We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Toby Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Toby Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 394: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Toby Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've just attended a wedding at this venue and I can't praise the staff enough. What a fabulous day. The rooms were lovely, the staff were great. A special Thank You to Joe the manager, the waiting staff at the wedding and Mike at breakfast service. They all looked after us throughout the day. At the wedding they never made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeltaUk
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DeltaUK Wow! Thank you for posting such a fabulous review of the Royal Toby Hotel. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are delighted to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable time and everything was to your liking. It is great to note you wouldn't hesitate recommending the Royal Toby to...

Heywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited on Saturday evening and have to say very disappointed with the food, presentation, quality and service. The bar and restaurant was busy which we took as a good sign however table was not ready but after a short wait taken to our table. It went down hill from here onwards, very cramped tables almost sitting on the table next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha1510
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely setting for the service in the Hotel and great food later - the canapes had a great northern twist and the food for the Wedding Breakfast was timed to perfection, top marks to the Hotel staff for making this all run smoothly. We all had a lovely time thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David R Thank you for posting such a terrific review of the Royal Toby Hotel. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are so pleased to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable time from start to finish and the day ran like clockwork! We have passed all of your kind comments...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a birthday treat so decided to book the sleep and dine. Had such a fantastic time from start to finish. We ate at the cenetta restaurant and the food was perfect, and plentiful. The hotel was very and clean and the room was ideal. The real treat though has to be the staff. We met many members of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiggles83
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smiggles83, Wow! Thanks for posting such a fabulous review following your recent sleep and dine at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time from start to finish and thoroughly enjoyed your birthday treat! The team will be delighted to read such positive comments and we very much look forward to your next...

Grapeland, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After many years of staying here while visiting family the hallway and rooms on the 4th floor still have a chemical smell. That said the king beds are comfy even though the mattress pad and bottom sheet don't seem to fit properly. Housekeeping is very nice as we didn't require room service everyday and still got water and coffee as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Connie C Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. Despite a couple of niggles, we are pleased to hear that overall...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight and ate in the main resturant, really nice hotel room and evening meal was super with good service even though it was etremely busy with large parties, Breakfast the next morning was also very nice , plenty of choice and well cooked the only down side was the tea who thinks in the kitchen you can make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanell8
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanell8 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent overnight stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are delighted to hear you were very pleased with your room and meals during your stay. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy you tea and opted for coffee. We want our guests to enjoy every...

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

very poor service.kept waiting for a table for ovet1hour-eventually left in a fuming state and went homein my opinion you would do well to avoid this estabishment this is sad really as we have had good service before so things appear to have deteriotated? .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marto5060
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marto5060, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the Royal Toby. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. We have high standards at the Royal Toby Hotel and we want our guests...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I come here regularly with the family for meals.this was the first time since the refurbishment. The new decor was very tastefully done still keeping it's classy charm yet looking modern and fresh.the service was to its excellent standard,and not forgetting the food which is great value and great tasting. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim Q
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim Q Wow! Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent visit with your family. We are delighted to hear you were most impressed with the improvements we have recently made, and you all thoroughly enjoyed your meals and the service you say you received from the team. We have passed all of your wonderful comments...

Chadderton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my wife Susan recently visited the toby , not for a meal but merely to have a drink. We were unaware it had recently closed for a refurbishment , and had only opened in the past week or so. Unfortunately we did not like what we saw!!! What once was light and airy with leather chairs and seats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john p
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John P Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you don’t like the refurbishment – it has gone down very well with almost all our guests, new and old. We totally disagree with your comments, but everyone is entitled to their opinion and it would be sad to lose your patronage.

Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night very friendly staff lovely room had to eat in cennetta as the main restaurant was fully booked good food and very efficient friendly staff would definitely stay here again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S W
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S W Thank you for reviewing the Royal Toby Hotel following your recent stay. We are really pleased to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable time and you would definitely return when you are next in the area! We have a Facebook page which is regularly updated with all of our latest offers and forthcoming events. We have passed...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.9 km away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
196 reviews
7.1 km away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
9.1 km away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Price Range: $104 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Toby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Toby Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Toby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms more spacious and bigger beds”
 of 5 bubbles NickV341, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 215 was at the end of the hall on the first floor, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonTHull, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Nothing that I can add it was a great stay .”
 of 5 bubbles suzanneg2014, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 105 a good family room. Looks over the garden not the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles janetjohn001, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite good - good accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles dianeq123, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5