We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wattstull Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wattstull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wattstull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Naperville, United States
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

This is a traditional motor inn with doors opening to the parking lot. It does have a beautiful view of the mountain across I-81, but the decour is outdated and dirty. The television is an 18 inch diagonal that I haven't seen for 15 years. The refrigerator is nearly frozen solid with a block of ice. The administrative office has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leonard N
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Adequate place to lay your head for the night. Its greatest feature is its location and its allure of days gone by. (very popular with motorcycle riders on the Blue Ridge) Fresh good coffee in air pots in the office in the mornings and an inexpensive danish, but if you eat it at least it will hold you over till...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamblinPapaw
David W, Owner at Wattstull Inn, responded to this review

I would like to personally apologize for the Wi-Fi inconvenience. We had in fact replaced our old system at the start of the week and but still required another AP installation to make sure service at the end of the building was absolutely the best it could be. I would be more than happy to give you a discounted stay...

Crofton, Maryland
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We needed a place close to a wedding venue, the same weekend at a VA Tech game - next to impossible! The Wattstull Inn was very affordable for a one-night stay. No frills, though, so it's really just a resting place. Ann at the front desk was very helpful, but the 10+ deer heads and the bear on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna V
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The Wattstull Inn is our favorite Motel on our ride to Nashville or the Gulf Coast from Connecticut. We stay on the way and on the way back. This is the quintessential old school motel that we love. Clean, pet friendly, nice innkeepers with a spectacular view and a pool. We have used their online reservation system which works perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MConnolly2015
Nescopeck, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We spent the night here on our way down to Tennessee. The place is quiet and located at the top of a hill, making it very easy to find. The staff were pleasant and polite and the room was clean with a new TV and lots of channels. The pool looked well-kept. Parking spaces are a little tight, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acreasy1
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Pet friendly, family owned motel. They are very friendly, laid back, and accommodating. Rooms are nice. Nothing over the top fancy, but very comfortable and clean. Pool is a gorgeous fresh water pool with an amazing view of the mountains. Highly recommended and we would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJ1023
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stopped at Wattstull Inn on a trip from Tennessee to the east coast of Virginia. I felt like I was 10 years old again. My father and I were traveling together and this was the first time I've stayed at a one story motel in I don't know how long. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy.... The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iluvitaly2
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I stayed one night at this "inn". It is an older hotel with no modern updates. Not a big deal, meet our needs. We had two rooms, that kind of connect via a front door foyer. Each hotel room down had a red/green turn dial similar to a occupy/unoccupied sign on port a potty. This place has vintage charm. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Will be my half-way mark layover from now on. Quiet and perfectly appointed for an overnight stay. My room was freshly painted (odor present,) but not overwhelmingly so to ruin my stay. TV was an old cathode ray tube type and the AC performed well. Refrigerator inc., but no microwave or coffee pot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We had a group event at the Wattstull in late April/early May and it was great. We have our event there every year and this year noticed some upgrades. Owner is always welcoming and did some nice things for us this year, things he didn't have to do. Rooms are always clean and comfortable. I love the full length porch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rip1476

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchanan
13.0 km away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
13.0 km away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
859 reviews
28.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
31.6 km away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
28.0 km away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family Owned and Operated Inn offering King,Two Double, Single, and Adjoining Suites. Limited Smoking and Pet friendly Rooms. All rooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen tv's streaming DirecTv, and refrigerators. The Inn also features it's own private pool for guests only as well as Free Coffee in the Office lounge and the Mountain View Restaurant is just below offering dining options as well as other local venues. Coming soon new for 2015 is our Kayak rental and guide service offering multiple options and package rates as well as other added amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Address: 130 Arcadia Rd, Buchanan, VA 24066-4109
Region: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Price Range: $113 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wattstull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front door of every room has a fantastic view.”
 of 5 bubbles 766richarde, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms have an excellent view. They only have a few pet friendly rooms so book early if traveling with your pet!”
 of 5 bubbles MConnolly2015, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Bring food or eat before arriving, not much going on in the surrounding area.”
 of 5 bubbles tomwP6673VG, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you need two rooms there are some that share one outer door.”
 of 5 bubbles Rip1476, 23 May 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have a great view!”
  • Nothwest View
  • Along front of  Inn
  • South View
 of 5 bubbles F4501NHrichards, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5