We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Expedia.comUSD 113*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 160*
USD 113*
USD 119*
USD 160*
USD 113*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,069 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,051: English reviews
Start your review of The Founders Inn and Spa
 Click to rate
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Founders Inn several times and have enjoyed the facilities. It is near Regent University and is very convenient for attending University functions, Several weeks ago I had the breakfast buffet in the dining facility. It was a wonderful experience and the staff service was superb. If you like colonial motifs and a warm atmosphere, try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WA0LSH
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A two day stop over on our trip to OBX. After check 'BOOKING.COM'. my husband came across the place. When we pulled in after a twelve hour drive, we were sure we were in the wrong place. A beautiful resort with great rooms, great food, beautiful grounds, and Abigail Adams the mute goose. She greets you on the grounds, let's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrclabgrandma
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My new husband and I booked one night here on our way to staying in the Virginia Beach area. Although this hotel is not near the best, we LOVED LOVED LOVED the beautiful landscape and history and character associated with this gem. The restaurant was great. The grounds were beautiful. The beds were perfect. Nothing fancy here- but truly a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Julie T, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad that you found us and hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Virginia Beach. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

st augustine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to brunch today with a party of 5. Spent $50+ per person and $25 for a 7 year old...the children's activities were very crowded....waited in line for almost an hour for balloons....30 minutes for face paint.....then when we were seated in the restaurant for 3pm reservation, we were taken to a table with a dirty table cloth....I asked that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank widowStAugustine
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

widowStAugustine We are genuinely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Easter Brunch experience with us. There is no excuse for us seating you at a table with dirty linens and it should have been immediately changed. The service should not have been that slow either and we are sorry that you had to wait so long for...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for one night as a couple. Room was really nice if a bit on the small side. The hotel interior/public rooms are very nicely furnished but a bit impersonal and not cosy. We didn't use the restaurants but looked in and also felt they lacked warmth & character. The gardens are beautiful although we didn't see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulbyatt
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Paulbyatt, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry that you did not get to experience the great service we offer in our restaurants and Abby the Swan was not around. I do hope that you come back to visit us in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room not cleaned during the day, no towels, soap, tissues etc. Response from management, none. Hotel manager could not come out to apologize. Oh well, looks nice on the outside. Housekeeping left for the day. Sticking to large hotels chains in the future. Shameful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanne0005
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Joanne0005, We are so sorry that this happened to you. This is definitely not the norm for our housekeeping staff and it should not have happened. We typically do have housekeeping staffed all of the time and I am not sure what happened during this specific instance. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited founders Inn for the second time with a friend, we got a Facial and Spa pedicure. The Spa manager ( Mechelle) is amazing at accommodating us and making us feel special! Our pedicures where great, destiny was my therapist and she was awesome! I got my facial with Brooke, she was amazing! It's been a long time since I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grisseth R
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Grisseth R, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our spa. We will make sure Mechelle and Brooke are aware of your feedback too. We look forward to serving you again. Please make sure to check our website for monthly spa specials too. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful colonial styling. Service is excellent. A lot of local amenities. Definitely would recommend. Ordered through Groupon rates with them were very. They have a spa on premises will taste later. Are in their resteraunt excellent cuisine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dantheucman
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dantheucman, Thank you for being our guest. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will be our guest again in the near future. Warm Regards, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Ashland, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ended up here after my previous reservation at another hotel fell through. I must say, I am glad it did. I may have never stayed here. This place is clean, classy and elegant. Showing up in my sweatpants and hoodie from traveling, I felt a tad out of place. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvmytwiinz
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Luvmytwiinz, We are so glad that you found us. We love that it all worked out and you were happy with your stay. We do have a menu for breakfast in our restaurant so you do not have to order the entire buffet for your children next time. We hope that you come back in the summer so your family...

Herndon, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent place. We normally stay at Hampton Inns. This place rated well above those. Excellent value and location. Huge complex with nice restaurants. Seems like it works well for weddings or family reunions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Robert K, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that tried something new and we hope to host you again in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing.

922 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
20.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
20.1 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,813 reviews
20.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $149 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
7 months ago
St. Thomas
4 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pet friendly with quiet comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi, and in room coffee and refrigerators.”
jrclabgrandma, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“building 4 is close to the lake”
60tracies, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are multiple buildings, we were in the building near the spa and pool and it was quiet.”
richardandkristy2012, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms facing the gardens would be nice.”
EdieB708, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the garden if possible. The others look out on the parking lot.”
, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 113* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 119
TravelocityUSD 113
TripAdvisorUSD 113
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates