Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Balinese Retreat

14 Mountain Cres, Montrose, Victoria 3765 Australia
Traveller (33)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 ranch in Montrose
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Spa
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
50Reviews1Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Penni G wrote a review Mar 2016
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we checked in we felt so welcomed and cared for. The Staff couldn't do enough to make us relax and feel special. The entire place is World Class Architecture, design and spotlessly clean and well maintained. From the Accomodation, manicured gardens with water features to the mineral swimming pool, the Arabian Steam Temple and Roman Bathhouse to the Spa Treatment rooms all our expectations were exceeded. We recommend it highly and will definitely return. A big Thank you to Leyla for being an amazing Manager, Surinder who has magical hands, Pam who is the prettiest and loveliest Hostess and Michael's dishes were delicious Art. Everything was Five Star with a WOW factor and genuine care. Worth every dollar.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Balinese Retreat is incredible
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 3 July 2016
Dear Penni, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed so many of the facilities the resort offers and that your expectations were exceeded. I'm glad that the staff made you feel so special, we hope you return in the future. Kind regards, All of the team at the Balinese Retreat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt H wrote a review Jan 2016
Beveridge, Australia5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From checking in to out, me and my partner experienced service like no other. Beautiful scenery, lovely staff and the food was amazing! Did I mention beautiful scenery? It will be hard to find another place like it. Thanks Deborah, you were a delight.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't forget to turn on the garden lights at night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 18 Jan 2016
Thanks Matt, So glad you enjoyed the services and retreat so much. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, Deborah and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Desiree wrote a review Jan 2015
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the manager and escorted to the oriental lounge for welcome drinks. This was a good chance to just sit as we had just travelled 4 hrs.

After drinks we were given a tour of the new spa and bathhouse. The building is just beautiful. I could go on but you must see for yourself.

We were then taken to our balinese style villa. The bedroom and living space both have great views of the lagoons and private garden. The bathroom has a floor to ceiling window with great views of the private garden. The floor in the bedroom and bathroom is heated. Very cosy. The shower feels like you are in a tropical rain shower.

We then had a 1 hr couples massage. This was heaven. I floated back to our villa.

About an hour later we had a 5 course banquet. Every
course tasted great. I had wondered if I could get through 5 courses as we are not big eaters. It wasn't a problem. Delish delish delish.

After dinner we enjoyed an hour long soak in the private hot mineral spring. So relaxing.

We then made our way back to the villa and lazed on the super sized lounge and enjoyed the cheese platter that had been left for us earlier.

The next morning we enjoyed a spa then a 2 course breakfast in our villa. Again this was yummy. Fresh fruit and pancakes. Followed by eggs benedict and my partner had a big breakfast. We then took our time to pack our belongings as we had a late check out.

We totally enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 19 Oct 2015
Hi Des, Thank you for your review of your stay at the Balinese Retreat. Glad to here that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Kindest wishes, Balinese Retreat Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nazuel wrote a review Dec 2014
2 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 2 nights at the Balinese Retreat as a surprise for my wife’s 30th following our wonderful experience in Ubud-Bali 2 years earlier.

We were after a relaxing and private getaway and at over $1k per night, I was sure this would be an unforgettable experience. I was right, but for all the wrong reasons.

We’ve travelled a bit and have stayed in some amazing places around the world so our expectations were high given the price we were paying. Whilst location and facilities are important, it all means absolutely nothing if the service and food is 3rd class. Unfortunately this was the case with our experience at the Balinese Retreat.

After booking the getaway, I received multiple emails asking for my partner’s name (despite providing it when I booked) so they could personalise the experience. I don’t remember once being addressed by our names by any of the 2 staff (one was the owner!!) we met at the retreat; nor did we feel like the experience was personalised... in fact it was the opposite.

The place itself has been beautifully landscaped in a location that is perfect for relaxing. It was evident that the owners invested significantly in creating a visual experience but this was marred by several factors that are just not good enough when you are paying over $1k per night.

• There were cobwebs inside our room and we found several cockroaches and spiders (one on our bed).
• The mini-bar was non-existent. There was a fridge which had tap water in a jug. Again, just not good enough at these rates.

One of the attractions for my wife and I was the plunge spa facing the large floor to ceiling window overlooking the landscaped tropical garden. The staff guaranteed us that no staff or guest would be able to access the garden which was assuring to my wife and I. On the first day however, I observed a staff member walking out of the private garden. We did not report immediately as we were just reading and it did not bother us. On the second day however whilst my wife was getting undressed to take a bath, a man showed up and was lurking 5 meters from the bath window. My wife was extremely distressed by the experience. When I confronted the man and asked him why he was in the property, he told me he was there to fix the WiFi service. I told him I had not reported a WiFi problem and asked him to leave immediately. The next day, the owner explained that the man should have checked that there were guests before attending to the property. I found this explanation unsatisfactory and it points to a lack of professionalism.

As part of our package, my wife and I both received a complimentary 60 minute massage treatment which we upgraded to 90 minutes when we arrived – BIG MISTAKE! Whilst the first 60 minutes were ok, the remaining 30 was followed by one-handed mediocre massage which felt more like we were being pat like dogs. Both masseurs sounded like they were lip-talking to each other during the last 20 minutes.

Finally on the Food; with the exception of the breakfast pancakes which were quite tasty, we were not able to finish a single dish. Serving sizes were either too small or too big, crème-Brule was too eggy, pork crackling was rubbery... I could go on and on. We decided to eat out on the second night. We returned to find that all the lights leading us to our retreat (approx 100m down from the entrance) were switched off so it took us a while to get back safely with the help of our phone torch.

It is often the little things that make all the difference to an experience. I cannot recall the number of times we were encouraged to fork out over $500 for a personalised chef (boy were we glad we didn’t take this up after the first night’s meal). We were also surprised that they charged $20 extra per person if you wanted to have your meal in your room. Again, things you would expect as part of the experience... certainly not extra.

In summary, whilst we won’t be returning to the Balinese Retreat, we really hope the owners take this feedback into account to save others from the same unsatisfactory experience. I would suggest they employ some more experienced people to manage the establishment and bring some much needed professionalism in the service one expects when paying over $1k per night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 14 Jan 2015
We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations, however I would like to list the following for consideration. A $20 charge for room service is not unreasonable considering the kitchen is approximately 150 metres from the Balinese Retreat. Most guest use the restaurant so you do have a choice. There is no mini bar in the villa. We stock the fridge with complimentary wines, a cheese platter, soft drinks etc which are included in all packages. With regard to the food that night.. This was a Chef's tasting 5 course degustation menu. All other guests commented on the quality of the food on our feedback forms. Our chef has worked in some of the best establishments world wide. We did not see any food left on your plates so do not understand how you felt unable to enjoy it. We also do not understand your comment regarding Creme Brulee as the chef to date has not served Creme Brulee. The villa is in the middle of a forested area and insects do encroach on living spaces more than they do in a city. We have taken your comment re spider webs seriously and have re sprayed the interiors of the villa with barrier sprays to prevent them returning. The wifi incident was indeed regrettable. The technician did not request access to the exterior of the building. However our assistant manager did visit you and apologise within 10 minutes of finding out he had disturbed you. I myself appologised that evening and did tell you that we had no knowledge of him intending to go down to fix the Wifi. In nine years of the villa's operation we have only had one complaint about massage. All of our therapists come from international hotels and their treatments from guests feedbacks are taken very seriously. We did not receive any feedback from you regarding the treatment after your massage so were unable to offer another treatment to make up for your dissatisfaction. All of our team have been informed re your feedback. Regards, Deborah, Mark, Winnie and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah73 wrote a review Mar 2010
Melbourne58 contributions47 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked to stay at the Balinese Retreat for our first year anniversary. We were very excited and thought the $1400 price tag for one night was steep, but that it would be amazing and worth the price.

The venue itself was beautiful. It was very unique and special and we had a lovely time. However, unfortunately the lack of attention to detail and service really ruined the stay for us. Some of the things we thought weren't indicative of the price:
- No personal service (a letter addressed to Deborah & partner) in the room - as there is only 3 guests at any one time, this was not really acceptable
- The special lanterns that create the atmosphere weren't turned on, even after asking
- no crockery or cutlery to be found - eventually found in the dishwasher - not unpacked from the last guests
- the spa was terrible - it was so bad we thought it was broken, but when we called the owner down to look at it, she explained that was the best it could do 'because a larger pump is just too expensive'
- massage treatments (at additional expensive cost) were below average
- no late check out - not allowed to even ask as the answer is no
- owner complained when I went to pay by credit card that she would get stung with credit card charges
-owner couldn't remember why we were there (again, only ever 3 guests at a time, so this little stuff was important especially for the price)

The most disappointing thing however, was that I have provided feedback twice to the owners on our stay, which was really polite and very supportive and was given in a very positive spirit and yet they have never even acknowledged the feedback or provided any kind of response. Frankly, as I explained in my feedback, that at such premium prices, you expect both lovely surroundings and terrific service. In ths instance, the venue itself was beautiful but the service was terrible, and this has been compounded by the lack of care in any kind of reponse to the feedback provided.
I would recommend this if you were paying $300 for the night - not $1300.
Overall, the lack of service and care tuins what cold have been a beautiful and special getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ned C wrote a review July 2015
1 contribution13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn't belive the disregard the owner of this establishment. Even the smallest requests where ignored or refused out right.
I bought the "Balinese Retreat Deluxe Package" for $1600 per night. The room was responsible and the garden setting lovely however the amenities i would expect at a holiday in hotel. Basically the package included a welcome drink. Our host insisted we go ever though I'd come straight for work and need to freshen up and requested to go to our room.
So we went to the restaurant and where offered a beer, wine or a soft drink. I asked if they did cocktails. The answer was "yes". After requesting a martini and being asked "how do you make that" i excepted the beer and we where headed to our room. The room is a good 20 to 30 metres on gravel steeps. Happy to carry my own bags but our host and her staff not offer my partner help with her three bags is just poor form.
Request to have our meal in our room. The answer was simply "Meals are served in the restaurant".
Could we have our massages in our room? Again "no". later i noticed two massage tables in the cupboard???
The room has no Telstra signal, no telephone and wifi isn't provided.
Every time I spoke to a staff member they complained that they where really busy.
The Baliness themed room is internal clad in straw matting the works well in Bali however in Mount Dandenong it becomes damp and the musty odour made half the room uninhabitable for more than five to ten minutes.
Five star prices with two star service.
Debra, still waiting for the ash tray???
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ladyoflux wrote a review Feb 2011
Melbourne, Australia315 contributions108 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights after our wedding and the actual place looks lovely and is very private. However the owner has no warmth about her and made no attempt to make you feel welcome. We had a Thai banquet on one of the nights served by the lake and the food was good, but no one came to collect it and it was still there in the morning! We ended up bringing it back ourselves. For the price I would have expected a lot better service. A one night stay would have been more than adequate. Before this we'd stayed 2 nights at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne and enjoyed this experience about a thousand times better, for half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caitlin G wrote a review Apr 2015
Brisbane, Australia14 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, is this place Balinese, Japanese or middle eastern? The whole concept is strange, fake and tacky. My masseuse was rude and condescending - not what I was after when we paid over $220 for a 1 hour massage and half a hour in an Onsen spa. Absolutely not worth the money, massage was not great and the experience to be quite honest was disturbing. I would never go back to this place and I am a huge fan of massage.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 4 May 2015
Dear Briscns, You did not stay in the Balinese Retreat... you had a one hour massage and one hour outdoor hot mineral spring experience. You chose to leave the outdoor mineral spring early of your own choosing. We have 5 acres of landscaped gardens and lakes all with the focus on all things Eastern. Japanese and Balinese accommodation, the spa is Moroccan - from the Middle East a total eastern concept with no attention to detail missed - see our web sites. All of the design is based on traditional architectural building and great attention has been paid in making sure it is right. Of course I am sure Japanese or Balinese or Middle Eastern design is not everyones cup of tea but then all of our offerings our depicted in images on our web sites which you would have viewed prior to making your booking. We are not condescending to clients your therapist was in fact trying to give you helpful advice which you have been offended by. Your therapist is consistently given 'Exceeded expectation' feedback by clients. All of the team...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AussieStrategist wrote a review Dec 2014
Melbourne, Australia263 contributions293 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Occaisionally you find a real gem.

On arrival we were offered a drink whilst enjoying the magnificent gardens and waiting for our room.

Our villa was exactly as advertised, nicely appointed, with delightful views from both the bedroom and the living room. The bedroom overlooked a lagoon with a waterfall and the sitting room overlooked our private pavilion. The bathroom had a glass wall next to the spa which overlooked a private garden.

The villa came stocked with complimentary wine, soft drinks, cheese and biscuits and chocolates. Our package included massages, a thai banquet and breakfast. The meals were excellent.

Staff were friendly and attentive. They are soon to open a Turkish Spa and Bathhouse and we have already booked our return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 19 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review of the Balinese Retreat. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience so much and that you feel we have accurately depicted the villa. We look forward to your return to experience the new Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse now open. Kind regards, Deborah and all of the Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayanthan S wrote a review Nov 2014
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my 30th B'day surprise weekend getaway organised by my wife. When I got to the retreat I was absolutely speechless. The Balinese Spa and Retreat 2night stay package was was booked by my wife, our very own Balinese style villa was magnificent, and waking upto the view of the lake and the waterfall was breathtaking, it actully felt like we were in Bali.

From the point of checking in and checking out the service by the always friendly staff was fantastic, special mention to Debroeh and Vinnie, we will definitely see you guys soon. Felt very relaxed and refreshed by the end of our stay and made my 30th a very very memorable one :-). I Highly recommend this to all the couples out there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat
Responded 19 Jan 2015
Dear Jayanthan, Thankyou for writing a review of your experience. We are happy to know that your 30th Birthday was enjoyed so much. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely wife again one day. Kindest regards, Deborah, Mark, Winnie and all of the staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Deborah Q
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions
Hello, Thank you for your enquiry. We have one night stays starting from $1199.. two nights from $1999 Please see:our web site for full information regarding rates and packages. If you have a question please call me on 03 9737 0413 Kind regards, Deborah
Maria wrote a tip July 2019
21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Japanese room was great, inhouse spa and Japanese styled bed"
Read full review
Di Fine wrote a tip Nov 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balinese totally private, large, romantic, heated floor, amazing views"
Read full review
POS3R wrote a tip Dec 2017
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balinese Resort Room"
Read full review
Penni G wrote a tip Mar 2016
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Balinese Retreat is incredible"
Read full review
Matt H wrote a tip Jan 2016
Beveridge, Australia5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't forget to turn on the garden lights at night"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montrose area.
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMontrose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BALINESE RETREAT: Reviews (Montrose) - Photos of Ranch - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Balinese Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Balinese Retreat?
Nearby attractions include William Ricketts Sanctuary (3.3 km), Dandenong Ranges Botanic Garden (5.2 km), and Lilydale Lake (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Balinese Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Balinese Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Balinese Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Balinese Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balinese Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pig & Whistle Tavern, Hutch & Co, and Olinda Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balinese Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Balinese Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting William Ricketts Sanctuary (3.3 km).