We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Millsap-Baker Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Millsap-Baker Estate
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Millsap-Baker Estate
 Click to rate
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My husband and I were traveling with friends to ride the Virginia Creeper trail which I highly recommend. I also recommend this charming B & B. Upon arrival there was a generous variety of complementary wines, a bowl of fresh fruit, and a bowl of candies. I found this to be most welcoming and a nice touch. Our bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbperez12
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

We also very much enjoyed your stay -- the Winter season is a relatively quiet one and we always enjoy new friends stopping by to share our morning meal. Looking forward to your return for the rhododendrons. As they grow along the Virginia Creeper Trail throughout the 2000 foot elevation rise from Damascus to the top at White Top Station,...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

Enjoyed our stay. We were there with our friends and agree it was a nice experience. Our room was cozy and unique as is the entire house of Victorian antiques. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. As our friend Nick reported we look forward to another stay in the spring to visit the Virginia Creeper Trail when the rhododendron...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Wayne, I can never express enough how much we enjoy and appreciate all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to serving you in our "extended" Rhododendron "season" -- extended by the significant (2000') range in altitude that the Virginia Creeper Trail provides between White Top Station and Damascus. Please let us know when...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We were two of three couples that stayed here at the same time and we four all agreed it was a very nice experience. The previous review that said "never again" is saying things that are untrue. We stayed the same time they were there. I know this because the owners asked for our opinion of the breakfast after the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Nick, et. al. Thank you for trying to "set the record straight". We never claim "gourmet" cooking, rather a good, plentiful, southern breakfast. No matter what one does, there will always be those we meet that are having a bad day. Unfortunately, people are so much more likely to leave a review when they are unhappy, yet it takes many,...

Clarkesville, Georgia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

host was note on door telling us basically to take care of ourselves. first sign of host was sound of gong next morning telling us we were late for breakfast. should have skipped it altogether. burned eggs, burned bacon and frozen biscuits. downstairs was Victorian museum furnishings. bed worn out-mattress needs replaced, shower didn't work. lighting impossible for reading. host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vldodgen
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Wow, how does one respond to something like this? Perhaps they weren't feeling well or just had a bad day, but will all of the false accusations, I feel I simply must respond. First, let me say that we are both very saddened that you were not happy here – we do try our best to provide the very nicest...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed there while riding the Creeper Trail. The house, rooms and furnishings were beautiful and elegant. The antiques were interesting. My favorite part was that the owners, James and Connie, were so friendly and engaging that a sense of community developed among the guests. We found ourselves visiting, laughing and enjoying the free snacks and drinks out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

We, too, enjoy it so much more when we "click" with our guests. That has been the most unexpected joy of our life as B&B hosts -- meeting so many interesting people and sharing just a bit of their lives. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review -- so many people just don't realize the importance this...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 27 August 2016

At first we thought we had made a wrong turn, and then the driveway opened onto a manicured lawn and a beautiful Victorian mansion. When we stepped inside and saw the antiques, the library, the huge kitchen, and the beautiful downstairs sitting rooms, we knew we were in the right place. Our hosts James led us upstairs to our bedroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmichaelfitzpatrick
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I love landscaping, and it certainly keeps me busy -- maintaining the manor house is my wife's talent and pleasure. We never imagined that someday we would be hosting a Bed and Breakfast, but have found it to be the most rewarding occupation we have ever had. Meeting and sharing time with...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Last minute booking on the way to The Creeper Trail. When you drive up realize you are looking at side of the original house. Owners live above the garage. Once inside you will be transported back in time. If you enjoy antiques book here. Connie and James had handmade snacks as well as drinks for the taking. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wagsplace
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review -- and for being the wonderful people you are. You are absolutely correct -- before the highway was moved down the hill, it originally passed right in front of the other side of the house. The driveway now leads directly to the back "kitchen entrance" -- one cannot see the front of the house from...

Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Period decor was like a walk back in time. Host was gracious and special food request granted with a smile. Craft beer in the fridge and a good wine selection made check in a best ever experience. Right outside of downtown Damascus, VA, a hiker and bicycle type village that supports it's own craft brewery. Appalachian Trail nearby. Mountains, streams,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaddlePoor
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate it. Yes, when I renovated the house a few years ago (a 3 ½ year, daily effort), we retro-fitted the Millsap-Baker Estate's 1895 manor house with a full central air system. Gone are the days of high humidity or freezing temperatures in the rooms without fireplaces. Unfortunately, at the time we...

Concord,
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I are 62 years old and have been married 42 years. The Millsap-Baker B&B was where we chose to celebrate our anniversary. We had never stayed in a B&B before. It was an absolutely beautiful home. James met us when we arrived, took us in and explained all the procedures. He made us feel very welcomed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8128YWsusanr
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for taking the time to leave us a review even though you had nothing to complain about! But seriously, we do try to put on a grand spread for breakfast – my wife does enjoy cooking, and is very good at it, if I do say so myself. Sitting and talking with our...

Newland, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My husband and I just celebrated our honeymoon here and let me tell you it was everything we dreamed it would be and more. When you walk in you are in another time period of the 1800's and you are simply swept away by it. The house was immaculate and James Baker the owner and his wife were so kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charleneq54
James B, Owner at Millsap-Baker Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for you generous comments on the house, furnishings, and of course, breakfast. We both love the elegance, detail, and craftsmanship of the Victorian style and had a wonderful time shopping for just the right furniture or decorative piece to add to our family heirlooms and create the proper mood – historical and elegant, yet comfortable and interesting. Since...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damascus
17.1 km away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
16.6 km away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
404 reviews
14.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Abingdon
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
170 reviews
14.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
104 reviews
33.2 km away
General Francis Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At The Millsap-Baker Estate, you don't just get a room and breakfast - you get personal attention and service that is truly "a cut above the rest." Built by our great great uncle in 1895, this historic Queen Anne Victorian manor house and four of its original bedrooms have been completely restored and authentically furnished to Victorian grandeur - an elegant retreat in the Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millsap-Baker Estate

Address: 32026 Hollyfield Rd, Damascus, VA 24236-2520
Region: United States > Virginia > Damascus
Price Range: $135 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millsap-Baker Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Millsap-Baker Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Millsap-Baker Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about thermostat adjustments as the rooms are all operated on a single HVAC unit.”
 of 5 bubbles SaddlePoor, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room is good with a great view”
 of 5 bubbles mg362, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the yellow "bridal" suite, which has hard wood floors...beautiful, but a little chilly in February. If you stay in the winter months, I might opt to stay in the big "honeymoon" suite which is carpeted.”
 of 5 bubbles thebarbariangirl, 3 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The Honey Moon suite is excellent !”
 of 5 bubbles 737carlr, 31 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Try the Mill or Dancing Bear.”
 of 5 bubbles Bokuden, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5