We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner surprised me for my birthday with a weekend away at the Japanese Mountain Retreat and I couldn't have wished for a better experience! From the massages to the breakfast and the Japanese dinners everything was perfect :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clifford C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A nice weekend surprise for my BF. Booked the 1 hour Japanese hot springs followed by yum Cha. The springs were lovely and private (minus a few troublesome bees) and the setting for our yum Cha lunch was peaceful. Not the best food I've had but overall a nice (but pricey) way to spend some quality time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wrightydex
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Pictures don't do this place justice, you really need to see it to believe it!! Excellent service, stunning views and perfect location for a relaxing mini getaway!! Food was also amazing, the 5 course dinner was delicious!! Will definitely be going back soon!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dabbzzz
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We stayed for one night and was blown away by the setting, food, massage, spa, room and overall experience! We left feeling refreshed, relaxed and totally pampered! The staff were so nice and couldn't do enough for us! Can't wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbeninati
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Customer Service was poor. Did not feel welcome as soon as I arrived at the spa. They lacked organisation, i.e had to carry clothes and belonging from one room to another. I felt rushed even though it was meant to be a relaxing experience. They didn't tell us what to do and was often left wondering where to go or...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrellegue
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry you feel that you were not welcomed when you arrived. All of our guests are informed of the process of where they will be having treatments and all are provided with spa bags with robes and slippers, so yes you would need to carry your own spa bag with you. Your treatment consisted of a...

Melbourne
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We laughed about it afterwards as we were told off like schoolgirls to get changed but nowhere to get changed. Our friend couldnt get dressed cause her stuff was in the other massage room. We were made to feel like we were a nuisance. Yum cha was great though plenty of food and great view. Think its more of a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nurserachie
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nurse Rachie, At the end of a bathing time all of our guests are requested to change into their robes so that they can be taken to their next experience which in your case was a massage. I am not sure why your friends clothes ended up in the other massage room.. perhaps one of your group picked it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Went to the Japanese retreat with five friends and was really surprised by the lack of change rooms, toilets and locker facilities at the spa. The staff were not overly friendly or welcoming and did not seem to know what they were doing - they even lost my clothes at one point(we had to carry or belongings with us from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ttmelbourne2016
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Your experience included outdoor bathing, massage and lunch. The outdoor bathing area which was used by your group only contains one changing area and one toilet. You then moved to the spa which contains three lockers and a toilet/changing room. You were provided with a spa bag for your clothes which you took with you to the spa....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Magical place to escape & relax. Highly recommend for time out with your partner or bestie. Great service and attention to detail. Facilities, buildings and outdoors are of a very high standard. Would return in the future!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Today we did a half-day spa package at the Japanese Mountain Retreat in Montrose, Vic, Aus. Overall it was a really good experience, although there was a little room for improvement as you'll read ahead. We arrived at 10 and were greeted warmly at reception. The establishment has lovely gardens and some nice buildings but the decor could be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Thanks Deb for our wonderful and relaxing anniversary stay. We enjoyed a totally indulgent massage in the stunning day spa, an extraordinary 5 course dinner and a great sleep in the gorgeous Bali suite. All delivered with awesome service. Totally recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natcatnap

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
2,113 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
3,597 reviews
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step back in time to the world of ancient Japan 45 minutes from Melbourne. Secluded and indulgent. Five course Chef's tasting menu served in the Oriental lounge. New luxury Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse with mineral pool bathing. Sink into your private Japanese style spa overlooking your own private Japanese garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Address: 14 Mountain Cres, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Montrose
Price Range: $1,167 - $1,381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japanese Mountain Retreat Hotel Montrose
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa Montrose, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didnt stay overnight but would love to!”
 of 5 bubbles 779monicab, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the website”
 of 5 bubbles 409philipn, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All accommodation is excellent and each room is unique”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelD508, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book in advance its busy but stunning”
 of 5 bubbles Awesomeness888, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the Rooms are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles holliejade2015, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5