We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 790: English reviews
Start your review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
 Click to rate
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Be aware this hotel is in full scale renovations it is loud all day. That being said, staff is very friendly especially with all that is going on. Check in was quick and easy but, my room on the 7th floor was flooded from the room on the 8th floor. Made my way back to the improvised check in desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GalenDesMoines
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you experienced higher levels of noise during your stay while we're implementing our renovation. Our staff is working hard to minimize any impact this may have on guests, and we appreciate you acknowledging their efforts. We would like to thank you for your patience and understanding and hope that you'll visit us again in the...

Pembroke Pines, Florida
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Wednesday 26 October 2016 The entrance provides an option of stairs or a ramp for easier access. Check-in is fast & the staff is friendly. The City Dock restaurant is to the left & has a spectacular view of the water & the ships in port. Complimentary bottled water welcomes you to the room. The room is a great size....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aTheDoc
About Hotel's Favourite Review
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We loved reading your beautifully written review of our property. Thank you so much for sharing all the highlights of you stay that you enjoyed. We're delighted you had a comfortable stay and felt the kindness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel!

New Hampshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Recently stayed at the Sheraton while on business travel. It was the only place in the down town area within my travel allowance so that was the primary reason for booking. The hotel is very dated but fine. If you are going for business and need a cheap place to stay down down it is a good option. I suspect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NHIrish
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad our location in the heart of downtown was ideally situated for your business travel. As you pointed out, our hotel is being transformed to an improved modern look. We trust you will love our stylish enhancements. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay, we hope you will visit with us...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is located in a good location right on the bay. The staff is pretty nice. The hotel is currently going through renovations so things are a little crazy right now. I'm looking forward to coming back after the renovations are completed. The valet staff are awesome and will take you pretty much anywhere in the downtown area and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our waterfront hotel, Philip. As you shared, we are undergoing a much-needed renovation, and we can’t wait for you to return so you can see our new enhancements. Thank you for the feedback, we look forward to your next visit.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It is close to almost anything you could want to do for food, entertainment, bar hoping etc. The rooms are a little outdated, the walls are pretty thin and amenities were a little ummm let's just say challenged. In the workout facility at least 2 treadmills were broken, an elliptical was broken and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew_Fellers
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We can't thank enough for highlighting our exceptional team. They will be happy to hear you appreciated the extra efforts provided to ensure you were comfortable during our renovations. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this time, and we're glad it didn't detract from enjoying your overall visit. We would love to welcome you back in the future...

Lansdowne, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just checked in staying one night for business. I typically do not stay at Sheraton's and this confirmed why. The headboards on both beds the fabric was peeling. The beds although made up looked as if a guest just rolled out of it. The desk furniture is chipped. I called the front desk to ask for a room change and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim C
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Kim, it is always our intent for guests to have a comfortable stay and we are terribly sorry that this was not the case for you. As you shared, we are undergoing renovations including all guest rooms, and we are excited to provide our guests with a fresh new look. It is our hope that we get another opportunity to...

Irvington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived unaware of the renovation as we showed up for a reservation made in December. I would think a brand like Sheraton would notify incoming guests of pending inconveniences. I guess they are not what they used to be or they capture enough during summer to not care the rest of the year. Wish I had read these reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank windrush197
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We never want our guest to leave feeling disappointed in any way, and we are very sorry to hear this is how you felt during your visit with us. Our team is working hard to minimize any impact our renovations may have, but we regret you were inconvenienced. We do hope you'll allow us another opportunity in the future to...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just can't recommend staying here while the renovations are ongoing; I like the location of this hotel but it's just really dated and kind of a mess with the large project going on right now. As others have mentioned I find the parking situation not-great and hope the renovations mean the end of the $26 valet / $12 long-walk-to-car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graupel22
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

As you pointed out, we are making improvements throughout our hotel to ensure an even better place for our guests to relax. Our staff is working hard to minimize any impact our renovations may have on our guest experience, but we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. We find our parking fee comparable with others in the area, but...

New Lebanon, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was highly disappointed to find out that refrigerators and microwaves were not in the rooms and had to pay $10.00 a day for getting one in the room. It doesn't make sense to me that a room that costs over $170.00 doesn't have a fridge or microwave in it. I was also perplexed that there is no free parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank isaiahstrns
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It is always our hope that every guest we welcome is completely satisfied with their stay and we were sorry to read that you felt any disappointment with our fees. Should you consider a visit in the future, we hope you'll take a moment to look at our website for extra savings with our year-round hotel deals. Thank you for...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Sheraton Waterside is a dated hotel in a newly renovated city center. The wallpaper was peeling and the furniture showed signs of years of wear. They are currently working on renovations for the front desk, reception, and conference rooms (4th floor) which can cause disturbances throughout the day. The temporary front desk looks nice and functions seamlessly so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

As you mentioned, we are implementing changes throughout our hotel to ensure an even better place for our guests to relax. We are happy to read your positive comments, as we’ve made a great effort to minimize any impact our renovations may have on the guest experience. We do find that our parking fee is comparable to our area but...

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.4 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
9.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.4 km away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#16 of 37 in Norfolk
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510-2102
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $217 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors offer a nice view of the city or waterfront”
NitaK420, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1025 - A nice suite - lacking a bit on the sunlight because there is only one window in the bedroom.”
Msdacko, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“corner rooms are best and the rooms facing the harbor”
213darrylm, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view”
Wisnia, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick someplace else to stay.”
theluchak, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5