We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Boar's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Boar\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Boars Head Inn this week as a one-night anniversary getaway . We enjoyed visiting Monticello and Ashlawn and the Michie Tavern, and we had a nice dinner in the Bistro and a nice breakfast in the Old Mill Room. We had not even thought that the inn would be decorated for the holidays. What a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpringfieldVA
Management response:

Dear SpringfieldVA, A very happy anniversary to you, and thank you for letting Boar's Head be a part of your celebration! Each season at Boar's Head offers something extraordinary; the glory of this holiday is spectacular. We do hope you will return and make it an annual visit. Kind regards, Russ Cronberg

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I just left a massage spa service that was disappointing at best. A 50 minute massage that, with gratuity included, set me back $165.20. The massage was just ok. And spending that amount would have been fine if the amenities were anything to speak of. On the contrary, all that is offered is a steam room that you can't spend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aconic
Management response:

Dear Aconic, Thank you for taking time to review our property but your SPA experience more specifically. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience did not meet your expectations from the actual treatment down to the amenties and water we offer in our relaxation rooms. We as a team have already discussed your comments in how we can...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was wonderful and backed onto the lake area, including a screen door for easy access. The furnishings were elegant and tasteful. Location was perfect for visiting the University, less than two miles from most points of interest. We didn't have time to take advantage of the amenities but was jealous in reading through the in-room guide of all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 165march
Management response:

Dear 165 March, Thank you very much for taking time to leave your feedback. We couldn't agree more about our wonderful paradise in such a great city as Charlottesville. Next time you will need to stay longer and enjoy all we have to offer! Thank you again and we look forward to having you back again soon. Warm Regards, Russ...

Leesburg, Va
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed over night because we took advantage of the option to fly one of their balloons. The customer service was excellent, and Sunday brunch was first class. We enjoyed staying there very much. I am handicapped, and everyone went out of their way to accommodate and help me whenever they could.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebparks_12
Management response:

Dear ebparks_12, Thank you so much for leaving comments about your recent stay and we are so happy that you came and went on a flight in one of our balloons! Our captain is one of a kindest is our staff. Hopefully we will get an opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future! Best, Russ Cronberg

Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Boars Head Inn on a lovely fall weekend. The restaurant and grounds were exquisite. I unfortunately left a suitcase in our hotel room and drove home unbeknownst that the suitcase was still in the room. The loss prevention officer Chantel was most professional finding my suitcase and sending it to me within 48 hours. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamA56
Management response:

Dear WilliamA56, Thank you so much for your review. The fall is truly an amazing time to be here and we are glad you came. We will pass on the great feedback about Chantel, we couldn't agree more! We hope to have you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Russ Cronberg

Lansdowne, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time at Boar's Head. I would definitely come back and recommend this place to everybody. Very luxurious, historical resort close to UVA. The staffs are very friendly and welcoming. The room decoration is elegant. Lots of luxury mixed with history. The beds are comfortable. We stayed at 2 Queen bedrooms. The room and bathroom were specious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadanSS
Management response:

Dear LadanSS, Thank you for taking time to provide us with such an outstanding review. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to Charlottesville. We appreciate that you chose to stay at Boar's Head.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight for parents weekend at UVA. The Boar's Head is a lovely historic inn with up to date rooms and amenities. The grounds are extensive, the facilities top notch, the rooms are comfortable and elegant, the service is excellent. We wish we could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
Management response:

Dear Ann T, we appreciate that you took time to include your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you for choosing to stay at Boar's Head. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

attended a conference that was held at the Boar's Head Inn, and it was wonderful. We stayed in a regular guest room, but it was very nice and spacious. We had a semi-private balcony (separated from the neighbors by fixed shutter panels), and a King bed. We had an oversized vanity and a large frameless shower. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the5allens
Management response:

Dear the5allens, Thank you for your glowing TripAdvisor post about your stay at Boar's Head for a conference. With 22,000 square feet of meeting space and 573 acres of "creative space", we agree that Boar's Head is a wonderful place for a personal retreat or a meeting. We hope to welcome you back real soon. Kind regards, Russ Cronberg

Radford, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Charlottesville after The Top of the Hop Festival. Finding a hotel on short notice was a little challenging. Luckily we found The Boar's Head. The hotel was a nice surprise. It's old but has some nice/necessary upgrades while keeping its charm. Breakfast was very good and the hotel grounds were nice as well. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dolewis78
Management response:

Dear dolewis78, Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor post. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Boar's Head resort and that you were able to find us on short notice. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again when your travels bring you to Charlottesville. Warm regards, Russ Cronberg

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed over night for a two day seminar. Rooms are clean, comfortable, baths updated, fully equipped. Bistro menu was limited, main dining more formal (jacket required) and more expensive then i needed. For casual visitors the golf, tennis and spa are well regarded. Well equipped exercise facility. Grounds are spectacular in season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCIFolye
Management response:

Dear DCIFolye, We appreciate that you took time to include your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you for choosing to stay at Boar's Head. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Russ Cronberg

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.4 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,525 reviews
2.4 km away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
277 reviews
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
215 reviews
4.2 km away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
940 reviews
13.5 km away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Mill Room
Old Mill Room
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: $256 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesville
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boar's Head staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Boar's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We got a double room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The reservations person said those were her favorites.”
 of 5 bubbles SpringfieldVA, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Tough to get a room on the weekends. Serves the University of Virginia.”
  • Balcony Overlooking the Lake
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles ebparks_12, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location, Well maintained resort.”
 of 5 bubbles LadanSS, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are in Charlottesville and are looking for a fine dining experience this is the place to go.”
 of 5 bubbles 174lauraw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“lake-view rooms include balcony/patio--lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay