We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 346: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
 Click to rate
Bloomfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, let me say that the front desk staff is great. I was also VERY impressed with the young woman who is the manager there. I saw her do things I have never seen a manager do and it tells me she is very hands on and that is impressive. I was in town for a medical procedure at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanbV768AZ
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

jonathanbV768AZ thank you taking time to share your concerns and about your experience. I sincerely apologize that we fell short on our housekeeping service during your stay. We feel we have corrected our oversight and have addressed it with our team. Again thank you for sharing and we look forward to another opportunity to get it right in the future.

Norfolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Courtyard Norfolk Downtown in Nov, 2015. I accidentally left my best pillow in that hotel and the housekeeping ignored my previous several call and replied me until I complained about this to the Marriot customer service and sent it back to me immediately. And the room was not clean with bad door. Traveler should not consider that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiaofei C
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Xiaofei C thank you for sharing with us your experience. I do sincerely apologize that we missed any attempt to contact us for your missing item. I am happy we found your item and was able to get that back to you quickly. We hope that we may be able to serve you in the future for a second chance.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were supposed to stay here 3 nights but checked out after night 1. We weren't given enough towels for our family of four. Housekeeping never showed up. We called down for the valet to get our car, yet the front desk never took action so we had to wait 20 extra minutes. We ran out of toilet paper at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura F
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Laura F thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the lack of timely service and housekeeping you received during your stay. The staff and I have reviewed your comments and feel we have corrected our oversights. Our hope is for another opportunity to take care of you in the future.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Last time I stayed here was two years ago. I said I would not return. I decided to give it another try and I actually had a better experience. I had a corner room that was nice. Sometime I will have to have someone in the hotel industry explain how the desk staff makes room assignments. The corner makes a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank njpk
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

njpk thank you for your comments and giving our hotel another try. We appreciate you sharing your experience and happy you enjoyed. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked a night cruise and needed a close hotel near the boarding location. I booked this hotel and were very pleased. When we arrived the parking attendant were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. As we checked in we did see a lot of young kids in the lobby which had me worried, but to my surprise we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theath56
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

It was a pleasure theath56 in reading your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share of your wonderful experience and the convenience of the cruise location nearby. We hope we see you in the future.

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Jst a 1 night stay, but it was a very pleasant surprise. A newer hotel within walking distance to good restaurants, bars & there is a mall across the street. It was very clean, quiet & the bed was very comfortable. We'll likely stay here from now own when we come to Norfolk. Don't sleep on this place y'all!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissaandfloyd
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Melissaandfloyd thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. THe staff and I are happy you enjoyed the hotel, downtown Norfolk and our hotel. See you real soon!

Brookline, MA
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent, newer hotel, with very comfortable rooms and beds and, above all, courteous and extremely cordial service at the front desk and bistro. By the way, bistro menu is limited but I had a tasty burger.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sbitran
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

sbitran thank you for the great comments. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and food offerings. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is average in a global perspective, but compared to the price it is very god. The service is very good. This is much hotel for the money you pay. The room is clean and big. And you got what you need for a practical stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stian N
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Stian N we are thankful for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. If in the area again, we look forward to taking care of you again.

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I just feel that this visit was not up to par for a courtyard Marriott stay. The staff was ok but not overly helpful. The hotel was also out of coffee packets for the in-room coffee makers and on the weekend the cafe doesn't open until later. I was in town for a series of races and had to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Elizabeth C thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that we did not take care of you the way Marriott does normally. The staff and I will work on the concerns you mentioned and make correct them. We hope to have another opportunity in the future to serve you the Marriott way.

Frazer
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas vacation visiting family in town. Bed very comfy.no frig or microwave in room which is surprising for amount paid.convenient to downtown. Water for shower hot and endless. Staff friendly.no restaurant, but bistro open with limitd menu breakfast and dinner. No brochures out of local sites-- another surprise. Easy to find.parking avail for $19/night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Kim S thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed your Christmas vacation in Norfolk. Our apology for not having all the amenities you expected, but do look forward to another opportunity to serve you again.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.4 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
9.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
11.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $150 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Norfolk Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
minnesota
Richmond, Virginia
Hartford, Connecticut

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Norfolk Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for what you want”
 of 5 bubbles jonathanbV768AZ, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms generally face the street.”
  • Two Queen Bed looking from entry door.
  • Separate sink area
  • Separate tiolet/shower amenity
  • Looking from Corner to TV area
 of 5 bubbles Cincybearcatfan, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think the hotel had any bad rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles X2958UQbillh, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you need white noise any of the X14 room (814) have large blowers near by. If you want quiet, do not get close to the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles gatoreed, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms are nice ..”
 of 5 bubbles Bornabrit, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5