We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lone Fir Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Lone Fir Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

28 yr Active Duty military, family camper, and world traveler here...Please Do NOT spend your money here. It's not possible to fully explain my disappointment with the facilities and the owner. I reviewed other customer reviews before submitting this, and I see a trend with ownership (Jeremy's) attitude towards his customers. I've never been to a campground that felt so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NWMilitaryTravelGp
Lone F, Owner at Lone Fir Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here at Lone Fir Resort. During the check in process you signed our agreement stating that quiet time is between 10pm and 8am. This includes no amplified music and soft spoken voices. It also states that any guest failing to comply will be asked to leave the resort with no... More 

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My hiking club stayed at the Lone Fir this week before climbing St Helens. We found it a quaint, clean, and character based facility with friendly staff. The cabins were beautiful - clean, log furniture. We loved it and will be back next year.

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The room was great and the people there were very friendly and accommodating. We had their pizza for dinner and the left overs were perfect for our breakfast, before heading out to climb St. Helens. Even though we had checked out of the hotel, they let us come back and use their shower facilities after our hike. Shower never felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank ejsumabat
Plymouth, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My second stay at Lone Fir did not disappoint. Rooms are clean and well equipped, but don't expect 5 star amenities. You're in the woods and there to enjoy the fresh air and everything offered by the nearby Mt. St. Helens Monument. Really great beds, a roomy bathroom and shower, and nice areas to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings.... More 

Helpful?
Thank marciacook
Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Came in and assigned a room and the beds weren't made up yet. They offered a couple of beers while we waited. Room was large with great beds. Shower was nice but no dish for soap etc. They offer it all: food, nice small bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank mmem7
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I booked a room at the Lone Fir Resort in Cougar WA and had to cancel the room due to an unfortunate circumstance. The person I talked to at the front desk said that due to their policies, normally I would be charged a night stay. Given that I only made the reservation for 1 night. Though she said she... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank saraeY280JQ
W Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Helpful desk staff made for a great start, and our room did not disappoint. Large, well equipped and with a nice bathroom with shower. Next time I might try to reserve an upstairs room, as we could hear those above us (we were on the ground floor) were quite noisy. The bar / restaurant served good food (fairly limited choice),... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian B
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed here so that we could do some hiking in the area, including Ape Caves and Lava Canyon. Very convenient location for that. The rooms are rustic but clean. The beds not very comfortable. The TV gets about 4 channels. We mostly hiked all day and came back at night to relax. The restaurant is very good, we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrishaTim
VANCOUVER,WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I had a written reservation confirmation, Reconfirmed my confirmation the day of arrival Traveled many miles to Cougar, WA only to find that they did not have my space available and was unwilling to do anything about it. I am currently disputing the charges, as to this date, they have not refunded my money. You may, or may not, get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JILLPILL
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I travelled here with my 7-year-old son for tent camping. We wanted to explore the Ape Caves and other wonders south of Mt. St. Helen's. This area is less visited because there is not a large visitor center like on the north side of the monument. Lone Fir is a great little motel/RV/camping resort. Very clean, cheerful staff, and lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank KCRidihalgh

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cougar
37.4 km away
Best Western Woodland Inn
35.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Battle Ground Inn & Suites
37.3 km away
Lewis River Inn
Lewis River Inn
#1 of 3 in Woodland
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Lone Fir Resort

Address: 16806 Lewis River Rd, Cougar, WA 98616-9700
Region: United States > Washington > Cougar
Price Range: $116 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lone Fir Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lone Fir Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Fir Hotel Cougar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lone Fir Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lone Fir Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both cabins my group had were terrific. Don't believe there is a bad room in the house! Book it!”
 of 5 bubbles 878kenh, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms tend to have thin walls. Choose one of the freestanding or upstairs units if you want to be sure you won't hear your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles marciacook, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in 4C”
 of 5 bubbles JulianB174, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had site #23 and it was a very nice site, but next to the Manager which was no problem at all.”
 of 5 bubbles TeriW230, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Any of them :-)”
 of 5 bubbles 352bretth, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay