We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice HIE. Good clean rooms, quiet area near 664 but no traffic noise at all. Friendly staff at all times and good cookies in the evening. Free WI-Fi was fast and reliable during my week long stay. This is our second time here and I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank John K
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General Manager More 

Bath, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Room, staff, & amenities well maintained and user friendly. Many classmates also reserved in same hotel so we could have non-conference get together s in a relaxing environment. Good location. Breakfast room understaffed for numbers being served.

Helpful?
Thank Philip C
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Philip, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General Manager More 

Spring Hill, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Just stayed here a few days ago while in town for funeral. The front desk staff and manager are nice, professional and down to earth people. They are great! The property was taken back by the bank and is now operated by a management company. The problem is that they have put band aids on some things and renting rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank David E
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General... More 

Travellers are raving about these Chesapeake hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We booked this hotel because it was still within a reasonable driving distance from Virginia Beach. The rooms are nice and spacious. The carpets need TLC. The worst was that when we walked into the elevator and got to our floor the entire floor smelled like weed. The front desk could not move us because the hotel was sold out.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sealover1968
Jimmy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely,... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for13 days. The front desk clerk, Frank, was awesome. Whenever we came in, he would greet us with "welcome home." During or stay the pool was out of service the entire 13 days. I had chosen this hotel because it had a pool. I had been doing a water aerobics routine to relieve back pain for at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DrAmaOColumbus_Ohio
Jimmy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear DrAmaOColumbus_Ohio, Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback about your stay. Since your stay the hotel has opened its newly renovated pool/hot tub area. I will take your comments and share them with our entire staff. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Some of the most recent reviews of this hotel was accurate, but I chose to ignore them. I have had good experiences with holiday inn up until this past weekend. Soon as I walked in the room it felt very out dated, then I went to cut on a light and saw how displeasing the room really was. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salae H
Jimmy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Salae H, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant... More 

Biloxi, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The hotel is under new management and some improvements are very visible. However, the breakfast still is not very appetizing or varied. The room was clean but basic. The shower rod was loose and a little shaky as to whether it was going to stay up. The noise outside and in the dining area was loud and continuous most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janiet A
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Janiet, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We are in the process of updating our hotel throughout 2016 thank you for noticing what progress... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Overall the facility was run and maintained well; staff always friendly and helpful, and the location extremely convenient to my business needs. An incident occurred during my stay where a group of rowdy guests (biker club of approx. 15-20) partied loudly in the parking lot one night till the early morning, causing one of my group to go out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken F
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Ken F, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better... More 

Manning, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Everyone, from the front desk to breakfast staff to housekeeping were friendly and made us feel right at home. They couldn't have been nicer. They replaced the pillows on our bed while we were there and I saw new mattresses being delivered.

Helpful?
Thank isabellebr0wn
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear isabellebr0wn, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is working on replacing all of our guestroom pillows and mattresses throughout 2016. I'll make sure to personally share your review with our entire staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to... More 

Akron
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Spent six night stay here on business. Holiday Inn Express is usually my go to place to stay if available. I have always had great experiences at other HIEX's, Unfortunately not so here. Front desk people very friendly and helpful. Kudo's to them. Lobby and entrance very nice. Thats where it ends. Room disappointing to say the least. TV wobbly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IEBob
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear IEBob, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General... More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
17.8 km away
Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
1.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
18.0 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
17.4 km away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#11 of 42 in Chesapeake
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chesapeake is proud to offer 90 clean comfortable guest rooms including, 21 suites and 6 relaxing whirlpool rooms for your home away from home. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure we are just minutes away from where you need to be! We are conveniently located near Suffolk, Norfolk, Portsmouth and Hampton Va. Local businesses include: Greenbrier Area, US Joint forces Command, US Coast Guard Station, Norfolk Naval Base , Portsmouth Naval Base, JTASC, Portsmouth Naval Hospital, Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk General Hospital, Northrop Grumman, Harbor View, Chesapeake Square Business District, Cavalier Industrial Park, Ferguson Enterprises, General Dynamics, Lockheed Martin. We offer complimentary USA TODAY and local newspaper, indoor pool, hot tub, exercise facility, meeting room, business center, and 24 hour guest laundry. All guest rooms have microwave and refrigerator. Our premier hotel offers to all travelers, whether business or pleasure, spacious rooms. So be SMART All rooms now feature the Kohler Stay SMART shower head, curved shower rods, SMART roast coffee, and Simply SMART bath amenities. Bringing your computer? Our hotel offers free hi-speed Internet. So be SMART and Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chesapeake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Address: 2436 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Price Range: $114 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps low floors”
 of 5 bubbles Sealover1968, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for high floor rooms facing away from parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles 364kenf, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Xanadu345, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“STAY AWAY- NOT even quality of HIE you would expect. A real dump!”
 of 5 bubbles AliceA119, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try your car. Parking lot looked pretty good. Then come in for breakfast. It's the only thing going for this motel.”
 of 5 bubbles AirRabbitt, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay