Sunrise On Falie Court
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sunrise On Falie Court

Lot 4 Falie Court, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221 Australia
Traveller (32)
View from Room (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 villa in American River
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Property amenities
Street parking
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Room features
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
15Reviews0Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed for 5 nights in Penthouse 3 which has an accessible bathroom / shower as well as an on-suite in the main bedroom.
We were greeted by Kevin, the owner, and although we arrived early and the unit was still being cleaned we were able to drop our bags while we visited the township.

An excellent view was the first thing noted. (and how steep the driveway is!)

All you needed is here in the unit with a full size fridge, oven and stove top cooking facilities. Internet access and local TV.

On the second morning we were greeted by the local Echidna which makes its home next to the driveway.

Very comfortable digs! Worth a visit particularly with a mobility impaired guest (we just rolled up a few of the hessian floor mats so the floor was nice and flat and no problems, although the bedroom sliding doors may be a bit heavy for someone in a wheelchair travelling on their own.)

American River is a great base from which to see the island.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Penthouse 3 has the best views and the easiest access
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Matthews, Owner at Sunrise On Falie Court
Responded 28 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review and yes we also love living here with our native friends. I built the deck, ramps and gardens to attract and provide the wildlife (echidna's, wallabies, goannas, birds etc) homes and food supplies as well. Kevin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andynick5109 wrote a review June 2021
Adelaide, Australia31 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely few days at Sunrise on Failie. Kevin & Yvonne were very friendly and helpful and the apartment (No 2) was very clean, spacious and comfortable and had a full kitchen with pretty well everything thought of in order to make our stay an enjoyable one. There's even a coffee machine and some coffee to boot! The windows are all double-glazed which makes it considerably warmer than outside through the day. No doubt it will help keep you cooler longer in summer. There is a laundry available too should you outlast your clean clothes which can come in very handy. Views are lovely and, if you like peace and quiet and communing with nature, then this should suit you very well.

American River is sheltered from the prevailing winds, in winter at least, and it is half an hour's drive to both Penneshaw and Kingscote. We had dinners at the Mercure and Wanderer's Rest, both of which are a short walk from the accommodation, and they were very good. If you are on a budget then just bring your provisions over on the ferry and the fully-equipped kitchen will serve you extremely well.

Kevin & Yvonne are justifiably proud of 'Sunrise' and are very relaxed and welcoming. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just be aware that the driveway is quite steep for units 2 & 3!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marija j wrote a review July 2020
35 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed with friends we each had our own apartment that could sleep between 4-6 people each. Everything you need if you want to cook. Coffee machine even for real coffee grounds yeah!!
Just bring your food, yourself, your bathers or coat depending on the season. Everything else is supplied. The largest appartment was our hub and we shared meals, enjoy the view, played Rummicub and cards, as well as some Netflix...our favourite Eurovision Movie.. fantastic.
So many things to do with family or on your own. Tobogan down the sand dunes, check out the raptors or bees, explore the beaches & hidden caves, taste beer at the brewery at Kangaroo Island Brewery with an organic vegan wine or beer, taste beautiful wines at a few wineries like Bay of Shoals or Dudley or False Cape Wineries..so helpful and friendly. The pub food is delicious, try the Rango schnitzel at Penneshaw Hotel.
If you just want to have a coffee and relax you can..no stress.
If you need supply go to IGA at Penneshaw or larger Drake's at Kingscote.
Our hosts Yvonne and Kevin are so friendly and knowledgeable about KI and can connect you with whoever or wherever you want to go. Highly recommended place to stay ❤️ We will be back for longer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pablo M wrote a review June 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t try to book this place if we’re still in pandemic. We were forced to cancel the booking because of Covid-19 border closure, the owner refused to refund the total cost despite he was able to book some days to other local people. My recommendation is to avoid this host and also booking.com app. Go straight to airbnb, the customer service is much better and hosts are reliable and fair players (we had the full refund for all the other hosts booked by airbnb).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Matthews, Owner at Sunrise On Falie Court
Responded 1 July 2021
When the reviewer cant even put their name to their comments that tells its own story. We offer a choice of refundable last minute cancellation prices and non refundable prices. If you are coming from interstate choose the option that gives a refund even at the last minute if you cant get to us. Even with non refundable prices we refund cleaning and gst and if we can rebook the room we refund that as well. We also offer to move the booking to a later date. We give guests a choice. We do our best to help guests as the hundreds of reviews at 9/10 level show and can prove - check out booking.cm reviews at 9.2 out of 10 if any doubt. I built these, own them and manage them Kevin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
colleencanberra wrote a review Nov 2020
canberra409 contributions160 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the 2 bedroom apartment No 1 which is directly under the owners apartment. The owners were very helpful with lots of information on where to go and what to see. We saw the resident echidna one night which was great. Saw the black cockatoos which are endangered. The apartment was easy to find, our parking spot was near the road. Easy access to the apartment which was very clean and tidy. I appreciated the little things like oil, salt n pepper etc which makes life so much easier when away on holidays. The bed was very comfy. There was a washing line nearby so I could get our washing dry easily. Everything we needed was provided in the apartment. Loved the coffee machine, much appreciated. The view over the water was lovely from the very comfy lounge. The walk along the waters edge to view the 80 approx black swans was delightful. We had a great dinner at the Mecure hotel which is in walking distance. I would love to go back and stay a bit longer. I recommend Sunrise on Falie to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barra18 wrote a review Dec 2020
Kangaroo Island, Australia28 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An amazing place to stay. Kevin & Yvonne have put a lot of thought in building these very comfortable units that have all you need for a lovely stay. American River is situated in a great place with easy access to all areas of the island. Do yourself a favour and visit KI and stay at these very lovely units. Thank you Kevin & Yvonne for looking after us so well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brianne wrote a review June 2020
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 apartments and had the best stay! They were clean and had a great view of the river! We had the most beautiful sunrise from our bedroom window.

We made friends with the owner and he brought us back some whiting fish. He then battered and cooked it for us one night!! It was so delicious.

We went in winter and the apartments had great heating with instant hot water. They also had a dishwasher and Netflix on the tv which was great!

Kevin recommended going to the fish and chip shop in Kingscote for lunch, it’s next to the Caltex, this was one of the best fish I’ve had. I would also recommend going to KIS gin.

We were lucky that most places had just opened up after the covid shutdown.....so we had no problems making bookings for lunch or wine tasting.

I would definitely come stay here again, it was so peaceful and relaxing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine C wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 4 and puppy Ollie were lucky enough to stumble upon Sunrise on Falie when searching for accommodation on KI. The accommodation was excellent with its location offering river views on one side and beautiful Australian bush on the other. From the moment we arrived Yvonne and Kevin made us feel welcome, which then extended to compassionate and supportive when our stay was unexpectedly extended due to poor weather. We are so grateful for the comfort of the apartment, it was truly a home away from home and a wonderful base for our stay on KI!
Catherine, Jason and co ❤️❤️🐾
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie W wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A large group of friends hired all 3 of the Sunrise on Faley apartments for a 3 day weekend..being a short escape from Adelaide. It was a fantastic time away.
American River is an ideal location to stay at as its quite central to everything and a beautiful area offering some lovely local experiences...ie the Oyster shack...not to be missed!
Kevin and Yvonne were wonderful hosts and extremely knowledgeable of life on the island and things to do.
The accomadation was extremely comfortable and suited all of our needs.. and the Sunrise in the mornings is particularly beautiful....with a wonderful view over the bay. It's a peaceful and meditative experience observing that every morning!.
Overall fell in love with the place and would thoroughly recomnend it as a place to stay..we will return!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KWa wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great time & feeling relaxed. Fantastic views of the ocean and a stunning area to explore. Hosts are very friendly and helpful with hints and tips on all the great places to explore on the island. The recent fires didn’t get to American River and now the rains have come, most areas that have burnt out are regenerating at an amazing rate. Stunning to see nature doing its thing after what has appeared to be a disaster.
Apartment is spacious and plenty of room for our dogs. Millie (the resident dog) loves the extra company and played with our girls.
Well worth a look and a stay and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
1234MandP wrote a tip July 2023
Mildura, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ferry well in advance"
Read full review
Jaya1460 wrote a tip Mar 2023
33 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the view from the penthouse is worth the extra cost the beds and pillows are a delight!"
Read full review
Steve C wrote a tip Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Penthouse 3 has the best views and the easiest access"
Read full review
Andynick5109 wrote a tip June 2021
Adelaide, Australia31 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just be aware that the driveway is quite steep for units 2 & 3!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the American River area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$293 - AU$359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandAmerican River
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNRISE ON FALIE COURT (AU$293): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Kangaroo Island) - Photos of Villa - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise On Falie Court
Which popular attractions are close to Sunrise On Falie Court?
Nearby attractions include The Oyster Farm Shop (1.6 km), Rebuild Independence Group (1.7 km), and Drift On Bliss (1.3 km).
What food & drink options are available at Sunrise On Falie Court?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunrise On Falie Court?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunrise On Falie Court?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oyster Farm Shop, Reflections Restaurant, and The Deck Cafe On The Wharf.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunrise On Falie Court?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Frenchman's Rock Penneshaw (15.7 km) and Frenchman's Rock (15.7 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars