washington
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cowlitz River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upstairs may be quieter”
michaelgC8151MZ, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be careful of your booking.”
nancybsearles, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and no problems. Second floor may have some nicer views.”
emporerpenguin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel doesn't have on line booking but the personable managers will take your information over the phone.”
BeckyF148, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper level room on the end”
larkenRidgefield_CT, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 143* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 154
PricelineUSD 154
Orbitz.comUSD 143
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates