Western Beach Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Western Beach Lodge

6 Westborough St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019 Australia
Traveller (8)
patio with comfy couch
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Scarborough
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Scarborough? Then look no further than Western Beach Lodge, a budget friendly inn that brings the best of Scarborough to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Western Beach Lodge offers guests paid wifi.

Plus, Western Beach Lodge offers a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

While in Scarborough, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Western Beach Lodge, including La Capannina (0.5 mi), La Vela Restaurant (0.1 mi), and The Wild Fig (0.5 mi).

If you’re looking for something to do, Scarborough Clock Tower (0.4 mi) and The watchers (0.4 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Western Beach Lodge.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Western Beach Lodge as you experience everything Scarborough has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Paid internet
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

6 Westborough St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
Perth Airport
19.9 km
See all flights
31Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Zane Dedlow wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hostel in January. Great spot close to the beach. Hostel has a warm atmosphere and is laid back. Good vibes all round and met some awesome people. The hostel owner is nice guy, I was in need of work and he found some shifts for me! Would reccomend👍
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark M, Manager at Western Beach Lodge
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Thanks glad you had a good stay, enjoyed meeting you, all the best with your travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tomdukeofworkington wrote a review Jan 2010
melbourne5 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
checking in and the often daunting walk to your room through the common room or kitchen was made immeasurably better by a warm welcome off the staff and everyone waving or saying hello as we entered! off to a good start! we had a double room which was a good size with a fan and a fridge, the linen was clean and the quilt was warm (for those chilly nights)
The shared showers and toilets were cleaned at least once a day and were always sparkling, the kitchen was small but fully stocked and there was none of the 'renting your plates and pans rubbish' . The staff kept the kitchen really clean and everything worked!

the place itself it quite small but this meant you get to know everyone and we were made very welcome. The kitchen and tv room are open plan and you feel more like you're in a house than a hostel, its all quiet at 12 in most areas so its great if you're not up for wild parties every night, most of the boys were up before dawn for a surf so early nights all round!

5minutes to the beach down a straight road, supermarket on your way back from the beach in the afternoon and in the meantime the superb WA sea to swim in and a golden sand to sizzle on!

best thing= feeling at home (also super cheap internet!)
worst thing = already having an onward flight booked.

thanks to everyone at WBL:-) tom
Read more
Date of stay: January 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helena M wrote a review Jan 2015
Espoo, Finland274 contributions101 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cheap accommodation near Scarborough beach, restaurants, bars and Coles grocery store. We stayed in a double room which was ok with a double bed on the smaller side, a fridge, a table fan and some space to put your clothes in.

The place is a house converted into a hostel so the ambiance is very intimiate. If you're lucky some nights can be quiet but if there's a party crowd staying you can forget about sleeping because the walls are paper thin.

The kitchen is not in a very good state and sometimes the bathrooms were filthy. There is one washing machine. You get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge
Responded 3 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann Miller wrote a review Nov 2023
Perth, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty crowded place full of FIFOs. Drugs rampant as are cockroaches. Been reported previously to Health Dep due to unsanitary conditions.
Arrogant owner who often reneg on bookings. Bed linen dirty and as the whole place. Better hostels around Perth.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arty S wrote a review June 2017
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the hostel during 2 months because i liked the atmosphere and people. There are a lot of people who stay for long time so you kind make your own family during your stay. The problem is the manager. He doesn't respect people's lifestyle. I was mainly working at the restaurant during night time so I slept until late morning. He was the only one always going in the room very loudly, doing something speaking on the phone and wouldn't even close the door when leaving. I mean I understand if he had to do something professionally but I had this feeling he was doing on purpose. Being very respectful, I've always been still nice to him and didn't have any problems with him.
After 2 months I booked a flight to go to Sydney. 2 days before he asked me if I leave the next day. I said no, i l leave in 2 days. Then he told me very rude way that I can't change my mind and he is full so I can't stay there anymore!What?? which mind? I never mentioned about leaving the next day, why would I?I booked my flight weeks before. He just made a mistake with his schedule and doesn't assume it. So unprofessional!!
The next day I didn't know where to go so I made an agreement with one girl who was working at the reception. I slept on the couch in the leaving room. When he saw me, I though he was going to paunch me seriously. He was so aggressive asking me for 10 dollars. If he asked me politely, I wouldn't mind to give him at all, but I had this feeling he was taking it by force.I couldn't believe this experience during my travels. I was working in hospitality a lot in Australia, never met this kind of behavior.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge
Responded 14 June 2017
Hi Arty, firstly, I am disappointed to read how you felt about your stay at WBL, if it was that bad, I can't understand why you stayed 2 months? Secondly, running a hostel we have to clean the dorms, which we do around midday - if my memory is correct, (as you stayed 12 months ago), you would still be in bed when cleaning needed to be done. Lastly, you wouldn't give me a departure date, which I asked for on MANY occasions - this is a normal request. We are a business and have to update our availability on our website. I do try my best and am sorry you feel this way, I would say look at the reviews below, I have many people coming back to WBL so it can't be that bad.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill wrote a review Apr 2019
17 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very unfriendly staff. The owner doesn’t do anything with a receipt. You have to pay in cash, you can’t pay with eftpos which is weird in 2019. The rooms are not clean and they asked me two times if I already payed?! They don’t have a tidy administration and everything happens here cash in hand which is not a problem if your administration is tidy. You pay the same for a 4 bed dorm or a 6 bed dorm. That’s insane. The check out time is 11, on the website and on the doors, but I had to check out at 10.30 which is weird. I wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark M, Manager at Western Beach Lodge
Responded 3 Apr 2019
Hi Jill Apologies for they way you feel about WBL, We do have payment options besides cash, online booking using Paypal, or bank transfer or through the Hostel portels. Check out is 10.30am, but encourage people to leave their bags at the front and enjoy the beach and have a shower on return. If you look at the previous 3 reviews they see WBL in a different light to you. You can't please everyone.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamFulks wrote a review Apr 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Western beach lodge is by far and away the best hostel I have stayed in Australia. Arrived there 6 months ago with the intention of a quick stay whilst finding my own property around the area but the place became a home away from home almost instantaneously. The hostel had more of a share house vibe where everyone gets to know one another quickly, and I met the best people imaginable who became a family. Furthermore the owner Mark is absolutely top, cared about his guests and always had time for a chat, as well as helping you find work as and when you may need it. I never had a problem getting a good nights sleep (had to be up at 5am every morning for work), and all the facilities were regularly cleaned and superbly maintained. I couldn’t recommend the hostel highly enough and I was absolutely gutted to finally leave today, but I will be back! Thank you Mark and everyone I met along the way!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyWanderer wrote a review Apr 2016
Auckland Central, New Zealand14 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have traveled in 14 countries and stayed in many a hostel. My experience with the Western Beach Lodge and its management is without a doubt the worst experience I have had. The condition of the hostel itself is not even close to how it is represented in the pictures here. The kitchen is tiny and it is very difficult to find an open time to use it. The rooms do not lock and the building is not secure. The bathrooms are filthy and the WiFi doesn't work.

A couple weeks ago, although I had made a reservation weeks in advance and that reservation had been confirmed, I received an email from the owner at the last minute informing me that the hostel was "fully booked." Prior to this, I had stayed in the hostel and the owner's spare room and faithfully paid my rent in full every week for three months. In spite of this, he did things like rudely kick my sleeping girlfriend out of my room after I went to work, and charged me $40 for towels that he claimed I lost. Overall, I was treated very disrespectfully in spite of being one of his best customers. I highly recommend against staying at this hostel or dealing with this man.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge
Responded 10 Apr 2016
We're sorry you found WBL so unpleasant during your first weeks' stay and are therefore surprised that you were prepared to stay there again. We received online bookings prior to your 2nd arrival and had no option but to cancel your verbal booking. We tried to give you as much notice as possible. You have also included your complaints about staying in our private home - which has nothing to do with WBL, so should not be included in this forum. However, as you have mentioned it, I will respond. Your girlfriend was welcome to stay in our home, whilst you were there, but not left on her own the next day, with no-one else there. She was a complete stranger to us. Regarding the towels, as you know, you offered to replace them which you did by reimbursing us. Unfortunately, our feelings about you are mutual.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Apolda wrote a review Apr 2015
Brisbane, Australien19 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying a week. Exactely how I want a hostel in Australia to be like! More like a share house as people tend to stay longer, easy to meet people, social!

Enough showers and toilets all over the place. My room had a few shelves to unpack your stuff. Too few power outlets, so bring an extention!

It was clean and I loved the courtyard and the lovely porch to hang out. BBQ! Also not far to Coles and beautiful Scarborough Beach!

A bit of a way from the CBD, but you come here to enjoy some relaxed beach days! There are busses frequently tho, to take you to Glendalough Stn or even Northbridge!

Friendly owner, thx Mark, for this lovely stay at WBL :-)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge
Responded 3 July 2015
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at WBL. We are lucky to have a great vibe - mostly due to our wonderful guests!! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitchy1564 wrote a review June 2014
London6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just what my friends and I were lookig for in 2013. friendly, understanding staff who accommodated all of our needs as British travellers. Right by a beautiful beach and Facilities were just what you need from a lodge. thanks guys you made our trip Easy and enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Scarborough area.
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaGreater PerthStirlingScarboroughScarborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Western Beach Lodge - 2023 Reviews (Scarborough) - Photos of Inn - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Western Beach Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Western Beach Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Scarborough Beach (0.9 km), Whale Playground (0.3 km), and Vanilla Face & Body Spa (0.7 km).
What food & drink options are available at Western Beach Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Western Beach Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Sandbar Scarborough Beach, Grill'd, and Monty's.
Is Western Beach Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Scarborough.
Are there any historical sites close to Western Beach Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bell Tower (11.3 km), The Perth Mint (12.0 km), and Leighton Battery Guns (13.5 km).
All Scarborough HotelsScarborough Hotel DealsHotels near Western Beach Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars