We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Founders Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,007: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let's start with the positive. The room was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable and everything worked satisfactorily. The staff was friendly and mostly responsive. The negatives are going to sound picky, but to us it's what separates a good hotel from a great one. Day one, the in-room coffee maker only had setups for two cups of coffee;... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

John M, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad that you were pleased with your stay overall. We do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning, but the times and location were modified this past week in order to accommodate everyone and set up locations for Thanksgiving. We are sorry that the locations and supply were not... More 

Ashburn
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This used to be a top hotel but is now showing signs of aging. The furniture is dated and needs to be replaced especially in the hotel rooms. The common areas are also showing its age along with the restaurants and conference areas. The "coffee" express is mediocre and I found it worth the five minute drive to Starbucks for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia B
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Marcia B, Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. Your comments are important to us and we review all of them as a team. The coffee is the coffee express is complimentary, but thank you for your insight about the cups. The furniture is dated, but it does tie into the georgian architecture of the hotel. We... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in town for a family emergency. I got a room at the last minute. They have a great military discount and the rooms were gorgeous. Everything is very colonial but it fits witth the formal gardens in the courtyard and the old Virginia theme. If you can just go with it, you get a 4 star hotel at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mona H
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Mona H, We are sorry that you were in town for a family emergency, but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope that you are able to visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I surprised my husband with a short getaway to this hotel. We loved it. The grounds and rooms are so beautiful and well maintained. I love that you get that B&B vibe in the rooms. We also visited the Flowering Almond Spa. Such a great experience. A true spa experience with robes and a conversatory and light snacks. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chiquita C
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Chiquita C, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short getaway with us. Thank you so much for the kind words and for sharing your feedback with us. We are already looking forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I visited this hotel for a wedding and was very impressed by the outside venue! The place is beautiful for an outdoor wedding, especially in the evening with all of the beautiful lights. They did a good job organizing the wedding and the food was also good. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. If anyone asked for the restroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxxie35
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Roxxie35, Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and were impressed with the space. I hope that you will visit us again in the future if you ever return to Virginia Beach. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Excellent service, venue is beautiful, Hotel and conference staff were very helpful and attentive. The food providers was very good. Had a company Xmas party here and the room was beautiful, waiting staff was friendly and kind.

Helpful?
Thank Nell G
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Nell G, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for being our guest again. We are so glad you had a positive experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

Culpeper
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Staying while attending a conference and was very pleased with my room. So much space; high quality materials and construction; nice furniture and very clean. I called the desk to ask if the two bottles of water are complimentary or would I be charged. No charge and when I only used one the first day, the still left me two!... More 

Helpful?
Thank vtcc64
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

vtcc64, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the lighting in our guest rooms. This is good information for us to have so we can pay closer attention to this in all of our rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we hope that you will come back and be our guest in... More 

Schenectady
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The room, location, amenities, food, and staff are consistently excellent; however, the policies of the hotel need to change. The room cost, for Regent University students, is higher than the AAA rate, which is quite twisted, and not in a good way, when you think about it. Also, they do not accommodate stranded travelers very well, reflecting poorly on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Mary M, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. The storm did catch everyone by surprise and we ended up being completely sold out for the weekend. We did our best to accommodate everyone, but we only had so many rooms to offer our guests. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The Founders One Bedroom Suite with parlor was beautiful, huge, and amazing. I was there to graduate from Grad school with my family. It was beautiful! The room was perfect so we did not want to leave it! We will definitely return. The restaurant and breakfast are fantastic. It is child-friendly with many, many activities for them. The pool, spa,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Journalin
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Journalin, Congratulations on graduating from Graduate School! That is such a big accomplishment. Thank you for being our guest and sharing your kind words with us. We hope that you come back soon to visit. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Pros - Beautiful grounds for weddings, pictures, etc. Front desk staff were very nice, easy check in. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Two bottles of water were provided in room upon check in, and after they cleaned. Super convenient to shopping, restaurants, grocery stores. Cons - Hallway to rooms smelled strongly of chemicals (or air fresheners?), but not in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Stacey B, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be our guest again in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing More 

863 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 108 in Virginia Beach
921 reviews
20.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
932 reviews
20.0 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 108 in Virginia Beach
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
547 reviews
20.0 km away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $120 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
2 months ago
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 month ago
over a year ago
Denton, Maryland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the garden if possible. The others look out on the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are very nice!!”
 of 5 bubbles Journalin, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even though there is not a microwave in the room, one is available by the vending machine.”
 of 5 bubbles 25carola, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose the James River Building and a room at the rear of the building and offer the quietest setting.”
 of 5 bubbles Dmonday, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“don't stay in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles 169frankt, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay