We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 200: English reviews
Goochland, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Don't bother trying to get any sleep ..partying drinking smoking cursing went on till 2:00AM. Called front desk still continued for another hour. Not a place to bring children. Room was musty and old.

Helpful?
Thank millerdk
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I will start out by saying that I have never written a terrible review like this before and have never left a hotel refusing to stay after checking in. We had been there for about 3 hours and were ready to go to bed, when I pulled back the sheets and found the bug that is pictured here. I looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank kyot
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our Covington property. We are sorry that your stay with us was less than pleasant. I have reviewed this file and it was noted that Price line did call and speak with the Manager on Duty. No refund was issued, as you have mentioned. The room was searched, no bugs were found,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Covington hotels

Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Hotel was ok. Dated. Toilet leaked and made noise to the point you had to close the door to sleep. Had to ask for toilet paper and other items. Also had to ask to have room cleaned for fresh linen. Here is the main complaint: You book a hotel to "sleep and rest" while traveling. They have a DJ in... More 

Helpful?
Thank JustSaying1991
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are sorry that your experience with us was less than pleasant! Please know that we take every concern brought to our attention and address it, so that it can be resolved! We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future! Sincerely, Cary L More 

Stem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

To start I will say the room was very clean, with fresh towels and sheets. In my opinion when one hotel buys another, the new owners should "erase" evidence of what the hotel use to be. Information provided in the room was a typed sheet from the management of the Best Western. The rooms, while clean are very, very dated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carpe2014
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look to it for guidance! We have tried to remove all items from our previous brand, and do check often to ensure that these materials are not in the rooms, we are sorry that an item was left in yours. We are proud... More 

Logan, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My family stayed there on 8-18-2016thru 8-20-2016. When we checked in the staff was very friendly. We went to our room and was very disappointed, the floors were so nasty we wouldn't even think of taking our shoes off and the room smelled very musky, the air conditioner wasn't working properly so we asked for a room change but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank tinazms
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are sorry that your experience with us was less than pleasant! We sincerely try to ensure that all guests are checked into a satisfactory room. Sometimes, even when cleaned, it is not a happy experience. When notified by the guest that they are not satisfied, we either... More 

Avoca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This hotel is a clean, friendly and budget friendly hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find out how wonderful it was. I was a little skeptical based on others opinions, but my personal experience says otherwise. This is the place to stay if you are in this area.

Helpful?
Thank Lori Jo K
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate such a great review and are glad that you have noticed how hard we work to make sure our guests experience is an A+ experience! Sincerely, Cary L. More 

Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This place is owned by the same place we originally stayed at, Americas Best. We had our grandson with us and after spending many hrs at the West Virginia State Fair, it was pushing 1am and we had to find some place to sleep. The room was much nicer than the other hotel. No nasty carpet on the floor, though... More 

Helpful?
Thank backcreekvalleyy2016
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all feedback into consideration and welcome both the good and the bad! Our property is part of a group of hotels and we try to ensure that all guests are satisfied. As much as we loved you staying with us, we are saddened that you were... More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We just checked into the room about an hour ago. The room is moist and damp...even the toilet tissue has a damp feel to it...and the floor is wet by the door. Other reviews say to stay on the back side because of the noise up front. Well, I guess you choose noisy or damp because we are in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are sorry that your stay with us was less than pleasant! It would help tremendously to know which room it was that you had a problem with so that we do not have the same problem again! Unfortunately, sometimes we do not know that there is an... More 

Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

First, know that this hotel is not visible at street level; you must turn off the main road to drive up the hill to reach it. Signage at this turn is small and easy to miss. This is an old, outdated Best Western. All doors open to the outside.The room was clean but had the cheapest of everything. The toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhiteCatWriting
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your most recent stay! It is only from the guests perspective that we know where we need to improve and what we are doing well! I have noted your review with our management team. Although there is no way to make the bathroom larger, we are looking... More 

Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped in passing by... We will NEVER stay here again. The front staff lady was rude. When we were asking questions about room she acted like it was a complete inconvenience to her! There was some sort of party going on, it was so loud in the lobby well after midnight. When we got to the room, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank RLBmom
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had these inconveniences during your most recent stay with us. We would like to know a little bit more about your stay to determine who checked you in and also who cleaned your room. could you please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with Joann or email the hotel at magnusonhotelcovingtonva@gmail.com. We are... More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
27.4 km away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4,363 reviews
3.3 km away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
16 reviews
32.0 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
40 reviews
29.8 km away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
2,315 reviews
13.3 km away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Region: United States > Virginia > Covington
Price Range: $166 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter nights!!”
 of 5 bubbles JustSaying1991, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great. No worries there!”
 of 5 bubbles lorijok2015, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wanted to say this place was hard to find at night...stay on 2nd floor, does have an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles backcreekvalleyy2016, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles KTHarrison, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ONLY take rooms on back side of hotel...and not the one next to the laundry service area.”
 of 5 bubbles robswnl, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay