Clouds Mapleton
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clouds Mapleton

136-146 Flaxton Dr, Mapleton, Queensland 4560 Australia
Traveller (119)
Our group of 4 cabins, 2 in front (11 and 12), 2 to the rear; the first ones along the driveway.
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#2 of 3 campsites in Mapleton
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set high in the Sunshine Coast's pristine Blackall Range, Clouds Mapleton is a natural and serene retreat nestled amongst 30 acres of gardens and tropical rain-forest. Clouds Mapleton is perfectly positioned to explore the region, with Kondalilla Falls, Mapleton Falls, Lake Barroon, the galleries, boutiques and restaurants of Montville and Maleny, Australia Zoo, The Glasshouse Mountains, the beaches and estuaries of the Sunshine Coast and the Sunshine Coast airport all located within a 30 minute drive. The site has been lovingly refurbished by Clouds Retreats to provide self contained cedar cabins and larger homesteads. It is the ideal location for families, couples and ceremonial or corporate gatherings to soak up the rustic charm of this unique hideaway. Clouds Mapleton is the natural choice for rejuvenation, re-connection, and relaxation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
Patio
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Parking
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Wine / champagne
Table tennis
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Chapel / shrine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
On-demand films
Radio
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
196Reviews2Q+A44Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 48
  • 17
  • 21
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ray S wrote a review June 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For the price per night for the room I would not have called it great value. The room was very good, clean, well appointed and comfortable. The A/C used to heat the room sounded like a small aircraft trying to land for about the first hour then quieted down. The grounds of the property were in need of a serious clean up, the area they called a lawn bowls area was a mess and the dead cane toad in the pool didn't make that a very attractive option albeit way too cold anyway. overall I would not have said it was worth the money but given lack of availability for any accommodation up there, they can get away with charging outrageous prices for pretty ordinary accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike W wrote a review July 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booking and check-in was easy. Went there in winter. While driving there, we did miss the entrance a few times - the entrance is a little bit before what google maps suggests. The cottage we stayed in was comfortable, clean; linen, bathroom supplies, torch, cutlery, cook stove, tea and coffee provided. The gas fireplace was really nice. Comfortable and quiet atmosphere. Parking available on the spot.
Downside was the fridge was making a loud noise and cupboard space was small with no shelves. The outdoor pool was closed but nothing was said on the website when we booked.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rkirb5 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The homestead catered for all of our needs and is close to everything we wanted to go to. Nice walk to Mapleton and great views. Easy place to relax, enjoy the views and food. Great area to visit. Watch out for the huntsmen spiders!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gecko24 wrote a review July 2021
Brisbane, Australia668 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a delightful place to stay. The cabins are in small groups and well appointed with a comfy bed, couch, TV with Netflix, table and chairs indoors and on a small patio outside, and bathroom. It is a small, full kitchen with 2 burner electric hotplates, sink, half size fridge (but unusually with a decent size freezer - wish more motels with bar fridges had this style), combination microwave so you could heat up pizza e.g., if you wished, and the usual kettle, toaster, basic crockery, cutlery, and pots you need. As a bonus there is an electric frypan, salt and pepper were provided, and decent quantities of washing up liquid with a teatowel. The hot water in the shower was strong and hot. Free wifi is provided though we did not use it so can't comment. Our own mobile phones had reasonable reception and so so internet reception in the cabin.

There is a gas fire (don't mistake it for a wood one) which has exact instructions to follow and heated the cabin beautifully. Our friends were in a neighbouring cabin and did have issues with the hotplates and fire switch not working. There is also an air conditioner for heating (and cooling) however.

The property is set on several acres of rainforest - the walk to the small waterfall at the bottom, is steep in places and slippery underfoot with mossy rocks and sticks and vines to trip you. If it has been wet, like when we visited, be prepared for red mud on shoes. It is about 450m each way. There is a pool (closed being winter) and a lawn bowls court and BBQ in the grounds near the convention centre area. There is also a very pretty chapel with a stained glass window and reception centre. Car parking is near the cabins under shade sails (or similar) so would be protected in case of hail.

Location is handy to the Mapleton shops and pub (we had a delicious meal Monday night on a day when many places are closed) and just down the road from Flaxton and Montville.

We did have noisy neighbours to the rear our last night who could be heard inside, so if full, this might be the only drawback, but not atypical for any motel or grouped cabins. Overall, we can only highly recommend and hope to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LE B wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The booking and check in process was easy(a lockbox onsite for electronic door key pickup using an emailed code). When I phoned reception they picked up quickly and were very helpful. The unit was a two bedroom and it was beautifully appointed. It was quite modern, very clean and being a garden unit it had everything you need for a family stay as it was a kind of forest lodge. The outside setting was a lovely rain forest setting making you feel you are in deep rain-forest even though the main road was only a 100 meters away. It was lovely and quiet and the parking was covered and easy. They have rain forest bush walking tracks on site and the sense of quiet was lovely. We were at Clouds Mapelton and the buffet breakfast was at Clouds Montville. This breakfast was very nice also. Nice food and nice service....easy! If you want peace and quiet this is for you.
The only problem we had which somewhat annoying, was mobile phone/wireless internet coverage. We have Vodafone and the reception was patchy at best and none at worst. I suspect this was because we were down from the road in a dip. I had to walk to a high spot in the grounds to get any bars on my phone. I guess being off the grid overnight has it's benefits but having to watch free to air TV and put up with repeated ads for the latest reality TV shows is not one of them ;-) The Flat screen TV was a good one.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You could not really specify any preference that I remember. Most are similar.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea B wrote a review Nov 2020
Hawks Nest, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While we loved the look of the renovated cabin, the presentation of the grounds and cleanliness needs attention!
I went to have a swim in the pool but it was dirty, the paint is badly peeling in the pool and the surrounds are not kept tidy.
There's renos happening in the units so theres a skip bin full of rubbish near the pool.
No onsite manager meant I had to email about the 24-7 lighting from the empty adjoining cabin shining during the night, straight into our bed.
There were heaps of dead bugs in our bed under the pillows and over 10 spiders in the bathroom.
I'm really disappointed as it could be such a nice place!
Theres a scrub turkey which was quite entertaining to watch making the biggest pile of leaves and branches in the carpark / garden entry to the cabins, best part of the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kent Fallon, Other at Clouds Mapleton
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Hi andreabE4551JV, Thank you for your feedback, we’re glad to hear you loved the renovations we have undertaken to date! And most definitely we are open and continue to welcome people for a stay at Clouds. We are very sorry to hear there were parts of your stay that you were disappointed with though. We’ve reviewed your feedback and would like to advise: * our pool is cleaned regularly, however as we are in a bushland setting it is difficult to keep leaves out all the time. We are also investigating further improvements that we can make to the pool as part of our renovations in the near future; * we have ensured when renovations are occurring that the skip is relocated away from any buildings currently used for accommodation; * we do operate with an off-site manager who is available via phone for any queries our guests have; * we have installed shades to ensure the lights you noted do not shine directly into the accommodation; * the number of insects surprised us as each home is cleaned before each guests arrives. And while it is a bush setting, we have discussed the concern with our cleaning staff and increased spot checks. We are glad the scrub turkey gave you such entertainment! It’s nice to sometimes have that connection to nature. Hopefully we will get to see you again soon. - The Clouds Retreats team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara P wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the homestead to get ready for my wedding and for my bridesmaids to stay in the night of the wedding. The house was beautiful, lovely and clean with comfortable bedding. The communication leading up to the event was timely and we were able to secure an early check-in which made the whole experience even better.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William M wrote a review Aug 2021
Brisbane, Australia25 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Four couples stayed for one night in the 1 bedroom cabins (units 9-12). The cabins were to a very high standard. Clouds Mapleton is located in a very handy place, the accommodation itself is great, and interaction with reception ( not located in Clouds Mapleton itself) was very professional. We all thought it was really good. Add in the great manager at the Mapleton Tavern and the weekend was a grand success.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Estelle S wrote a review June 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The cottage was clean, warm and all we required for an overnight stay. The gas fire heater ensured we weren’t cold despite the cold and rainy weather. Will definitely visit again as the surrounds are beautiful with the gorgeous rainforest trees.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa S wrote a review June 2022
Brisbane, Australia20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Relaxing, quiet and cosy.
The cabins were recently renovated due to flooding and we stayed in cabin 10. New floors, paint, furniture, the works and this place really delivered! An induction cooktop, microwave, fridge, tv, couch and of course the fire place!

I am so glad we stayed here.

My partner had actually paid for this night away way back in January 2021 for my birthday and the day we were driving up to Mapleton, Brisbane went into lockdown. A massive thank you to the management team who honoured our booking and told us to use the night we had paid for at any time.
It took 18 months for the stars to align and for us to find a date where we could finally stay the night and there was no issue with it being so long after the original date.

The facilities were great! Close to shops though you do have to drive. No public transport no Uber or taxis but driving into the towns is quick with montville only 10 minutes away.

We would stay here again in a heart beat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Michelle M
Coolum Beach, Australia188 contributions32 helpful votes
Unfortunately what I said was true and we would not go back there - without first going to inspect the place to see that some maintenance had been done. We love the Sunshine coast hinterlands and go up there regularly for a day trip/holiday, that's what saved the holiday for us a wonder part of the world :-)
LE B wrote a tip Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You could not really specify any preference that I remember. Most are similar."
Read full review
Vanessa J wrote a tip July 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take an extra blanket in winter."
Read full review
Janelle P wrote a tip July 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to some of the best rainforest in Qld"
Read full review
Leon A wrote a tip June 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a girls weekend away with friends this is ideal"
Read full review
acampbell714 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Brisbane, Australia42 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are separate huts, not a bad room to choose from"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mapleton area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$200 - AU$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clouds Tanglewood
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastMapleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Clouds Mapleton (AU$200) - 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clouds Mapleton
Which popular attractions are close to Clouds Mapleton?
Nearby attractions include Kondalilla Falls (4.0 km), Baroon Pocket Dam (7.0 km), and Mapleton Falls National Park (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clouds Mapleton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Clouds Mapleton?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clouds Mapleton?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Clouds Mapleton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clouds Mapleton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Waffle-On Stroopwafels, The Barn on Flaxton, and Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clouds Mapleton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Clouds Mapleton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Mapleton.
Does Clouds Mapleton offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Clouds Mapleton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glenferna Farmhouse (14.8 km).