We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Show Prices
#12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 419: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Nice large room up on the 5th floor and if it wasn't raining and foggy then it would have nice view of the mountains. Had king size bed and seating area with a sleeper sofa. Our room had a small fridge and a microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. We take great pride in ensuring customer satisfaction and your "Home Away From Home". We hope that when you are in the area again your will come back to stay with us. We appreciate your business! Sincerely,...

Poquoson, Virginia
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We have been staying here when we visit family for about 10 years. A few years ago, they did give the hotel a facelift but see it declining again. When we were here in December, there was a roof leak on the 5th floor so they put a bucket in the hallway to catch the rainwater. Now, 10 months later,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SBochman
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear SBochman, Thank you for your stay and for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is extremely important as this will help us to achieve our mission to provide the perfect guest experience. I am sorry to hear that your last visit was not as pleasant as we would have hoped. Our goal has always been...

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We had no problems with this hotel. The room was very clean and very comfortable and the housekeeping service we received was great. The beds and linens were extremely comfy. All appliances (flat screen, microwave, refrigerator, clock, hair dryer, coffee maker) worked perfectly. The wifi service on our phones was good with no interruptions. Although we are smokers, our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cabriolisa
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderfully detailed review! We are so pleased that you experienced a quiet, clean and comfortable stay with us at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. We are so happy that you were able to bring along your pet as well. We love our guests and want you to feel as if this is your...

Flaa, Norway
Reviewed 12 September 2015

For the prize of this hotel you expect more. Nice clean rooms. Good size of the rooms. This hotel has not free breakfast as you expect for the prize. They offered a buffet breakfast in the restaurant in the morning. The prize you had to pay for that brekfast didnt match the Food. Expencive and bad Food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tor_ErikFlaa_Norway
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear Tor_ErikFlaa_Norway, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you found the rooms nice and clean. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is regrettable that you were let down by the breakfast selection. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience...

Somewhere in America
Reviewed 10 September 2015

A nice but older property. Well kept. Could use more parking. The hotel was extremely full and it was hard to find a place to park. A previous reviewer was correct about the security of the outside doors. There didn't appear to be any sort of card lock on those to limit access after hours. The room was very nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Surly-Hillbilly
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy that you had a clean, quiet and comfortable stay with us. We are in the process of a major upgrade to our wifi system here and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will return to Roanoke and give us another try to see how well our wifi will...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I booked this hotel last minute and had to take what I could find in the Roanoke area. When I made the reservation I was very clear that I had to have a non-smoking room due to health issues. When we arrived the first thing that blew me away was the overwhelming smell of smoke on our hallway. Unfortunately, this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CLTNative
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear CLTNative, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the room condition and the air conditioning. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope...

Rochester
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Stayed here after traveling Blue Ridge Trail. Hotel extremely nice, close to numerous quality restaurants as well as having nice bar and restaurant on site. Staff very friendly and even called after checking into room to make sure we were satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy R
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you had a clean, quiet and comfortable experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that you are completely satisfied and your "Home Away From Home" experience. We hope that you will be back in the area again soon and will...

Eagle River, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Traveling in the area. Made our reservation ahead. We found everything just as we requested. Older hotel but it appears to well cared for. Room were clean but wish there was more room for parking. Would be happy to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MIFire
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in ensuring complete customer satisfaction. We hope that you will be back in the area again soon and will be staying with us. Best Regards, Ginger Stepp Director of Sales

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The staff was very friendly when i arrived at the hotel, Dylan, Art, and Mihir were a pleasure to talk to when we walked through the door. The room was very comfortable and i was able to get some good sleep besides the past hotels i have stayed in. Overall, the location of the hotel is wonderful and i would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mikey D
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back again very soon. Complete customer satisfaction is what our hotel strives for. We want this to be your "Home Away From Home" and we appreciate you spreading the word about our wonderful facility. We hope to...

Culpeper
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed three nights, attending a small (around 75 persons) conference and found the facilities well suited and the staff willing to go above and beyond expectations in working with us. I had called the day prior to check in requesting a ground floor room and spoke to Mahir. When I arrived the next day he remembered me. He was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vtcc64
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your rave reviews of our property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our team takes great pride in ensuring complete customer satisfaction. We are looking very forward to seeing you again in the near future! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Ginger Stepp Director of Sales

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
14.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.8 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
6.7 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#23 of 40 in Roanoke
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range: $135 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sleeping rooms are on the opposite side of the building from the conference rooms so there really isn't an issue with noise.”
sarahnegovetich, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing towards the front of the hotel and on upper levels. you will get a great view of the mountains.”
HBH2336, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Before you look elsewhere to buy dinner, look at the Hotels restaurant. I had no idea they had one until I ordered Chinese food.”
Sa969, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Jacuzzi tub”
Brian904, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Staff is extremely nice.”
F7955EKjackl, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5