We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers

Robinson Street, Coral Bay, Western Australia 6701 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hostel in Coral Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers is a two-storey budget hostel, catering especially for budget travellers. Just metres from beautiful white sand beaches, the Backpackers offers a relaxed environment. Hang out at the swimming pool or alfresco dining area, meet new people at our very own licensed Manta Bar, and see our friendly reception staff to book all your Ningaloo Reef adventures, including coral viewing, snorkelling and boat tours at special discount rates! Have fun at the table tennis and pool tables, or whip up a meal in our well-equipped kitchen or free BBQ’s. Wi-Fi is available at allocated times. Guests can also access the tennis courts across the road at Ningaloo Coral Bay – Bayview, as well as visit Bill’s Bar next door, for lunch, dinner or a drink at the sports bar. Other facilities available to guests include Internet access; safe deposit lockers and luggage storage.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Table tennis
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor pool
Snack bar
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
216Reviews2Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 83
  • 36
  • 17
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jossmcboss wrote a review July 2023
Alice Springs, Australia104 contributions55 helpful votes
There are few options in this area at peak times, so you take what you can get. Beds were fine (if a bit old), linen was hard wearing (aka polyester) but clean, room (triple, private) was a decent size. It wasn't too noisy given the general noise of the area (ram packed with caravans and tents across the road). Air con in the room worked. Location was very good and there was plenty of parking. Pool seemed nice, and the kitchen appeared to be well serviced. Alas, the whole place has a feeling of needing a very deep clean and general negect. The shared bathrooms were particularly bad: bins overflowing; immovable shower heads caked in calcium; floor so dirty you felt gritty when you stepped on it. Our room had the slight smell of stale urine too. It wouldn't take much to improve, and I'd have happily paid an extra $10 a night to have clean bathrooms and not have to skirt around rubbish on the bathroom floor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alice O wrote a review July 2023
2 contributions
Probably one of the worst hostels I’ve ever stayed in and unfortunately the only one in town so you don’t really have a choice! Have to pay $10 deposit for blankets (which you have to insist you get returned to you when you give the blanket back) and good luck because they don’t have enough for everyone. Otherwise it’s a thin sheet only. No alcohol as they are licensed but they stop serving drinks at 8.45pm. They open your drinks for you, I’m not overly excited at having someone touch the top of a can which I will then be drinking out of. I got told I couldn’t sit in the lounge area as it closes at 9. Helps to be friends with the receptionist as she allowed herself and two others to sit up chatting until 9.30 the next evening…. Have to ask reception for knives but don’t go cutting anything from 11-1 when the reception is closed. Limited amount of kitchen stuff - only 4 mugs one morning and only 1 bowl. Probably other guests leaving things in rooms as there were only around 7 of us in the kitchen. WiFi is only available 9-3… not sure why. I also had to ask for the password 3 times, I got the feeling they didn’t want me to actually have it. The receptionist was very excited to tell me the staff get to use the new and fast starlink. Receptionists are not the most friendly, kinda seems like they don’t want to be there. Housekeeping staff were lovely though, as was the maintenance/grounds worker guy. Bed was comfy, but you have to climb up the frame to get to the top bunk as no ladder. Only two big storage cupboards in a 4 bed dorm. Check out is 9.30am - earliest I’ve ever experienced. Laundry is quite expensive at $6 a wash. Coral Bay is a lovely little area but this hostel ruined it a bit which is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Manue wrote a review June 2023
Rimouski, Canada24 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in dorm rooms one night as part of an organized trip with Autopia. I would describe this place as being very average; there has been some confusion with the room keys & blankets for our group but things ended up being fine in the end. Be aware that there are only two taps for drinkable freshwater in the hostel; everywhere else it's seawater (including showers, which is a bit inconvenient if you're back from snorkeling and wish to get rid of the salt). We were able to charge up our phones with a multiplug extension which has been good (you need to ask for this at the reception). It was not the cleanest of hostels but still good for a short stay like we did.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amelie wrote a review Apr 2023
Montreal, Canada25 contributions6 helpful votes
Unfortunately, that has been the worst hostel of my entire 2 months in Australia. We booked a dorm of 4 (we were 2). When we got to the hostel we asked to see the private room… they didn’t want to show it. We decided to get one anyway. We were told afterwards that wifi was not available for the guess has they had limited connection. The lady at reception told us to go the the reef cafe to have WiFi (they open at 18h…) Room was quite big, linen clean. The windows are sooo dirty you can’t see through the screens, same with the air trap and AC. Full of dust and smelly. We even decided to leave the AC off has it was smelling of mildew. It is about the same for the kitchen and the bathroom. They are cleaned everyday day but they would need a throughout refresh. The air vent on the ceiling are driping in dust, etc. The pool is a nice add on. The kitchen is close from 9hpm to 8ham… we learned it the hard way has we wanted to hit the road early but couldn’t cause our food was in the fridge. They were about 15 persons waiting in front of the kitchen at 8h. We didnt get what we paid for and I think that since they are almost the only accommodation in town, they dont really care. Would not come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Escape25588851300 wrote a review Dec 2022
Reid at reception was such a bubbly and helpful face to meet after rocking up at 6:30pm and worried we wouldn’t be able to find anywhere. Was reassuring and clear in his explanations and the caravan park facilities were awesome! Hot showers, lovely grass we felt heaps better after a night in coral bay 😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark H wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
we loved it my family and I got a family room it was spacious close to the bathrooms and the pool there's great service and you can just walk down the street and your at the beach we had friends staying at the caravan park across the road and it was so easy to get there it was so fun with the pool tables and ping pong down stairs my kids spent all their time there so if you are going to go to coral bay definitely consider this
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: floor 2 is less busy and a family room is spacious and has room for 5 people
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jack P wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I just left and have bed bugs. I'm almost certain they are from this hostel. Please look into this if you are staff. Apart from this, hostel is a good vibe. It's close to the beach, has a pool, showers are nice, food vendors nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Irwin, General Manager at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers
Responded 25 Aug 2021
V1354MJjackb, We pride ourselves on the maintenance of cleanliness here at the Ningaloo Club and all staff are trained in Covid Hygiene Courses. The room you stayed in has been re-inspected today by myself and our cleaners where we found no trace of bed bugs or signs of bugs on the linen by our Laundry staff. We have the building chemically treated once a month by a pesticide company, which controls pests despite being situated in a harsh environment. Due to Coral Bay having sand dunes surrounding us, we do suffer from sand fly bites which can look very similar to bed bug bites. Locals and tourists have been suffering from sand fly bites quite incessantly of late. * Bites on the skin are a poor indicator of a bed bug infestation. Bed bug bites can look like bites from other insects (such as mosquitoes or sand flies) * A doctor can usually diagnose bedbug bites. You should call your doctor right away if: Your bites become red and swollen. Your bites form blisters or sores.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Enel F wrote a review July 2021
Perth, Australia13 contributions7 helpful votes
We found some of staff is not so friendly. We stayed near kitchen and big noisy at night, people talk later night; few cockroach on room, near kitchen at night. Should be clean better or call someone to cockroach control treatment
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Irwin, General Manager at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Enel F, We pride ourselves on the maintenance of cleanliness here at the Ningaloo Club and all staff are trained in Covid Hygiene Courses. We have the building chemically treated once a month by a pesticide company, which controls pests despite being situated in a harsh environment. Please don't be shy to air concerns on your stay with us or anywhere else, if we are aware of an issue we will resolve it!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
schillerla wrote a review July 2021
Australia59 contributions47 helpful votes
Great location, friendly vibes and hot showers! The only thing to be improved is the kitchen, which had a few faulty hot plates and fans that didn’t work. The wifi is also only available 9-3 (when you’re probably at the beach) and then wasn’t available at all for the most of my stay (but I think Optus was down in the area). I was there during school holidays and there was a combo of families and backpackers and it all worked well!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No doonas supplied, only sheets, so bring a sleeping bag or blanket
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Irwin, General Manager at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers
Responded 25 Aug 2021
schillerla, Thanks for your review Our communal kitchen does get a bashing here, hot plates and fans are being replaced however these things take time with shipping!! We understand your woes with the wifi however unlimited access isn't an option right now for Coral Bay, hence our Optus outage of 7 days!! Thankfully we have a beautiful Bay and plenty of activities to entertain us!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cath wrote a review July 2021
Morley, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
A great family holiday. Staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and well set out, facilities were good for shared facilities. Kids enjoy playing pool and table tennis. Enjoyed meeting other people. Most people were respectful of the noise level and kept it right down at night. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Label all of your food and pantry items with your name and date you checkout.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Coral Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$86 - AU$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ningaloo Club
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaCoral Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NINGALOO CORAL BAY BACKPACKERS (AU$86): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Coral Bay Beach (0.04 km), Coral Coast Tours (0.07 km), and The Coral Bay Shark Nursery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coral Resort Bakery, Fins Cafe, and Bill's Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Coral Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ningaloo Coral Bay Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.