Charlie Bates Cottage
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Charlie Bates Cottage

39 South Terrace, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222 Australia
Traveller (18)
Charlie Bates Cottage - Penneshaw Kangaroo Island
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#1 of 1 cottage in Penneshaw
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Historic restored stone cottage with magnificent ocean views minutes from the beach and ferry. Fully equipped with everything for your perfect holiday. Modern kitchen,spacious bathroom, quality bedding, washing machine, clothes dryer, feed wallabies at night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Hiking
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
18Reviews0Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
welky2016 wrote a review Aug 2020
Port Augusta, Australia6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 5 nights in August 2020 from Charlie Bates website, photos on website looked amazing and the perfect location. We have stayed in quite a few old style cottages as we love the history behind them and expect that these places will have some issues but Charlie Bates cottage would be the worse place we have stayed. The cottage needs lots of maintenance and a really good clean.
When arriving there was a strong smell in cottage which I assumed was due to age and maybe being shut up for a while, had to open up windows/doors which helped but still had smell once all shut up again.
Walls had large cracks and lots of salt damp damage with the plaster peeling of walls in large sections and sand piles each side of the fire place. Window in bedroom had large crack between frame and wall that the wind blew straight in.
Lounge, cushions and curtains were dirty and stained, unable to close curtains properly as broken/missing rings.
Kitchen was nice but all cupboards needed cleaning, oven had control buttons missing was dirty and oven trays had old oil/grease on them, saucepans/plates/cups needed washing before use, there was what looked like mouse droppings in drawer.
Unable to use heater in dining area as when turned on smelt like something dead in it.
Bathroom was large and modern but shower was mouldy and had hair in it, claw foot bath was dirty and rusty around plug hole, did not use.
No vacuum cleaner/mop provided/ cleaning supplies only a broom which has been well used. Laundry was nice and large & having 2 toilets was good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Balhannah_12 wrote a review Oct 2012
Adelaide, Australia5 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Throughly enjoyed our recent stay at Charlie Bates Cottage. Cottage very well situated for all Penneshaw has to offer. Wallabies visited every night for piece of banana, Fairy penguins just down the road on the foreshore and woke to the sound of bellbirds singing every morning. We would heartily recommend the Ironstone Hill Hike starting at the end of Frenchman's Terrace just 5 mins from the cottage, saw loads of dolphins and wallabies.

Cottage amenities very good our only criticisms were that the cottage was extremely cluttered, so much so there was no room for our stuff and that the more extensive cleaning, under the bed, unused crockery, French dresser had not been done in a while.

Overall we would definitely recommend staying at Charlie Bates cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karren61 wrote a review May 2016
Mebourne100 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really looking forward staying here at the start of our week on Kangaroo Island. I think it's fair to say that what is represented on the website is not what we found. Its one thing to be historic but that shouldn't mean that that it should be in disrepair.
Cracks in the walls, general shabby appearance. An overall feeling like the whole house needed a facelift and a steam clean and some tlc! This cottage has a renovation circa? Maybe 1980's that just doesn't work. Very, odd and not really pleasant.
A claw bath that had rust stains- a little different than described. We had high hopes for our first 2 nights on KI here, frankly we were so disappointed we left after the first night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nadia T, Owner at Charlie Bates Cottage
Responded 26 May 2016
Hi Karren, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the cottage, I was surprised to read on Tripadvisor that you left after the first night as you didn't notify us that you were unhappy with the accommodation at all. The cottage is over 100 years old and whilst I certainly agree that standards need to be upheld we are also bound by heritage laws in place to not rectify or change certain parts of the original cottage. The additions to the house are clearly visible on all the the photos on the internet, they include a kitchen, bathroom, additional toilet and laundry area. Charlie Bates Cottage provides budget, historic accommodation for travelers to Kangaroo Island, we are one of the cheapest self contained homes in Penneshaw. We will certainly have someone to attend to the overgrown bouganvillea on the porch, thank you for bringing that to our attention however I am not able to fix wind blowing off a BBQ cover during the recent winds in between cleaning and your stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on Kangaroo Island. Kind regards Nadia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FamilyOz2014 wrote a review Jan 2020
Kawana, Australia15 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked through Charlie Bates' website, and paid by credit card. When we got to the island, the cottage was already let to somebody else. We had to find emergency accomodation on the day, which caused a lot of trouble. We still haven't got a refund, even though we contacted the owner numerous times. The owner was anything but helpful, and seemed bothered by the fact that we were asking for a refund. We are now taking legal action to recover our expenses.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karen t wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The property could have been amazing but it was in need of cleaning and in need of repair. The toilet seat was dirty,the fireplace had no wood, the 'airconditioner was older than me and in no fit state to turn on.
We are not fussy people and just wanted a clean little place to stay for a few days, made other arrangements as could not contact maintenance man, or send email to owner
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LinF wrote a review Mar 2024
32 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with our Daughter & Son in law for 3 nights. We absolutely adored the cottage. I’ve never stayed anywhere before so well equipped. It has everything you could possibly need & more. It’s a very homely historical cottage, tastefully furnished & very comfortable. The views of the beach are amazing & just a 15 minute walk to local shops, pub. I loved that there was a framed picture of Charles Bates & Ellen Bates taken in 1912 hanging in the lounge, so much so that we went to the local cemetery to find where they now rest. Beautiful stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
margwillc01 wrote a review Nov 2020
Adelaide, Australia36 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had a 5 night stay here and loved it. The front verandah overlooks the harbour. Character filled clean and 2 toilets so perfect for family. Really recommend it. Easy walk to the beach and a perfect base to explore K I from
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaxwellM wrote a review Sept 2009
Adelaide52 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Charlie Bates Cottage for three nights in September. I really enjoyed myself especially the cosy open fire that I had each night. I cooked a great steak on the barbecue on the front verandah while I watched the ferry come and go from Penneshaw. Later on in the night I had some wallabies visit the front lawn for a feed which I thought was great, it provided everything I would have expected and more. The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to provide all the things needed for a comfortable holiday on Kangaroo Island. I felt very refreshed after my stay and was a little sad I had to leave.
The Penneshaw Hotel is also good for an evening meal and I went there for one nights feed, and enjoyed sitting outside on their verandah, and they had a good range of KI wine by the glass.
Well done Charlie!!
Maxwell - Adelaide S.A
Read more
Date of stay: September 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ILYA_PACH wrote a review Jan 2015
Sydney, Australia93 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This cottage has a convenient location 3 mins drive from Penneshaw ferry terminal. The bedrooms are very small, but the biggest problem we had was with the way it was prepared for our arrival.

We were in shock when we discovered sand and gravel on the bed-sheets. It looked like they were not washed after previous resident. We had to wash them ourselves, which ruined the mood of the first day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cynful2no wrote a review Apr 2013
alabama317 contributions220 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Kangaroo Island has limitations on lodging. We were here during low season, which meant that some places and restaurants were closed. I don't generally like to cook when on vacation and we ended up using the kitchen on this trip. not super clean kitchen. The main problem with this cottage was that it was not clean. There were multiple gobs of hair in the shower, crumbs all over the kitchen tablecloth, there were dust bunnies in all the rooms, crumbs on the sofas, and cobwebs in the bathroom. I actually tried not to look closely at things because I was grossed out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Eva wrote a tip Jan 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book it."
Read full review
Bill B wrote a tip Sept 2019
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia24 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Historic Home"
Read full review
Tom S wrote a tip June 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Two bedrooms"
Read full review
Grace_Tom wrote a tip Feb 2016
Melbourne9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Main bedroom is the best"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Penneshaw area.
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandPenneshaw
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARLIE BATES COTTAGE: 2024 Reviews (Kangaroo Island) - Photos of Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Charlie Bates Cottage
Which popular attractions are close to Charlie Bates Cottage?
Nearby attractions include Penneshaw Penguin Centre (0.9 km), Kangaroo Island Sculpture Trail (0.8 km), and Lashmar Conservation Park (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Charlie Bates Cottage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and fishing.
Is parking available at Charlie Bates Cottage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charlie Bates Cottage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunset Food and Wine, Dudley Wines, and Millie Mae's Pantry.
Are there any historical sites close to Charlie Bates Cottage?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Frenchman's Rock Penneshaw (0.9 km) and Frenchman's Rock (0.9 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars