We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 863: English reviews
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

A room in the Hibiscus wing offers a beautiful view of the water. The room is large but could do with some TLC (tender loving care) - small rips in the backing curtains, chipped tables and tired carpets. The staff are attentive and willing to help. The Resort has everything you need for a holiday. There are many places to... More 

Helpful?
Thank deid58
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

Never use this facility! We booked our destination wedding here over 18 months out for our immediate family of 12 and it was a nightmare. I don't know where to begin.... The service was appalling, the staff were useless and noone knew who was doing what. I dealt with 3 different function managers in 18 months this should have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Indianaj15
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. All perceived points which have been raised in this review were responded to you in writing by the Hotel General Manager with the hotels observed points noted and compensation offered and accepted. Yours Sincerly, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manger. More 

Travellers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Excellent spot to explore northern NZ. Lots of local and Maori history surrounds the area and obviously is an all round vacation area. The hotel restaurant was good so one does not have to travel to town to eat. View of the water and pool made the room. You have exactly what you need but this is an area where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We stayed at the Copthorne Hotel in Waitangi during our honeymoon. We had a beach side room which had a stunning view of the beach. However the room needs updating and there is no free Wifi apart from 30 minutes a day in the lobby. All in all it was an enjoyable stay but some improvements are necessary.

Helpful?
Thank ADH1984
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. We are also reviewing our wifi pricing in the coming months and take onboard feedback received regarding our current pricing structure. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

It's been my experience at other copthornes the dated and often broken hotel. Service ok - not bad not great Pay for everything even to borrow the tennis racquets. Pool is awesome Just ate breakfast here, was ok

Helpful?
Thank kim p
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. We have been forced to charge for the hire of tennis rackets and balls due to the large number of people in the past who have not looked after... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We have stayed at this hotel a few times before. The rooms and facilities are a bit dated but the location is great, away from the madness of Paihia at this time of the year. Unfortunately, the service left something to desire this time. First of all our room was not ready when we arrived at 03:15pm, told us as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans Robert T
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I am sorry that the experience that you had at check in along with the standard of your room was not up to our normal standards. I hope that... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

Small hotel, very pleasant staff. Stayed 1 night, rooms not the biggest, but we were only going to see the dolphins so not a problem. Only problem we had, if you could call it that, was that the room cleaners had forgotten to put new toilet roll in the room!

Helpful?
1 Thank OliverK6
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. My apologies for missing one of the key items in any hotel room, I hope we got a replacement for you quickly. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

Great location but sadly the rest of it was just average. Large coach parties dominated everything and breakfast was just chaos. Room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated. It's a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the main restaurants and shops in Paihia.

Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest... More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2015

First the positives of which there were many - great location with a lovely view over the bay from our balcony, nice pool (unheated so a bit "refreshing" in early November) and spa, useful laundrette, rooms were what you would expect. Useful free shuttle into the little town. The two things I have marked it down on are stingy wifi... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KEJ1964
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are looking at reveiwing our wifi pricing in the comimg months and take on board comments received regarding out current pricing plan. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

fabulous views on the doorstep and lovely pool facilities motel is next door to Waitangi treaty which is worth a visit. Although bar fish and chips was good we were very disappointed with evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast very nice I would visit again

Helpful?
Thank 55Gill55
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager. More 

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
3.9 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Price Range: $102 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 months ago
Quincy, IL
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful running the hot water as it quickly gets very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles AddickMark, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an ocean view room. Ignore the hallway (a little smelly) but these rooms are great - with a balcony too.”
 of 5 bubbles DiamondAuckland, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Have low expectations”
 of 5 bubbles annvan90, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room looking out to sea”
 of 5 bubbles lloydr879, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The views over the harbour are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles ak490806, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay