We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Balinese Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Balinese Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much to the Team at the Balinese retreat! I'm not even sure where to begin, our experience exceeded all expectations, the gardens are immaculate and our retreat was incredible! Deb the owner was incredibly attentive and her customer service was the best I have experienced in a long time. The love, heart and soul that has gone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

From the moment we checked in we felt so welcomed and cared for. The Staff couldn't do enough to make us relax and feel special. The entire place is World Class Architecture, design and spotlessly clean and well maintained. From the Accomodation, manicured gardens with water features to the mineral swimming pool, the Arabian Steam Temple and Roman Bathhouse to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Penni G
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Penni, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed so many of the facilities the resort offers and that your expectations were exceeded. I'm glad that the staff made you feel so special, we hope you return in the future. Kind regards, All of the...

Beveridge, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016

From checking in to out, me and my partner experienced service like no other. Beautiful scenery, lovely staff and the food was amazing! Did I mention beautiful scenery? It will be hard to find another place like it. Thanks Deborah, you were a delight.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt H
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Matt, So glad you enjoyed the services and retreat so much. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, Deborah and Team

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Couldn't belive the disregard the owner of this establishment. Even the smallest requests where ignored or refused out right. I bought the "Balinese Retreat Deluxe Package" for $1600 per night. The room was responsible and the garden setting lovely however the amenities i would expect at a holiday in hotel. Basically the package included a welcome drink. Our host insisted...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ned C
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Firstly, is this place Balinese, Japanese or middle eastern? The whole concept is strange, fake and tacky. My masseuse was rude and condescending - not what I was after when we paid over $220 for a 1 hour massage and half a hour in an Onsen spa. Absolutely not worth the money, massage was not great and the experience to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Briscns
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Briscns, You did not stay in the Balinese Retreat... you had a one hour massage and one hour outdoor hot mineral spring experience. You chose to leave the outdoor mineral spring early of your own choosing. We have 5 acres of landscaped gardens and lakes all with the focus on all things Eastern. Japanese and Balinese accommodation, the spa...

Reviewed 30 March 2015

We loved every minute of our honeymoon. The villa was amazing and the grounds were gorgeous. It was private and secluded, peaceful and romantic. The food was delicious and the staff and service was perfect. Would love to come back for our anniversary, it was absolutely perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your honeymoon so much. The whole team here try very hard to ensure expectations are meet and exceeded. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you both good health and good fortune. Kind regards, All of the team...

Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the manager and escorted to the oriental lounge for welcome drinks. This was a good chance to just sit as we had just travelled 4 hrs. After drinks we were given a tour of the new spa and bathhouse. The building is just beautiful. I could go on but you must see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Des779
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Des, Thank you for your review of your stay at the Balinese Retreat. Glad to here that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Kindest wishes, Balinese Retreat Team

Reviewed 25 December 2014

I booked 2 nights at the Balinese Retreat as a surprise for my wife’s 30th following our wonderful experience in Ubud-Bali 2 years earlier. We were after a relaxing and private getaway and at over $1k per night, I was sure this would be an unforgettable experience. I was right, but for all the wrong reasons. We’ve travelled a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Nazuel
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations, however I would like to list the following for consideration. A $20 charge for room service is not unreasonable considering the kitchen is approximately 150 metres from the Balinese Retreat. Most guest use the restaurant so you do have a choice. There is no mini bar in...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Occaisionally you find a real gem. On arrival we were offered a drink whilst enjoying the magnificent gardens and waiting for our room. Our villa was exactly as advertised, nicely appointed, with delightful views from both the bedroom and the living room. The bedroom overlooked a lagoon with a waterfall and the sitting room overlooked our private pavilion. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AussieStrategist
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Balinese Retreat. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience so much and that you feel we have accurately depicted the villa. We look forward to your return to experience the new Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse now open. Kind regards, Deborah and all of the Team

Reviewed 23 November 2014 via mobile

It was my 30th B'day surprise weekend getaway organised by my wife. When I got to the retreat I was absolutely speechless. The Balinese Spa and Retreat 2night stay package was was booked by my wife, our very own Balinese style villa was magnificent, and waking upto the view of the lake and the waterfall was breathtaking, it actully felt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jayanthan S
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jayanthan, Thankyou for writing a review of your experience. We are happy to know that your 30th Birthday was enjoyed so much. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely wife again one day. Kindest regards, Deborah, Mark, Winnie and all of the staff

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
11.5 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
476 reviews
5.1 km away
Candlelight Mountain Retreats & Valley Ranges Getaways
3.4 km away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
3.5 km away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Balinese Retreat

Address: 14 Mountain Cres, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Montrose
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Balinese Retreat Montrose, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balinese Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Balinese Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Balinese Retreat is incredible”
 of 5 bubbles pennig2016, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget to turn on the garden lights at night”
 of 5 bubbles B4951WAmatth, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you want to spend quality time with your partner this is the place”
 of 5 bubbles 466carolinec, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
“If your looking for somewhere private and relaxing this place is that and more”
 of 5 bubbles donnac815, 16 Nov 2013 | Read review
“anywere the entire place is amzing”
 of 5 bubbles BillySchroeder, 4 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5