We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on the Lake

TripAdvisorUSD 96*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
Panoramas (80)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Inn on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for just one night, check in was easy polite staff. Had an issue in our room sorted immediately by reception staff, given a new room with a lovely view of the lake rooms are clean and tidy comfortable beds. Breakfast full English nicely cooked and arrived quickly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff freindly. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

You read so many negative reviews on this hotel but really there is NO need to worry at all. We had a lovely stay here. The main reason we chose it was because it allowed us to take our dog with us. We had read a lot of the reviews and like many of you reading them now, we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 62MQ
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you and your enjoyed your stay with us. Your review sums us up perfectly - we are a 3 star, family run hotel that benefits from incredible lakes, land and wildlife. We do our best to compete with the big (and very...

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, conveniently situated to explore from and at a great price. The surroundings are the icing on the cake, this really is a hidden gem that we will happily come back to so that we can wile away our time in Kent. Staff were all very pleasant and the breakfasts were plentiful. We were even allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick C
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Bergerac, France
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is only 5 minutes from my home in Kent but we wanted a night away with family. Got a good deal. Rooms a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Best thing about it is the view. Had lake view ground floor room. There was a bench outside and we spent a beautiful evening drinking prosecco watching the fish....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynda t
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Whilst visiting family this was the only hotel with a vacancy that would also allow us to take our dog. I had heard awful things about it and was really concerned but I needn't have been. The staff were wonderful , we had a lake side room that was very spacious and lovely and clean. The furniture was old fashioned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheCBs
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Torpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Is the Inn on The Lake Gravesend really a hotel or is it a wedding venue? Parts of the gardens and patio areas are really quite pretty and up market ..... but these are only accessible if you are attending a wedding or can sneak out there whilst the ballroom is being dressed for another wedding, all other times all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornishmaide
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn on the Lake hotel. I am sorry to hear that at first your booking was not correct, but I know that the reception team dealt very quickly to resolve the issue. I am sorry for the long walk to your room, this is not something that can be fixed unless...

Chester
Reviewed 29 August 2016

OK, don't get me wrong, this is not a hatchet job at all on the hotel but a constructive criticism. The staff were very welcoming and friendly but, in all honesty, I think the hotel trades on the lake and that is just not enough. The impression when arriving at the hotel entrance is not enticing considering that you have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark S
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Yes, we are a private, family run hotel and do try to compete with the very cheap likes of Premier Inn. We are currently in the process of a full refurb which has not yet...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed at the Inn On The Lake for 4 days attending a wedding in Gravesend we enjoyed our stay we had a room overlooking the lake .The room was large and very clean .The TV is a little small for the size of room .The breakfast meals were good although service was a little stow when busy .Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derrick_marilyn
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

UNITED KINGDOM
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and all the staff was fantastic but, inside is one of the worst hotels ive been in.We paid £75 per room with breakfast which on the second morning we didn't have it as it was cold apart from the egg. Even the outside is dirty round the back and it looked as no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missgpxx
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Inn on the Lake. Should you wish to discuss your comments further, please contact me directly.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The room was clean and relatively quiet despite being located next to or near the A2. The walls between the rooms were quite thin however and voices, doors being shut and the switching on and off of light switches were quite audible. The bathroom was clean, though the faucets moved a little bit. The main light and ceiling fan in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonia0789
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

548 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (363)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (29)
Viewed
Lakeside Double Room (34)
Viewed
Other (118)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
235 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
9.1 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
9.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: $74 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
The Inn On The Lake Gravesend, England - Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a lake view if possible”
LifestyleUK, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a big main road on one side of the hotel, the lake is on the other. My lake-view room was quiet.”
Lagomorphs, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the lake have a great view & quiet, the other side will get the noise of the motorway”
sheila3072017, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back overlook 3 lakes. Ground floors have patio doors to view lakes”
Roostercogburn2013, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a lake side room, much less road traffic noise”
RichieLFC, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 96* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates