We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on the Lake

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Inn on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 446: English reviews
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Excellent reception staff when I checked in, couldnt be more friendly and helpful. Room I had overlooking the lake was ideal , shame it wasnt overseas :) Wildlife on your doorstep considering how close to a main road , so most enjoyable

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kev C
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We pride ourselves on customer service and our staff are always welcoming to new or returning guests.

La Alfoquia, Spain
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed here on route from Dover to North Wales, after a long days driving through France and a packed ferry crossing, we found this hotel an hour from Dover, far enough away from the hustle and bustle we left behind but close enough to major road networks to allow for an easy onward journey. Travelling with two dogs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tom c
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning with us again in the future. There is a large country park located directly behind us with over 292 acres of land to discover with your dogs and the entrance is next to our...

Reviewed 14 July 2016

we would like to take this time to say we had our wedding at the inn on the lake Shorne Gravesend it was such a beautiful day the hotel was done up to perfection couldn't of asked for anything better. eszter from the events team was absolutely fantastic she done us both proud the room looked amazing the bridal suite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barbara B
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We pride ourselves on our wedding ceremonies and I am glad our efforts to make you day special have reflected this. It is good to hear our staff and events team were very helpful to you and all your guests before and on the day.

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Run down needs makeover badly, bath towels tired none matched, all different. enamel bath had more chips than a fish shop! Bed linen was clean but all creased looked like someone else had laid down on it. Sunday breakfast menu full English menu says bacon as well waited half hour when it came no bacon 😣no coffee or tea after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john w
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to hear hat you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our bar doesn't open until 5pm on Sundays but if you had notified one of our staff that you were after tea and coffee, we would have happily served you some in our bar areas. Most of our guests do...

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen for a ladies night. On arrival reception was welcoming. Had a few drinks outside in the afternoon over looking the lake this was the nicest bit to look at, shame you here the traffic but can't be helped. The hotel itself looked very dated, a bit like a cheap hotel abroad. You have to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweetasjen
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Prior to a tribute night, every booking pre-orders their meal and a copy of this is always present on the table. It is not that we were confused with your starter but the table had mixed up their orders and we brought out what was on your pre-order. Our staff however, were more than happy...

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is good for a night stop every now and then, I have stayed here on many occasions when away with work. The rooms are of good size, but could do with a update of decor, it is clean and tidy. Also the bathroom is much the same, of good size and clean. The staff are very polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Billy H
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, Its always nice to hear from a returning guest. Our rooms are currently being refurbished and we hope the next time you stay, you will be able to see one of our newly upgraded rooms for yourself.

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I've stayed in this hotel several times before but this is the first time I have gotten around to writing a review. My colleague ordered me a parcel from Amazon which I forgot to tell the hotel would be arriving, however, this was not an issue as the hotel accepted delivery and presented it to me on my arrival. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Cooke13
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I personally wouldn't allow children to play in the carpark by the road either but we do have a large outdoors patio area overlooking the lake which is both safe and beautiful to be around.

Bristol
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel as part of a package, very disappointed, we reported a blocked toilet on arrival and ended up using the public loos before bed and again in the morning. The room was grubby and the food was poor, a lack of maintenance was evident wherever you looked. Will not be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkimadBristol
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing refurbishment in all our rooms and public areas and we hope you would be willing to give us another try once we are finished.

Cardiff
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We stayed in this hotel as it was included in a 2 day break deal. The room was large and it was a great surprise to find we had a four poster bed. Dinner was include in the package and I must admit was nothing special and the portions were small. The view from the room was beautiful. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GTG150
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with and was upgraded to our Bridal suite at no extra charge

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Took a few days off and stayed at " The Inn " . Been there a few times now . Once again it was outstanding . The location , access to roads , facilities and of course the friendly , helpful hard working staff who I would like to thank for a splendid occasion .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank c4582072
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It is always good to hear from a returning customer. I'm glad our staff were helpful and we hope to see you stay with us again in the future.

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Singlewell
231 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
9.2 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
9.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: $82 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
The Inn On The Lake Gravesend, England - Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms over looking the lake have a great view & quiet, the other side will get the noise of the motorway”
 of 5 bubbles sheila3072017, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back overlook 3 lakes. Ground floors have patio doors to view lakes”
 of 5 bubbles Roostercogburn2013, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a lake side room, much less road traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles RichieLFC, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the lake”
 of 5 bubbles sarahys, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The back of the hotel away from the motorway is better,”
 of 5 bubbles Tteach23, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5