Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Garden Resort

98/22 Moo 4 Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
Traveller (400)
Room & Suite (163)
Pool & Beach (97)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
AU$99
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
No booking fees
AU$100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 46 resorts in Ko Chang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snorkelling
Billiards
Fishing
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German, Thai
510Reviews20Q+A63Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 118
  • 33
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ready2travel111 wrote a review Mar 2022
Perth, Australia166 contributions13 helpful votes
Koh Chang is still very quiet but that was fine for me, only one other couple staying here while I was here. Very comfortable beds and room in general for the price point. Pool was very refreshing. Dutch owner always happy to help if you want to know something. Located on the main street on the island but set back so no noise. Lots of restaurant and bars on your doorstep. Situated between lonely beach and Klong Prao makes it exploring on a scooter easy. The only thing that i can say is lighting when walking to room could be better, had to use torch on my phone to walk along the footsteps leading to my room by the pool at back of property. Food not being served on property right now because they dont have the guests to be able to do this which is understandable, plenty choices close by.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nickydee71 wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
Great breakfast, amazing host, great location, access to loads of films. We loved our stay at the Garden Resort!! I wish we had stayed for longer. The hosts made us feel so welcomed and you get the personal attention that bigger resorts lack. They have started an open mic on a Tuesday which was so much fun and included some great talents. I would definitely recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to book again!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin N wrote a review Sept 2020
Ban Chang, Thailand14 contributions9 helpful votes
At least twice a year we visit Ko Chang, and than we always Stay in Garden Resort, Kai Bae. In the middle of Kai Bae, but once you enter the resort it is serene. The owners are great and together with the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Good mattress. Fridge, flatscreen with apple tv, thousands of movies on their own Nas system. Everything you need for a plesant stay. In the back a nice Salt water swimming pool up to 3 meter deep. In the front there is a nice bar with big cinema with surround sound. So on a rainy day you can still enjoy the hospitality. Breakfast is simply great. Very extended with daily fresh bread. You can find cheaper places on Koh Chang, but no second Garden resort. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Room Tip: I prefer poolsite room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fearless554770 wrote a review Dec 2023
Beverley, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Wonderful stay ,staff very good.Our room overlooks the pool peaceful location less than a 5 minute walk to the Main Street and all amenities.
Mouse the owner on hand to give any help and advise.
Highly recommend.
Short walk to the beach you may even see the Elephants coming down to bathe 😀
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LaMangaJ0 wrote a review Feb 2023
La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain60 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
What a beautiful resort.
Great banter with Mause. Jeab is a fabulous cook, breakfast is second to none. Snow (their puppy) is absolutely gorgeous and usually available for a cuddle.
We're at the end of an 11 night stay and we've had a ball. 5 minute stroll down the road to the beach where the elephants bathe every morning and evening, it's really lovely to see them enjoying the water.
Restaurants in this area are fantastic. The pizzeria at the entrance to the resort is really, really good. As is the Mexican at the other side.
Very comfortable beds and pillows. High quality be linens and towels.
Music night on Tuesdays is great fun.
The resort and rooms are spotless. We're already planning our return visit next year.
Thanks for the laughs, Mause. You give as good as you get, that's for sure. We've had an amazing time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: As you walk onto the main road, turn right and there's a great Mexican restaurant called...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kungvaldemar wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Very nice and family-friendly accommodation on Koh Chang at Kai Bai Beach. Very nice bungalow with 2 rooms with door in between so children could live in one part and parents in the other. Close to the beach and a nice salt water pool in the area, simpler but good breakfast. Would love to stay at this hotel again and very affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Family bungalow is very nice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wilkinson_colin wrote a review Dec 2023
Surin, Thailand52 contributions13 helpful votes
We loved our stay here we only had 5 nights and it wasn't long enough. Our room was overlooking the pool and I would recommend selecting one of those rooms. Really good breakfasts nice staff and did I mention the owner. It's the place to stay in Kai Bae
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TripMadLeeds_UK wrote a review Feb 2023
Leeds, UK25 contributions23 helpful votes
Mouse and the team make this such an amazing place it felt like we had stayed with friends. Rooms are clean, comfortable with a lovely terrace and have an amazing film selection. The pool is an added bonus. Breakfasts are a treat! The location is perfect with some great thai street food restaurants and a 7/11 next door. Tuesday nights are a bonus. It was perfect! Thank you Mouse.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KittyK950 wrote a review Apr 2023
Brisbane, Australia202 contributions122 helpful votes
What a great place to stay. Management and staff excellent, our rooms were by the pool and rooms had everything you would need in them and very clean. Bed was excellent not hard mattress at all and fluffy pillows. Location is good as plenty of places nearby eat eat at. I personally recommend this place and will be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jennyjupiter wrote a review Dec 2011
Helsinki, Finland21 contributions30 helpful votes
We were hoping to have an extra relaxing stay before heading off to more serious activities afterwards, we couldn't have made a worse choice. The room was like a hotel room, not a bungalow. One wall is completely glass, facing the path between the bungalows, and there were lights shining into the window all night, which gave us the feeling that it was daylight outside, even with the white curtains drawn. This coupled with the throbbing base music coming from the street, and the main restaurant/bar of the resort, we couldn't sleep until the wee hours of the morning. The bed was like sleeping on concrete with a thin mattress over it. One of the staff spoke English well, but the rest very poorly, more than once a miscommunication took place.

If you want to go and party all night and then come home to dip in the pool - which admittedly is very nice, but not huge - and then stay up late to watch cable TV, then stay here. But why pay such an exceptionally high room rate to accomplish this? After more than five visits to Koh Chang over 12 years, this has to be the worst place I've ever stayed on the island, at the highest rate. After 15 years of regular visits to places in this and higher price ranges, this has to be one of the worst I can remember.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: get as far away from the street noise as possible, its a busy night life area with lots of loud...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garden_Resort, Owner at Garden Resort
Responded 26 Dec 2011
Dear Jennyjupiter, We have no records of your stay at our resort. Over the last two months we didn't have any guests from Portugal or anyone called Jenny, Jennifer or a similar name. However, I would like to correct some things you wrote in your review. The Garden Resort has 20 rooms: 6 stand alone bungalows and 7 semi-detached bungalows (2 under 1 roof). All the bungalows are placed a minimum of 4 meters apart. So I don't really understand what you mean by your comment 'the room looks like a hotel room'. Only the walk paths are lit at nighttime with 5 Watt lightbulbs, just enough to see the path. There are however porch lights on every bungalow porch. The switch for the porch lights are inside the rooms, so you can switch them on or off whenever you like. With the porch light off, there is no light shining in the room. Our bar/restaurant mainly caters for in house guests. The kitchen closes at 10 pm and the bar at midnight. The music is kept at a level that normal conversation can take place. On most Thursdays we throw a party with a free BBQ and live music, that's the only time when the music is audible in some of the rooms, but even then we stop the music at 11:30 pm. Hardly the wee hours of the morning. Most of our guests actually appreciate the Thursday nights. In general there is very little noise coming through to the resort from the street, but there are some bars in Kai Bae that sometimes throw a party. Since these places are located about 200 meters from the resort, the noise they produce is hardly audible from that distance. On many occasion we get the comment that our guests finally had a comfortable bed, unlike in most Thai hotels. That comment can even be found in many reviews here on Tripadvisor. 5 of our 12 staff members speak English quite adequate. The other staff (maintenance, gardning, cleaning etc) don't have to deal with the customers directly so for them there is no need to do so. Our salt water swimming pool is 7 x 13 x 3 meters. More than adequate for a resort our size. In fact it is bigger and deeper than the pools of 4 nearby resorts that have 40 rooms or more. Kind regards, Mause Koekoek General Manager Garden Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Garden_Resort
Rayong, Thailand4 contributions
Hi elecav, There are shared taxi's driving around all the time. So getting around the island is very easy. Kai Bae Beach is very nice and within only 300 meters from Garden Resort. Klong Prao Beach is a few kilometres away, but the shared taxi will bring you there for app 50 THB per person. To White Sand Beach is charged at 60 THB per person. Kindest regards, Mause Koekoek Garden Resort
Answer from Garden_Resort
Rayong, Thailand4 contributions
Hello Juanaise5, Our rooms, even when not occupied, are vented everyday by running the aircon for at least an hour to prevent dampness or other smells. Also the problem with the neighbours waterpump has been resolved. In general, all our rooms are pretty quiet, especially the poolside rooms, but that is also depending on the staying guests. Feel free to check out the reviews, not only on TA, but also on other internet fora before you decide. Kindest regards, Mause Koekoek Garden Resort
Show all answers
Answer from Garden_Resort
Rayong, Thailand4 contributions
Hi there, Sorry about this (very) late response. I must have missed the email from TA. Anyway: In my opinion, one of the best massage parlors on Koh Chang is 'Kaew & Deaw Massage' in Kai Bae, just off the main road near 'Mango Tree' bungalows. Kind regards, Mause Koekoek Garden Resort
Answer from Garden_Resort
Rayong, Thailand4 contributions
Hi Kerry2811, The pool is open 24/7 with the restriction that you don't wake up any other customers :-) Kind regards, Garden Resort
Show all answers
Answer from Garden_Resort
Rayong, Thailand4 contributions
Dear Maryorogo, Garden Resort is located in Kai Bae, 16-19 km from the ferry pier, depending on which ferry you arrive. Once on Koh Chang, there are shared taxi's waiting to bring travelers to their destination. From the pier to Garden Resort is charged at app 80 THB per person. Garden Resort is not located directly at the beach, but the nearest (sandy) beach is just 250 meters walk from the resort. Kind regards, Mause Koekoek Garde Resort
LaMangaJ0 wrote a tip Feb 2023
La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain60 contributions37 helpful votes
"As you walk onto the main road, turn right and there's a great Mexican restaurant called 'Barrio', authentic and high quality food. Pizzeris is also fabulous. "
Read full review
Edwin N wrote a tip Sept 2020
Ban Chang, Thailand14 contributions9 helpful votes
"I prefer poolsite room"
Read full review
kungvaldemar wrote a tip Jan 2020
3 contributions4 helpful votes
"Family bungalow is very nice."
Read full review
Kimbelina24 wrote a tip Sept 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand85 contributions33 helpful votes
"Back pool room for most privacy and furthermost from the road (though I didnt have any issues with noise)."
Read full review
johnnyb510 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Southampton, New York30 contributions11 helpful votes
"All rooms quiet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ko Chang area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$67 - AU$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kai bae garden hotel koh chang, hotel kai bae garden
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Chang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GARDEN RESORT (AU$67): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ko Chang, Thailand) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Garden Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Garden Resort?
Nearby attractions include Filou Cocktail Lounge (0.2 km), Boss Collection Tailor (0.2 km), and Mojito Lounge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Garden Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Garden Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Garden Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Garden Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Garden Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mordi e Fuggi, Chill Out Cafe, and Koh Chang Wine Gallery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Garden Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Garden Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Thai, and Dutch.