We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppers Manor House

Save
Share
Kater Road, Sutton Forest, New South Wales 2577 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
USD 266
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (259)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (27)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Peppers Manor House is set on a beautiful Southern Highlands estate and provides an experience of life and leisure at one of Australia's grand country houses. Built in 1926, the house was originally home to the Katers, a pioneering grazing family, and has retained its original country charm. During winter, an open fire burns continually in the Great Hall and in summer meals are served in a leafy courtyard with drinks by the pool. Wake up refreshed and enjoy the views of the estate from your elegantly appointed room or suite. The setting is tranquil, the decor charmingly luxe. Highland Queen Rooms, Highland King Rooms, Garden Wing Deluxe, Garden Wing Suites and the Elizabeth Broughton Suite (in the original master bedroom), form part of the historic home, with an adjacent Garden Wing taking full advantage of the country views.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Game room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Tennis court
Billiards
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1559Reviews3Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 700
  • 546
  • 188
  • 78
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lara F wrote a review 17 Jan
Bungendore, Australia32 contributions
My husband and I booked into the Peppers Manor House at short notice, due to another facility having to close after staff contracted COVID-19, and while their prices were high, I decided that the grandeur of what was advertised as Peppers Manor House would be worth the additional money to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. Unfortunately, I was mistaken and the disappointments started once our booking was confirmed. When booking the stay over the phone, I was asked if I wanted to add a full buffet breakfast for $28 to which I agreed. Once I received the confirmation paperwork though, it listed breakfast at $28 per person, per day, much more than I expected to be paying. When we addended the breakfast buffet most bain-marie dishes were empty and the eggs and beans that were available looked like they had been there for hours The sausages tasted like they were reheated from days before and tasted terrible. Once more food became available, the food quality just wasn’t what we were expecting to the point where we cancelled dinner reservations at their restaurant and found elsewhere to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday dinner. We even checked out and left without subjecting ourselves to the disappointment of their breakfast buffet again on the second morning, but still paid for it, despite requesting a refund. When booking the stay, I asked about room service and I was assured that it was available, but there was no room service option. In fact the receptionist on arrival was quite rude, not a great first impression. We were given no information about the hotel and it’s facilities at all. Our room had an overwhelming stench of mould which stayed in spite of airing out the room for hours. There were large spiderwebs throughout our room. The pillowcase wasn’t big enough to cover the pillow and I ended up sleeping with my head resting on whatever the yellow stains were on the actual pillow. Given the times we are all living through at the moment, I cannot fathom how this could be sanitary. The blackout blinds advertised for the room were far from it. There was no way to prevent sunlight streaming into the room which woke us around 5am each morning during a time where we were meant to be sleeping in and relaxing. The television was not able to receive any channels for the majority of our second day. The fridge was tiny and didn’t even have the bar for the drinks rail on it, so we couldn’t keep our drink for the evening cold and there was no mini bar as advertised. Despite a daily room service being advertised this was not completed. When we asked about this at reception, we were pointed to a piece of paper mentioning something about rooms not being serviced due to COVID-19. Why advertise this service if it is no longer being done? We were able to obtain fresh towels, as we had left ours on the floor because there was nowhere to hang them. The quality of the room is so far below what we expected from the price we paid. Given the advertising material, the price, and the grandeur of Peppers Manor House, we were expecting a much more impressive room than the one we stayed in. We had the cleaning trolley parked outside our French doors on the veranda, which detracted from the tranquillity of the bush setting advertised. We did move this trolley out of the way on the first afternoon and it was placed back there again the next morning. There were stains on the carpet of our room which made us concerned about walking around without shoes, again not something we expected during these deep clean requirements. One of the doors to the closet didn’t function at all which made it very difficult to try and use to store our bags. While the Lodge and grounds are indeed spectacular, the parking for our room wasn’t great. Bar staff could not make one of the cocktails from the menu, after my husband informed the bar attendant that the items she was preparing were not what is meant to be in the Long Island Iced Tea, and were not what was listed on the menu we ordered from. She started again and we got something resembling the order, but without the cola which made it super strong and undrinkable. My husband ordered a $22 nip of Wild Turkey bourbon again to enjoy for his 50th and this was short poured because the bottle was emptied during the pour. Despite having another bottle, the bar attendant didn’t open the new bottle to complete the measure, but instead poured what was in the measurer into the glass effectively short pouring a very expensive drink. They advertise a billiards room, however, when we finally found the games room there was a very, very small pool table jammed into a pokey room. After putting all of these issues down in writing and reflecting on our stay the word that keeps coming into my head is Disappointing, especially when I consider the price we paid for this stay and the expectations I had based on the advertising. I emailed Peppers our feedback, and received a reply email sincerely apologising for letting us down and thanking us for our feedback which they said they will take on board and use it as an opportunity to improve their service standards. They have also offered us a complimentary one night stay at our leisure so they can share their improvements with us once implemented. So I can’t fault Peppers Manor Lodge on their after customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kellie Stapleton, General Manager at Peppers Manor House
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I understand you are currently disappointed, quite justifiably, however, perhaps in the future you could let us a know a convenient date to return. Warm regards The Peppers Manor House Team
Read more
Tracey D wrote a review 9 Jan
1 contribution
We stayed here 7/01/2022. The room was dirty, cobwebs and spiders. The carpet and curtains are filthy. The bed is so uncomfortable and so are the pillows Breakfast was dreadful and to add further insult, we were offered a barista coffee (which was awful) only to find out at checkout we had to pay for it! Seriously don’t bother staying here everything is so run down and dated and just filthy
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kellie Stapleton, General Manager at Peppers Manor House
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Tracey. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at Peppers Manor House. We are extremely disappointed that we have let you down and your stay was less than acceptable. We take all feedback very seriously and are very disappointed about your lack of support during your stay. Rest assured I will share your feedback with our team and ensure we improve. Thank you for your comments and allowing us to improve.
Read more
babydollq wrote a review Dec 2021
Sydney, Australia220 contributions75 helpful votes
Our 1st impression was how majestic and beautiful the grounds were with the Manor House on it. Until... NEGATIVES, there are few: - Reception on arrival, the woman who greeted us was clearly inexperienced in quality customer service. She did not bother to ask if we were paying credit or debit and thus overcharged us by putting the room charge through as credit. When I complained about this she did not even apologise or show any care! Furthermore, she did not bother to advise us of the electronic compendium or advise of the access to amenities, times of the restaurant and other food options. - The Manor House shared spaces were not as clean as they should have been; dirty tables, crumbs on chairs, dead flies on furniture. - THE Highlands King Room: what a disappointment. > Cobwebs in every corner and in the bathroom there were 2 daddy-longlegs in long term residence; > Cracks all over the walls and cornices. Some looked like repairs had started and not finished but most were just a mangled mess of peeling paint and cracking/splitting plaster; > The bathroom is extremely small, not a problem for us but if you are a larger person you may find it a very uncomfortable experience for your ablutions; > Toilet roll holder could not be accessed if you hung your towels on the towel rail above it. Clearly now thought or planning has gone into the placing of the towel rail so towels can be dried. Here is an idea, I give this for free, get rid of the rusting heater that is not really required and move the towel rack over to that side of the room. No brainer! > Still in the bathroom, the toilet brush holder was just a rusting vessel and likely never moved. The hairdryer concentrator was broken off, clearly, nobody checks this appliance, the power points were too far from the vanity to be useful. > The TV was a joke. It was way too small for such a large space and in a spot that made it tough to watch due to the location of the stained and uncomfortable lounge. The remote control was super grubby, it had something yuk caked on it, I used antiseptic wipes to clean it; > The was a really stupid table with upturned sides that was completely useless. Why there was no small table and chairs in the room I cannot fathom given the room is very spacious. This meant there was no space to sit with a computer or even eat; > The ceiling light is just pathetic. It hardly illuminated the room at all, no way you could read in the main part of the room without the risk of going blind; > The guttering directly outside the room is rusted through and for 2 nights we endured the water dripping and pouring down onto the verandah, the sound was hellish; > No milk provided daily; > No ice tray provided; > Extremely poor use of a large room space and no thought to functionality for guests. POSTITIVES: -The gardens are nicely kept and are a pleasure to browse around. The rabbits are an unusual site as normally it is kangaroos you find on these properties. Beware if walking on the grass due to rabbit burrows. - The Highlands King room is very spacious and is the pick of the room types. The room was very clean and contrary to our booking advice was serviced daily of which we appreciated. - We were given a welcome goodie bag of in-house-made snacks. Shame little thought was given to the presentation, they were wrapped carelessly in cling wrap and tossed into a paper carry bag. - After the rain stopped and the rusted leaking gutter dried out it was a lovely quiet spot for the room. - The bed was quite comfortable, maybe a bit more padding over the join of the 2 king singles so the bump could not be felt but not a show stopper in this instance. The pillows were exceptionally soft. There were 4 pillows and all the same, maybe if they gave a mix of pillow types. Pillows are a tough one in any place we stay. - We were surprised the tea options were of a quality brand, unusual and appreciated. SUMMARY: We chose not to eat at the restaurant for any meals as we found the menu uninspiring and the local options were plentiful and not far away. There is a lot of potential in this property but the rooms are clearly not being shut down completely for updating and maintenance. Also, they do not seem to have sought professional advice on furnishing for practical use, at least in Highland King Room 11 (it can be assumed they are all furnished the same). It is obvious that the buildings externally require serious maintenance (eg, guttering). To be honest we have stayed in better well-maintained older style motel rooms. Shop around before considering staying here. We know there is better in the Southern Highlands. This is our 1st and last time staying here and our 2nd poor experience with accommodation under the Mantra Group.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
akelly1928 wrote a review Dec 2021
Los Angeles, California7 contributions4 helpful votes
It’s rare to arrive as a guest at 8.50pm at a hotel like Peppers Manor House , here in the Southern Highlands (which is famous for it’s restaurant Katers,) to be told that they cannot give us any food. Not even bar snacks. The hotel is is quite full despite the pandemic, and appears to be up and running as normal. Bring your own food if you happen to be staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Trek315419 wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Overpriced and underwhelming. Poor room amenities, tired and under- maintained. Appalling restaurant, menu and service for the price. Charming 1870s Manor house does not make up for an all-round, sub-standard customer experience
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 107 - USD 229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
peppers manor house hotel sutton forest, peppers manor hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSouthern HighlandsSutton Forest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Peppers Manor House
Which popular attractions are close to Peppers Manor House?
Nearby attractions include Red Cow Farm - Open Garden (3.1 km), Wine Mosaic Lounge (3.4 km), and ImaginArta - the Australian Puppet Centre Inc (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Peppers Manor House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Peppers Manor House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Peppers Manor House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Peppers Manor House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Peppers Manor House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Pranzo, Birch, and Exeter General Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Peppers Manor House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Peppers Manor House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Peppers Manor House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Retford Park (13.8 km).
Is Peppers Manor House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.