We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Treehouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Treehouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of The Treehouse
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were supposed to stay at the treehouse for one night but ended up staying all week at this amazing backpackers dream. We were greeted with warm welcomes by the staff and fellow guests. Days were spent chilling at the treehouse in the numerous hammocks or the large net hanging amongst the trees having beers and making friends with fellow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alex7876
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a night out at the Treehouse and it's a blast! Great people, good drinks, and live music! It feels magical once you get there, very secluded and enchanting. Met the owner, Jon, who was super nice as well. Definitely worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keri C
Reviewed 1 week ago

A visit to the Treehouse is a must! Have stayed at many hostels throughout Central America but this one tops them all. Incredibly beautiful views, seriously fun and hard working staff and the best parties! Plus you are basically living in the tree tops with howler monkeys- amazing! Make sure you make it there for open mic night on Thursdays,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe S
Reviewed 1 week ago

After being told by an acquaintance that we had to visit Treehouse on our trip to Nicaragua we booked a couple of nights (Tues/Wed). Upon arrival the staff was welcoming and did their best to start learning names of the arriving guests. I have read some other reviews that the staff are unwelcoming and I couldn't disagree more. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was disappointing. After arriving, we were totally ignored for a good 20 minutes while the people who apparently worked there continued to get day drunk and watch videos of themselves from the night prior. This sort of attitude isn't an issue and its nice when hostal workers/volunteers can let loose, but these folks were just flat out rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie G
Geniusinger , Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Very disappointed to hear this. Over the past 2 years on building/renovating/re-structuring and constantly trying to improve The Treehouse we have never received a complaint about our service. We constantly try extremely hard to employ the best characters available to us so everyone can feel at home and enjoy themselves with our Treehouse family. You can be sure this will...

Kongsberg, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I heard so much about this Treehouse, so I decided to check it out. Free shuttle both ways from Granada. You should wear hikingshoes if you come here - and a headlamp! The hostel is really worth seeing. But after 30 minutes you've seen it. The people working there seemed more keen on getting drunk with the guests than actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Happytraveller20
Geniusinger , Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

I find it a little dissapointing you didn't even stay here & gave this review? Can i remind you we supplied a free return shuttle, that is a gift from us. A taxi would have cost you minimum $15 return. We have at least 6 employees who work the bar so everyone has the time to "get drunk" when they...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is a must see/do when you visit nicaragua! we had a blast being here, great people, party, and view! we did the trip to the laguna, which was a great experience as well, we wouldn't have known about that place without the treehouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar G
Geniusinger , Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Not much to say back to this except thank you for being apart of our Treehouse family! Loved having you here x keep spreading the good vibes around Nicaragua and hope to see your face again some day :)

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Only bad thing to say about this hostel is that there's a bit too many bugs, except for that (which is kind of hard to avoid when it's in the middle of the woods) - amazing!!! Awesome party, sooooo good music, everything was just great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
Geniusinger , Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

The old problem of bugs in the jungle... Always hard to deal with, our ecosystem is pretty crazy sometime we have periods with no bugs and sometimes they love to hang out with us, we have nets for our bedding. Soooo stoked you had a great time at our party, we love to hear that, always trying hard to give...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I heard about this hostel through word of mouth from other travellers and decided to check it out after the hostel I was staying in was pretty crap. The hostel itself is pretty far away but thankfully they organise free shuttle from the main square. However it is quite a walk up to the hostel, then if you choose the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yanye
Geniusinger , Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review, our parties are pretty epic. It's also important to remember that we do not charge the 15% iva or the 10% standard tip that every bar or restaurant in granada charges automatically (therefore our prices are 25% less than in town) most people do not realise that. We are less in this for money...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Awesome, unique hostel! Such a cool place to check out! When else do you get to sleep in a giant treehouse in the jungle?! Open mic night was great. The owner is so sweet. I forgot a bag with my phone and camera charger in it and he was so nice about dropping it back in Granada for me; he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Geniusinger , Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! So happy you had an awesome time here. Big thanks also to the guest who handed in your bag to reception - it's great to see travelers looking after each other, hope you can visit again someday x

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
12.0 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
326 reviews
10.8 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
311 reviews
10.2 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 44 in Granada
42 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
414 reviews
10.2 km away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#18 of 44 in Granada
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come find, us hidden in the trees in the Nicaraguan jungle... The Treehouse is a hostel located just 10 km. (15 Minutes) from Granada, Nicaragua and only 2 km. From the trail to the Volcano Mombacho. Expect rustic natural surroundings, an amazing place with wonder views, comfortable habitation and excellent food and drink. There are incredible opportunities to view unique wildlife, enjoy an upbeat atmosphere and affordable prices. Located on the road to Naindaime it is a "must see" stop on the way to Rivas, San Juan del Sur or Ometepe. There is a 150 meter climb to reach our secret spot. So bring some suitable footwear & if you are not fit for hiking, stay at home ;) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Treehouse

Address: KM 57.5 Carrera Granada Nandaime | Comarca Poste Rojo, Granada 44300, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Treehouse Poste Rojo Hotel Granada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Treehouse staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Treehouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private treehouse bunk!!!!!!!”
dharmas_12, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs and a facemask; keep your valuable belongings close”
jbak_worldtrvlr, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Hammocks should really be the only option..”
167kimp, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Sleep in the hammocks, especially the two private ones in the treehouse.”
derekm536, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay for only $5 a night if you sleep in a hammock or in a tent and they might even give you a private room to store your stuff in for free!”
LaurenLeilani, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5