We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden Of Joy Resort

Save
Share
Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (76)
Pool & Beach (12)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#27 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Garden of Joy or soon named Koh Chang East Coast resort is a peaceful resort on more than 20.000m2 of land, beachfront swimming pool, free use of kajak, jacussi, aged trees gardens, fishpound, rental bikes etc.. Also a delicious restaurant with international dishes. Soon will be added, a mini golf, massage parlor, beachbar and more... Very well priced, this resort is for almost all budgets.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
47Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 10
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pan J wrote a review Feb 2020
Gothenburg, Sweden13 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for 4 night in the basic bungalow a3 and a1. We got a3 at first but changed efter the AC was making a squeaking noice and it was hard for me to sleep. The room is in need of some upkeep but everything function accordingly. A1 room was in a better condition and we liked the room. For the rate it's a good place. + Kind and helpful staff/ owner that worked hard to keep the place nice and welcoming. + Consistent breakfast with bread, rice, cereal, egg ECT it's pretty much the same daily + Quiet and relaxing location ( if you like nature) with nice pool, rocky beach and free kayaks. + Good price for a nice room with a lil patio on each bungalow with mini fridge, wifi and AC. + Free shuffle to/from ferry/hotel (contact the hotel). Motor bike rental good rate if you rent more than 3 days. + Clean - location if you don't rent car or motorbike it can be expensiv/ restricted (hotel taxi dropp off and pickup time) to explore others beaches. We drove motorbike in the dark but it's not something I would recommend since the road is full of ups and down with sharp curves. Be careful. - rocky beach though u can borrow wet shoes if you want to swim there (small sizes) - The rooms we stayed in need minor upgrade. Curtain stuck and hard to close (a3). Shower faucet have a sharp hole and it's hard to turn when your hand is slippery. - hard bed just like the rest of thailand. Improvement suggestions. Add hairdryer. Shelf in the bathroom for toiletries. Softer top bed for a better night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Catherine V wrote a review Nov 2019
Belgium115 contributions49 helpful votes
After having stayed on the West coast of Koh Chang, we took a taxi to the ferry where we were picked up by the shuttle of the Garden of Joy. We were impressed by the variety of plants and trees. It is really fenominal ! It has been built 15 years ago completely in the original Thai teadition . Very charming. The vegetation gives also a lot of shadow which is more than welcome in such a warm climate. The cabins are well spread over the garden. The swimming pool with jacuzzi is rather large and when in the water one can admire the view of the sea. This provides a heavenly feeling! The sunbeds were protecting us from the sun as covered by umbrellas. One could easily move them to a place under the trees on the boarder of the sea . We were here with 2 teenagers, who enjoyed the canoeing, the badminton, the petanque and the ball games in the swimming pool. We all enjoyed the food served. The menu provides a large variety of Thai food, European dishes (spare ribs, steak , self made pizza etc) and some Belgian specialities : mussels & steak stew (carbonade/stoofvlees). All were very tasty and reasonably priced ! ( the best food we received in Thailand). A small word on the breakfast. The bread is prepared by a real Belgian baker and this could be tasted ! But one can also go for a Thai breakfast. The coffee machine produced excellent coffee (something we missed in the other hotels). The service of the staff is excellent. Besides the quiteness of this paradise, the sport activities and the excellent food we also got some valuable info on the island from the ex (Vlaamse)Brussels owner. Thanks to him, the boys had their first scuba dives. The Paddy owner is also an ex Belgian resident, so the courses can be provided in different languages. Conclusion, this little quite paradise is highly recommended. After our 5 days stay, we went to Bangkok with a private minibus (iamkohchang.com). This transport is very easy and reliable. We were pleased with the delivered service. Note that the booking of this hotel has to be paid cash. Their is an ATM located in the next door hospital.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: all rooms have a similar view & are very calm this is rather a small resort but with an...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Julia R wrote a review Aug 2019
Augsburg, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is not like it’s displayed here. Pool is not working, the restaurant is out of service. A taxi to literally any place is 500 Baht. In the evening no staff is present and you can’t even sit on the patio. We were really disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AlainVanachter, Owner at The Garden Of Joy Resort
Responded 6 Aug 2019
Really bad to use tripadvisor , you been with us on the cheapest program we have, you paid les then 800 the per bungalow per night with aircon and daily clean. You spend NOTHING in the restaurant or in the bar, even not a bottle of water. The neighbor asked us what kind of people you where to buy a half liter of benzine to put in your motorbike!! And on the top you even not paid the cheap amount of 5.200 THB (about 145 euro) for 3 nights stay in 2 bungalows on the sea!!! When you had to pay the agreed price with Booking.com you say I pay 500 less because you decide to NOT PAY WHAT WHAS DUE!! You make yourself ridiculous, sorry that I have to say that. Taxi service is provided by the hotel, and what you mention 500 THB is for a 54 KM ride that take more than one hour!! In example to the ferry is 9 km is 150THB (and we offered you that for free also) If you have to go on Holliday on this manner please dont go!! To finish you make fake reviews to justifie your acts of extreme GREEDY people. Wish I have not to respond on a review as this
Read more
Marti wrote a review Jan 2019
5 contributions
We found this place whilst exploring the quieter east coast of koh chang and wish we had found it earlier. The staff couldn't have been nicer the accommodation was great and so was the location. The food was excellent. You do need transport to get around as it's very quiet and the resort does offer a shuttle service to white sands. ♥️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jeni_L_12_12 wrote a review Jan 2019
Kitchener, Canada22 contributions10 helpful votes
We spent nearly eight days on this lush, green, beautiful East coast resort. The resort has a huge property full of lovely gardens. We stayed in a garden bungalow and it was super clean and well-kept. When we didn't need our room cleaned, the staff still brought extra toilet paper and water, without us having to request or ask. The pool is super lovely as it overlooks the ocean. Yes, there isn't a sandy beach, but the owners provide wet shoes so you can enjoy the water anyway! We went swimming in the ocean many times and enjoyed it immensely. We also enjoyed the beach bar where you can get some nice cocktails. The restaurant food is excellent. The menu is quite big full of Thai dishes (amazing Seabass, tomyum, pad thai, pad see ew, curries, all of the good stuff). The Western food is also really good considering where you are. We have been living in Bangkok and haven't enjoyed a steak dinner since we got to this resort, which is really good value. The staff were very attentive and often brought our food down to our bungalow when we wanted to eat on the cute little porch instead of in the restaurant. Breakfast is nice, but their homemade jams (especially banana jam) was amazing! The owner, Alain, is super friendly and accommodating. We didn't really want to drive on the island so he helped arrange transportation for us. He's very interactive with the guests and it's nice to see an owner help his staff with cooking, serving, and clearing plates. He's very hands-on. We also appreciated how open he was to having us bring our dog. No worries with him. We are responsible dog owners but it was nice to not be slapped with a list of strict rules of where our little guy could go. He welcomed our dog to explore and sniff the property and it was so nice having him come to the water/poolside with us. We are super excited to return as it's a wonderful getaway from Bangkok for us and our little dog. Thank-you so much and see you again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 26 - USD 59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Chang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Garden Of Joy Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Nearby attractions include Klong Plu Waterfall (7.6 km), White Sand Beach (6.5 km), and Koh Chang Milano Fashion (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza King Express, Ciao Koh Chang, and Taste of India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Garden Of Joy Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Garden Of Joy Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Garden Of Joy Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.