We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frederick House

295 reviews
Save
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“small hotel”(18 reviews)
“b b”(70 reviews)
“apple raisin”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Pool
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (295)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Frederick House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
207
55
18
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
207
55
18
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelb bapple raisincoffee mugsquichemenu printedlarge bedroomcanopy bedthanksgiving weekendwafflesbreakfast menu isprivate entrancethe american shakespeare centerwithin walking distanceeach morningnew streetson's wedding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

After a long day of traveling and visiting Montichello, we arrived at Frederick House. We got there late and they kept in contact with us regarding our arrival. Brian and Eta were wonderful. Brian escorted us to Patrick house down the street and even helped...More

Thank flsky
Response from JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 29 October 2016

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments about Frederick House. We are pleased that you enjoyed the services of Brian and Eta our managers who are taking seriously the responsibly for the welfare of Frederick House guests. We hope you will come again and have time...More

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed in the Patrick House Room 27 on 8/31/16. Large suite with pocket doors, canopy bed, decorative fireplace, 2 televisions, beautiful decor. The mnager and his wife were very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend. Delicious breakfast.More

Thank namealreadytaken2015
Response from JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful response. The fireplace mantle is solid walnut. Someone had removed the original mantle from that suite. I found the mantle you saw at Worthington Hardware in Staunton. It was covered with many coats of dirty paint. I took...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were on our way home and decided to stop for the night in Staunton, Va. I will admit that we wanted to stay in the history downtown area so we can park and walk. We wanted to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel but...More

1  Thank Linda B
Response from JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you found your room clean, the bed comfortable, breakfast satisfying, and your hosts cheerful and inviting. Your suggestions prompted us to take a closer look at your room. We have replaced the...More

Reviewed 20 August 2016

We had a suite in the same building that has the breakfast room. I cant remember the name. The room was very clean; however there were several issues. The television was old and small , so small that you couldnt see the printed details on...More

Thank Bigeye149
Response from JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 22 August 2016

The approach Evy and I have toward the business we created 34 years ago is, "Tell us what you want. If we can, we will achieve it for you." In one aspect of your recent stay we failed. It is totally possible for us to...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Frederick House was a clean comfortable and relaxing B&B. We enjoyed staying in the Cochran House. It was quite and relaxing. Location is great to walk to downtown to restaurants,shopping and theaters. Close to Woodrow Wilson House and Baldwin Wallace CollageMore

Thank Butlers-bounty
Response from JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 29 July 2016

We are grateful for all reviews. We like to encourage guests to let us know while they are here about their experience at Frederick House. Staff is always available. Guests can use phone in room to contact management about any problems or special requests. Our...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456759
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
USD 181 - USD 181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 181 - USD 181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Clay48
23 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Brooke W | Property representative |
Hi there! I apologize for the delay in answering this question. Frederick House recently changed ownership and we must have overlooked this question. For future reference though, all of our pillows are hypoallergenic. No... More
0
Votes
ColonialDame2014
27 June 2015|
Answer
Response from JoeHarman | Property representative |
Aioli is adjacent to Frederick House. It is open Tuesday through Saturday at 5:00 for dinner. They serve Mediterranean Tapas and also have a full menu and daily specials. The phone number for reservations is 540-885-1414... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 16 was great for a family - beds for 4 and you can spread out."
Read review
"Check out their website for availability and a view of the rooms."
Read review
"There are a few large suites, and a family suite with a sitting room and 2 bedrooms. Ask if you require more..."
Read review
"Upper floors have great city views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing