We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Millstone at Mellor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Millstone at Mellor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are frequent visitors to the Millstone. Last week we had booked a table for an early dinner to celebrate a birthday. One of the chairs had a dirty, unpleasant mark on it, so we swapped it for one from another table. Two of the four water glasses on the table were filthy, and the waitress took them away with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HazelJ610
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I was disappointment to read your comments about the food and service on this occasion. I will look at the issues you've raised and review our staff training to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I do hope you give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Cleckheaton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my wife & daughter and her hubby on New Year's Eve,the rooms were in the annexe which were really nice.The pub was quite busy when we got there mid afternoon,a lot were dining not leaving much room for a casual drink.however the waitress got us some chairs and we were ok then.The meal at night was really good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic New Yeas Eve feedback. i am extremely pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and your comments regarding the entertainment are fantastic, as it is the first year we have had entertainment on. I very much hope to see you again in the new year! Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Reading
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

A welcoming pub with accommodation, we enjoyed our brief stay while attending a wedding at the nearby Stanley House Hotel about 20mins walk away. The family room was good, our 11-year old was on a mattress at the foot of the bed. The shower was fine, iron/hair drier and a good selection of tea/coffee, even mince pies and complimentary water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Millstone. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities in the bedroom. I very much hope to welcome you back for that drink in our new bar after our refurbishment from the 3rd February 2017. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We dined as part of a group of 24 for a Christmas meal last Saturday. The meal was excellent as was the service. The restaurant was very busy with several Christmas parties booked in but despite the numbers the food was of excellent quality, piping hot and served without delays. Great organisation and professionalism by the front of house staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your 5* review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Christmas party with us, and i will be sure to pass on your fantastic feedback to Jamie and the team! I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone after our bar and restaurant refurbishment from the 3rd February 2017....

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We are regular diners here.We had a disappointing dinner last night which started with us having to ask for our table in the bar to be cleared of dirty glasses and cups.Our waitress was totally untrained.She tried to set up our table in the bar which was not what we had booked.She arrived at the table and said"yes?".She got the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian S
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we really appreciate all the feedback. I must apologies for the slip up from our usual high standards, and will use your review as a training tool for the staff. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Tim Parker General Manager

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Sorry to say that our weekend away was ruined due to a poorly maintained hotel suite. We stayed in the Midas Suite and the room smelled of damp, there was black mould on the walls and all over the tiles and the room was generally unclean. There was only one robe provided for us as a couple and no milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. I am however disappointed that you have taken to TripAdvisor to write these comments, as I did speak to you about the issues that you had on the morning of your check out. After offering the discount you seemed more than happy, and have since had a full refund. I have looked at the...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a nearby wedding. Room was clean but very shabby - paint chipped and looked like it needed a bit of TLC. Small amounts of mildew on bathroom. Shower curtain had that pink tinge when it hasn't been cleaned in a while. Reception staff friendly. Breakfast dreadful - was shown to a dirty table that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read your that you didn't enjoy your stay, and I have only been made aware by reading your comments on Tripadvisor, as unfortunately nothing was mentioned at the time of your stay. I will certainly look into these issues as a matter of urgency. Kind Regards,...

Conwy County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Lovely staff, spotlessly clean rooms with nice little touches, like fresh shortcake biscuits in the rooms, and real milk available any time on request - not those disgusting UHT thimbles. The food in the restaurant is superb, a real delight and beautifully prepared, some original takes on classic dishes. The kitchen staff obviously take a great deal of care and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conwybeachcomber
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to read that you found our team to be lovely and you liked the little extra touches in the rooms. Your very kind comments are appreciated and we'd love to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Tim Parker

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Nice inn in the lovely Ribble Valley north of Blackburn, Lancashire. More than a B&B with a very nice and popular restaurant on site. The tiny village is charming with a beautiful 15th century church the bells of which could be heard from our room. Room was small but quite nice; everything (Wi-Fi included) worked great. Easy parking in front....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rfc_avalon
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your room. I'm delighted that you found our team to be friendly and welcoming and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Tim Parker

Reviewed 22 October 2016

Booked with friends for a show in Preston. We've been here a few times before. Its a proper gastro pub with a great atmosphere. Dinner choice is fabulous and we had meat and fish sharing boards, homemade scotch egg (amazing) and fish and chips. Service, food and value is top draw. Lovely room with comfy beds with an awesome breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonywarwick
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Tony. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hearty Lancashire breakfast is very popular and I'm glad you enjoyed yours. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Tim Parker

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.9 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
3.3 km away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
937 reviews
8.9 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stairs present a difficulty ask for a room on the lowest floor”
 of 5 bubbles Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose another professionally run hotel”
 of 5 bubbles popelli69, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All good - the area is very quiet and no traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Alain69190735, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Ground floor if you struggle with steep/narrow stairs”
 of 5 bubbles YachtSuzannah, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“It is in the centre of the village, so not much to look at. Sit in the bar!!”
 of 5 bubbles 948grahamw, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay