We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Aiyapura Koh Chang

Save
Share
29 Moo 3 Klong Son Beach, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
USD 40
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/21
StayForLong
USD 76
View Deal
Agoda.com
USD 33
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 40
Booking.comUSD 41
Expedia.comUSD 40
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (449)
Room & Suite (316)
Dining (87)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Updated 01/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 87 hotels in Ko Chang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are Pet Friendly Resort- Situated in the Gulf of Thailand is a tropical island paradise, affectionately called Koh Chang or in English, Elephant Island. It is a picturesque island of rainforest, jungles, high mountains, spectacular coastlines, fine white sandy beaches, blue sea, corals, waterfalls and an abundance of marine life.Aiyapura is an independent hotel located on a forty acre beach-front property in Klong Son Bay. Beautiful Thai style villasare surrounded by green tropical gardens with ocean views, set around a large 30 metre leaf shaped swimming pool. We offer the perfect natural environment for rest and relaxation, and a well-located base to explore all the activities Koh Chang has to offer. Koh Chang can be reached from Bangkok by direct flight in only 45 minutes, or in 5 hours by car or the hotel van service.Only 5 minutes from the ferry pier (many high end resorts are up to 1 hour from the pier) and White Sand Beach is easily accessible with the hotel shuttle .
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Quiet
382Reviews6Q+A55Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 110
  • 60
  • 21
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AllanStick wrote a review Feb. 2020
Trouville-sur-Mer, France5 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful hotel with an amazing location. The hotel has a great restaurant by the water - it's possible to order the food "Thai style" which makes it more authentic. The rooms are very nice and clean. The hotel staff are really helpful and polite. The beach by the hotel is not very good - I recommend to take the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel to go to White Sands beach in stead.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aiyaphol Kemapuckpong, Other at The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Responded 25 Feb. 2020
Dear AllanStick, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Your kind words have been passed on to the relevant departments, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review of our hotel. Of course, if you prefer the food the way the locals have it, you can certainly choose to have it made as the chef would make for himself! Thank you once again for taking your time to write this review. Best Regards,
Read more
Peter H wrote a review Feb. 2020
1 contribution
Well past its sell by date, like something from the 1970s. They keep you as a captive on site. No shuttle bus after 5pm, no taxis on site so you have to use their amenities. The rooms are very rated as are the THe and the channels are useless for English-speaking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from aiyaph0lk, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Responded 11 Feb. 2020
Dear Peter H, Thank you for taking your time to review. Under any legal provisions, and fairly obviously, “keeping our guests captive” would be illegal under thai law and we do not do that. It is simply in the interest of our business, as like any other business, to strategically plan our business. We are able to call a taxi for you commission free, and your request could easily be fulfilled at the front desk. Unfortunately as we are on an island the only available TV is satellite. I apologise that your stay was not satisfactory. If you have any other questions please do not hesitate to contact the hotel through our website. Best regards, Management
Read more
AGP8 wrote a review Jan. 2020
Frankfurt, Germany95 contributions42 helpful votes
Service is the one good thing about this hotel. It was sad however to see people seemed to be overworked, we saw for many days the same crew working from 7 AM to 10 PM all day. (not sure what labor laws are here but it was too much). Also, they are definitely short on staff, so these people have to be in a rush all the time. The restaurant, the reception, the cleaning crew... definitely not taken care of. They are all so nice despite all of this. The grounds are dilapidated and unkempt, weeds, dirt... Pool's water is murky and for such a long place, there is only one pool, and one restaurant. I am sure when it was a smaller place that design was enough, not now. Even the painting (blue and white like a public office), there is no design or taste. Worse yet, there is a huge warehouse looking building in the middle of the place that is a true eyesore, some sort of "Events" salon, tacky! It makes you feel you are in the middle of some cheese town and not in a charming island. The worse part is that guests can smoke everywhere, yes, while you are trying to enjoy your breakfast in the covered terrace, you can't because there are smokers in every table, the same thing at dinner, so you are stuck indoors. Even outside our room, we couldn't enjoy our own patio because smoking is allowed in every single place and we had smokers in both sides. Unlike other resorts of the island, like Centara, where they have specific secluded places for people who chose this habit. In here you come to relax and breathe fresh air but YOU CAN'T. Not to mention that their neighbor burns things every day, so you get all the smoke from that place at night too. Air quality very poor :( . Can't sleep with your windows open unless you want all the smoke in. The beach is beautiful to look at, not to swim through. It is extremely shallow and gooey at the bottom. If you take the paddleboard you can cross to the other resorts which do have a beautiful beach and a MUCH BETTER restaurant, but of course, Aiyapura makes you return the kayak and paddleboards as early as 5, so you can't enjoy the sunset on the better beach. It's pretty pathetic, they have people working at weird hours everywhere else, but not in the one place that should be open before sunrise and after sunset. (not a customer-oriented decision ) There is a white truck that drives up and down collecting trash and laundry, I think, watch out that they will run you over if you are on the way, careless and noisy this was a surprise to see. This place is definitely a 2 star, 3 if generous. The rooms were ok, instead of building sliding doors towards the beach and some steps, looks like they ran out of money and made a small door in the side. NO little shower to clean your feet, no care to detail. Cheap soap and fluorescent green shampoo. Bath jets didn't work. There is so much potential in that room but it seems there is no interest to make it better. There is nowhere to go at a walking distance, so they offer few free shuttles to town but not at the times when you need them such as dinner time, they lock you there unless you want to pay for a taxi. go ahead and pay because there are much better dinner options out in town. Had this place be half the price, I would feel it was worth the money, but at this rate, they are overpriced for the quality they offer. Disappointing. There are much better places with nice beaches by Klong Prao Beach and others. (at similar rates) My friends were put on the top of the hotel, with 2 babies, and they had to hike a "non-stroller friendly" path each day to get to the beach. Terrible planning. If you do want to come to this island, research other places, this one is overpriced for what it offers, or rather, for all the things they don' t offer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from aiyaph0lk, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Responded 21 Jan. 2020
Dear AGP8 Thank you for your constructive criticism. Some points you have bought my attention to has been able to help us improve our guests experience. Although, you brought some points which I would like to address here: -If you were staying in a garden villa there are footbaths in some rooms and in front near the beach, and throughout the beach we have showers and footbaths available. -Koh chang is a seasonal demand destination so the “event salon” is necessary during the low season for us. -We do not compensate for our location. Specifically if you would like a quiet, private retreat away from the hustle and bustle we would be perfect for you. As a business we also strategically carry out our services. The three shuttle bus services throughout the day is how we try to apologise for being isolated. -Our staff do not work 7am to 10pm. The only person who works that long would be me. The veteran restaurant staff work in the morning then the evening during our busiest times. -I will address the smoking issue, although it seems as if your neighbours were chain smokers. -Sometimes unknowing motorists drive into the resort and they tend to drive quickly through the resort, as well as our own guests. -You paid less than €150 per night. If you sort by price we are the cheapest 4 star hotel already. -It is unsafe for you to paddle during the hours of darkness. -The tide comes and goes. If you were here all day, you could swim when the tide was the highest so your feet don’t touch the grossness. -The neighbour who was burning charcoal was told to stop multiple times, however that is completely out of our control. Most of these questions I could’ve answered/solved easily if you had asked me to during your stay. However it is equally as well as you wrote them down here. Thank you for taking the time to write your criticisms. I’m sorry i couldn’t see that you had a below average experience. Best Wishes, Management
Read more
MangoSurfer wrote a review Jan. 2020
Bangkok, Thailand29 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
After getting over the fact that the Aiyapura was not what we expected, we had an enjoyable time. Far more attention to detail and just general upkeep is encouraged. Only now do I see it was "Formerly Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang." The overall appearance is more like a military barracks than a resort. We enjoyed our room and it was well appointed, however overall maintenance of the Aiyapura is in need. More than anything, it appears to need far greater management. This will be seen in the photos but professionalism and higher standards are in need. This was evident in how employees zoomed unsafely through the resort on their motorcycle, or one day where the white maintenance pick-up truck nearly hit us on our scooters as they sped into the entrance. Moreover, a 4.0 rating (very good) seems overly generous. Yes, kind people at the front desk yet extremely overpriced food/beverage (120 baht coconut is more than 3x the "normal" price but then again, the hotel's location makes it difficult to access other options). Again, we had an enjoyable vacation but you may want to do yourself a service and shop around a bit. There surely are better places (actually just across the bay there are!). Last, know there are no sunsets in winter due to how hotel is positioned.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jejeuk wrote a review Jan. 2020
1 contribution
Very nice stay at the aiyapura hotel. Excellent services and personals in superb and quiet environment. Perfect Family holidays. Efficiently provided amazing opportunities for all for not an excessive price. Would highly recommend for fans of surreal scenery and those craving adventure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from aiyaph0lk, Assistant Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Responded 2 Jan. 2020
Dear Jejeuk Thank you very much for taking your time to review our resort, and your kind comments have been passed on to the relevant departments. We would like to thank you for appreciating our hard work we put into putting a smile on your face as well as appreciating your satisfaction for staying with us and having a good time! If you have any further inquiries or questions please do not hesitate to contact our customer relations team at rsvn@aiyapura.com Yours Sincerely
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 40 - USD 80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aiyapura resort and spa, aiyapura resort koh chang, aiyapura hotel koh chang
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Chang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Which popular attractions are close to The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Nearby attractions include King Tailor (7.3 km), Khlong Prao Beach (7.6 km), and White Sand Beach (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza King Express, Ciao Koh Chang, and Marco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Aiyapura Koh Chang?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Aiyapura Koh Chang offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The Aiyapura Koh Chang have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.