We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Staunton, Virginia
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Absolutely worst experience with Customer Service I have ever experience. I booked a room with this hotel through Expedia for a Saturday night and requested early check in. As advertised, I paid for a suite room, which is supposed to include a Jacuzzi tub. When we arrived and checked in, the room was completely disgusting. There were stains all over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank falln2piecez
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am sorry for any rudeness that you encountered with this situation and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar incident occurs...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Trust me....don't go there. The website picture looks nice right...LOFL. After you check in and you park up on the upper lot, you have to dodge the construction dumpster, the trash, and the cones. THEN you have to step over the scrap materials , prices of sheet rock, tools , and hold your breath for the sheet rock dust will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jerry H
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that...

Broadway, Virginia
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Construction debris in hallway. Dried vomit on balcony, mysterious white stain on sofa, blood or worse on the doorframe to the bathroom. Whole place reeked of various kinds of smoke! Left immediately!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol G
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you...

Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is not the place that I would spend a family vacation at but for a quick weekend getaway it was fine. It is an old hotel and it shows but we had a clean room and the staff were very nice and helpful. I would stay here again for another weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouMacnabb
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear from you and to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and...

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I have never seen a more disgusting hotel room before in my life. Vomit on the balcony railing., Filthy stained sofa, terrible odor of pot smoke and tobacco smoke, huge stain of some sort of door jamb. I wouldn't even go into the bathroom to look. It is under renovation, but whoever is doing the work is terrible boards just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet N
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you...

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for one night. When we got there the guy at the front desk wasn't the nicest. After he took my card and checked me in he informed me the tv's weren't working. Being it was woN and I was with 3 tired kids I took the room anyway. I felt like he should have switched my room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dolores W
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. Thank you for choosing our hotel, We hope to see you again soon.

Cumberland, Virginia
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This place was awful. There is no other words to describe it. We showed up on a Sunday in December after I had reserved our room 3 weeks in advance through the hotel, not an Internet site. To no surprise when we got to the hotel there was no reservation. The staff fixed it and gave us a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennifer A
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We planned to stay at the Dolphin Inn for six nights over New Year. I've never been to as disgusting hotel in my life. The pictures on the website did not match reality. The furniture were dirty and outdated the bathroom unclean and overall not suitable for hosting people. We arrived late in the night and complained to the guy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Agustst
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. I hope that you will consider staying...

Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We booked through Expedia. Then we called the hotel to confirm the bookings. At no time where we told that the pool was closed for the season even though we inquired about the pool being heated. Also the guest laundry was closed as well. Room was filthy as where the other 2 rooms my family booked. Our fridge had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bumpkin677
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 2 December 2015

My wife and I booked this hotel through Hotels.com for her birthday weekend. Our first room's Jacuzzi tub had no hot water. When we were put in a second room, there were bedbugs all over the couch. And when we were offered a third room, the water damage and smell of mold and mildew was unbearable. I would never even...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Dennis W

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
607 reviews
1.6 km away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
393 reviews
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#62 of 109 in Virginia Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
681 reviews
0.2 km away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
374 reviews
0.3 km away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $89 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms here!”
 of 5 bubbles nanaof3, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Possibly the worse hotel I have been to...EVER”
 of 5 bubbles seashelly321, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beach front Rooms have the perfect view, but over priced for a "Motel". Not the best quality. Motel needs upgrading badly.”
 of 5 bubbles plogan0854, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for a family of 4 or more”
 of 5 bubbles buttonluver7, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the room are equally good. Its your choice of the floor though.”
 of 5 bubbles 22varunad, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5