We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Show Prices
#12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 405: English reviews
Somewhere in America
Reviewed 10 September 2015

A nice but older property. Well kept. Could use more parking. The hotel was extremely full and it was hard to find a place to park. A previous reviewer was correct about the security of the outside doors. There didn't appear to be any sort of card lock on those to limit access after hours. The room was very nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Surly-Hillbilly
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy that you had a clean, quiet and comfortable stay with us. We are in the process of a major upgrade to our wifi system here and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will return to Roanoke and give us another try to see how well our wifi will...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I booked this hotel last minute and had to take what I could find in the Roanoke area. When I made the reservation I was very clear that I had to have a non-smoking room due to health issues. When we arrived the first thing that blew me away was the overwhelming smell of smoke on our hallway. Unfortunately, this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CLTNative
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear CLTNative, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the room condition and the air conditioning. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope...

Rochester
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Stayed here after traveling Blue Ridge Trail. Hotel extremely nice, close to numerous quality restaurants as well as having nice bar and restaurant on site. Staff very friendly and even called after checking into room to make sure we were satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy R
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you had a clean, quiet and comfortable experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that you are completely satisfied and your "Home Away From Home" experience. We hope that you will be back in the area again soon and will...

Eagle River, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Traveling in the area. Made our reservation ahead. We found everything just as we requested. Older hotel but it appears to well cared for. Room were clean but wish there was more room for parking. Would be happy to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MIFire
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in ensuring complete customer satisfaction. We hope that you will be back in the area again soon and will be staying with us. Best Regards, Ginger Stepp Director of Sales

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The staff was very friendly when i arrived at the hotel, Dylan, Art, and Mihir were a pleasure to talk to when we walked through the door. The room was very comfortable and i was able to get some good sleep besides the past hotels i have stayed in. Overall, the location of the hotel is wonderful and i would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mikey D
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back again very soon. Complete customer satisfaction is what our hotel strives for. We want this to be your "Home Away From Home" and we appreciate you spreading the word about our wonderful facility. We hope to...

Culpeper
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed three nights, attending a small (around 75 persons) conference and found the facilities well suited and the staff willing to go above and beyond expectations in working with us. I had called the day prior to check in requesting a ground floor room and spoke to Mahir. When I arrived the next day he remembered me. He was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vtcc64
PatelR158, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your rave reviews of our property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our team takes great pride in ensuring complete customer satisfaction. We are looking very forward to seeing you again in the near future! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Ginger Stepp Director of Sales

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2015

No free breakfast. Room was adequate. Shower curtain was stained. Air conditioner was broken both nights we stayed. Maintenance tried to enter the room before 10am both mornings. When we returned to the hotel on the second night, the air conditioner was taken apart and the front piece was just laying in the room. Hotel let us have breakfast for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 906Corin
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear 906Corin, Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. It is nice to see that you found our rooms, staff, and fitness room to be decent. However, we regret to see that you encountered some issues with our shower curtain and air conditioning. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 14 August 2015

I travel at least 2 weeks out of every month, so I am used to the differences in cleanliness at hotels. However, out of all the hotels in which I've stayed, this one by far had the worst carpets. I always wear socks in hotel rooms knowing the floors don't get steam cleaned often, but my socks weren't just dirty:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth F, We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with the cleanliness of the carpets. Please know that we will surely look into this and will clean all of them. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to have...

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The beds are clean and comfortable. The staff members were very helpful and kind. The parking was ample. The pool was beautiful. It was a nice stay. The hotel is a bit on the run down side. In fact, when we first arrived, we immediately began discussing whether we should stay the night (it was already late) and just go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripGypsy4U
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Rohan Patel AGM

SW Illinois
Reviewed 28 July 2015

My husband and I were traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway and needed a place to stop for the night. Our options along the Parkway were exceptionally limited, so we chose to get off the Parkway and figured that we'd be able to find a nice place in Roanoke. And we did in the Holiday Inn. The room was good sized...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWIllinoisBeachLover
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Rohan P Manager

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
14.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
9.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
9.3 km away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
6.7 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range: $129 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Before you look elsewhere to buy dinner, look at the Hotels restaurant. I had no idea they had one until I ordered Chinese food.”
 of 5 bubbles Sa969, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Jacuzzi tub”
 of 5 bubbles Brian904, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Staff is extremely nice.”
 of 5 bubbles F7955EKjackl, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the front of the hotel offer great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Dwtilford, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are walking challenged, ask for a room near the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles pfb1952, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay