We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 953: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I was on this complex for two nights and the horrific experience started from check out when the booking did not register the full extent of my organisation's expense limit - (which was unlimited with no restrictions) apparently the website Booking.com didn't register those kind of details on the booking so I had to contact home office to send them...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tarina M
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I spoke with you personally on arrival regarding the only way us as a hotel can receive alternative billing arrangement for company who choose to book through a 3rd party portal is direct with the hotel. On this occasion we received no such correspondence. Regrettably for one reason...

Christchurch
Reviewed 7 February 2016

This hotel needs a good dose of service orientation as well as a general managerial overhaul. On arrival at reception initially our booking could not be located. When found we were told where our room was,-about 100 m along one corridor, up a big flight of stairs and along the next corridor. We are both in our eighties with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrahamChristchurch
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The Copthorne Hotel is situated just outside of the town of Pahia, but it is in walking distance about a 20 minute walk. The hotel appears to be the largest in Pahia and has all facilities for a family holiday, if you are looking for tranquil, quiet, peaceful you may be disappointed as this hotel caters for all. Situated next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauritius45
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Nice to hear from you again and thank you for the feedback placed. I am glad that myself and team here were able to assist you as we did and that your stay in the Bay of Islands was an enjoyable one. All the best for the future challenges ahead and I hope to welcome you back to...

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Room was tired, furniture old/ damaged and bathroom poor (bath stained, tiling poor, unpleasant smell) Pity as location is good, although our harbour view was impaired as we had a number of cars parked on the grass between the hotel rooms and the harbour. Sadly also had noisy neighbours one night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ColinCJC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the experience that you had with your room was not up to standard and that your stay was effected by less considerate guests staying nearby. We are looking at installing wooden bollards around the grass area outside the room which was allocated to you...

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 1 February 2016

This hotel is located in a fantastic location over looking the Bay of Islands, our room overlooked the bay - some do not. The beach was a few yards from our patio. To open the curtains in the morning and see some wonderful sunrises was a real delight. The whole hotel needs upgrading. The room we stayed in was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will171
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I am sorry that the standard of the room which you stayed in was lacking. We are upgrading the beds and bedding in the Seaspray Block which you stay...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

After staying in other hotels & resorts we were expecting a similar standard at the Copthorne. The Pohutukawa wing where we stayed had no AC, out dated decor & our bed was two singles pushed together which had a hard frame in the centre. The buffet breakfast was OK. The pool & spa were the nicest thing about it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M_S_Flett
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. The bedding configuration in the room booked is a Hollywood King beds which has a zipped split mattress and base. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions...

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Good place to stay only thing we dislike about this place is no Air Conditioning available in rooms the only air is having air conditioning is reception area. Which made uncomfortable to some.... location is bit away from wharf....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vishal S
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I hope that you enjoyed the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Although the views from the Seaview rooms are quite good, the entire experience is average for a number of reasons. The interior and furniture is dated and worn. there is no AC. the overhead fan is so noisy it wakes you up. Internet is charged for, which is silly in this day. The breakfast is not attractive nor tasty, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. We are currently undertaking a preventative...

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Comfortable four nights at this hotel which is set in the grounds of Waitangi ... New Zealand's birthplace. Buffet meals were good and the the rooms excellent. Photo is of the view from my room and we slept with the door open so we could hear the waves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. The setting is truly beautiful. We found our room to be nicely situated (#129) with a great view of the bay. As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are a bit tired and the cuisine is ok. I would certainly stay here again. My only "beef" concerns the charge applied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M R
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are looking at our current wifi allowance of 50MB and looking at increasing it to a more reasonable level. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.9 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.4 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Price Range: $108 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Javea, Spain
Javea, Spain
Auckland Region, New Zealand
6 months ago
Quincy, IL
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to hibiscus wing sea view, wake up to great views :)”
 of 5 bubbles charlenecave, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles JamesF806, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A harbour view is a must to make the most of you stay”
 of 5 bubbles lewisdasafety, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were room 705 upstairs looking over the pool and out to the sea”
 of 5 bubbles LynleyM_12, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room fronting the open water not the pool/restaurant area.”
 of 5 bubbles Virgo13_13, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5